We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A beach bar” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of La Vida Loca

La Vida Loca
Ranked #47 of 103 Restaurants in Playas del Coco
Cuisines: Bar, South American, Costa Rican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Families with children, Large groups
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Drinks, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Television, Waitstaff
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
34 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“A beach bar”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 6, 2013

Went with friends for an artist/music event with a C.R. artist ( Carlos Hiller ) doing a painting inspired by the local musicians. It was a fun night and very busy there. That might be why the service was very slow. Lots of dancing after the painting was done and a good time was had by all. The presence of the resident goose seemed to make the evening more surreal and the casual ambience of this establishment. If you want to hear some live music this should be on your list of places to go. Went for an afternoon cerveza and was very impressed with the view from the bar, so much so I emailed a pic of the view to friends back home to make them a little jealous! It worked.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Guy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

97 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    36
    31
    24
    3
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Playa Ocotal, Costa Rica
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Weak drinks”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 3, 2013

Order beer, alcohol neat with mix separate or bring your own. Good atmosphere, fabulous food and amazing entertainment. Too bad the drinks have little to no alcohol. I spent $30. and was sober. I hate getting ripped off.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Lkimola
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, ON Canada
Level Contributor
85 reviews
80 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 114 helpful votes
“Local Beach Bar”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 31, 2013

After returning back to Coco from last year, we decided to give La Vida Loca another try. This time we are staying here for 2 months. Jimbo, the owner said he was having the Leatherbacks with Donny Walsh from The Downchild Blues band playing every Sat night. He said there was a buffet for $8 but did not tell us there was a $8 cover charge on top of that. We invited another couple and decided to stay anyway. The food was actually very good. The band was supposed to start at 7pm but actually started at 8pm...Tico time I guess. Donny hasn't changed....well worth coming to see this band and Donny perform.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank scooter007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA
Level Contributor
107 reviews
65 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Best Beach Bar in Coco”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 30, 2013

Can you say Jimmy Buffett? This is the closest you will get to a beach bar for locals and tourists alike. Right on the beach, evening entertainment and reasonable prices make this a local gathering spot. Jimbo, the owner, who is an avid Oregon Duck fan, promotes local events and is on hand to oversee a friendly, hard working staff. Happy Hour and sunsets bring in the tourist crowd and live music keeps the place hopping til the late hours.

A must see while in Coco!

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Dave M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
60 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Interesting and on the beach but be warned”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 23, 2013

We stumbled across this really place just off the beaten path with a cute little bridge walk way that you have to take to get there. Come to find out the owner is originally from Oregon - where we are so we were excited to learn, but it turned out he was out of town when we were there. We only had happy hour there with a few cocktails and a nacho. It was about what you'd expect, with imitation nacho cheese, etc. BUT what we weren't prepared for was the bartender and server sneaking in a little snort up their nose of the white stuff behind the bar. That wasn't all either - a few minutes later the cook did a line of it too. I honestly wouldn't have believed it if I didn't see it with my own eyes. We slurped down our drinks and got out of there. Know before you go if you are taking kids for a bite to eat!

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Peronna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Vida Loca also viewed

Playas del Coco, Province of Guanacaste
Playas del Coco, Province of Guanacaste
 
Playas del Coco, Province of Guanacaste
Playas del Coco, Province of Guanacaste
 

Been to La Vida Loca? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing