We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“FUN!”

Coconutz Sports Bar & Eatery
Ranked #12 of 108 Restaurants in Playas del Coco
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $5 - $20
Cuisines: Southwestern, Caribbean, Costa Rican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Scenic view, Bar scene, Business meetings, Families with children, Large groups, Special occasions, Romantic
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Breakfast, Lunch, Buffet, Delivery, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Takeout
Description: Coconutz is the local hangout and tourist Bar & Grill. We have 14 tv's and 3 projection screens for all the sports... Known for the great pizza,burgers and seafood entrees. Burgers so big, a grown man cant finish it.. Live Music 3 nights a week, with a mix of latin/american easy listening classic rock. Karaoke every Tuesday. With an outdoor deck atmosphere you can sit at the rail and watch the people on the street. The monkeys show up between 3-5 in the trees above for a nice afternoon treat
Tampa, Florida
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“FUN!”
Reviewed June 30, 2014

We hung out here several times on our trips. The staff was excellent and even called and set up an excursion appointment for us just to be nice. They had great live music at night and they have wooden swings outside to sit on while you drink and chill- how fun!!!

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank 563kr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

948 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    399
    327
    147
    41
    34
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Greenville, South Carolina
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Perfect for what we needed”
Reviewed June 2, 2014

We took a taxi into Coco Beach during our recent stay in the Papagayo gulf in Costa Rica. The people were very friendly and we enjoyed simply walking around, shopping and taking in the sites/smells.

It looked like it was going to rain so we stopped in Coconutz to have a couple drinks... it was hard to ignore their happy hour prices.

Long story short, it poured outside while we enjoyed a couple local beers and (good) margaritas and this awesome friend apple empanada with ice cream dessert. The service was excellent, and the total bill was just over $12. Come on, $12 for 4 drinks and a dessert? Unbeatable in my opinion, especially since it gave us a dry place under the covered area to enjoy the rainstorm and local people watching. I'd recommend it.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JarodWMorgan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tilaran, Costa Rica
Level 6 Contributor
44 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“A nice Sports Bar on the Main Street”
Reviewed June 1, 2014 via mobile

We had lunch there on a quiet day. Good for us because we didn't feel service was slow. Hubby had a burger (about $10) and he had both thumbs up. The potato chips were very yummy as well. I had Chifrijo (about $7) - rice, beans, avocado, salsa, chicharonnes and lime. Very yummy too. It was in the appetizer section but portion was big enough as an entree. I would say prices are more like North American prices.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Karin L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cuenca, Ecuador
Level 4 Contributor
12 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“A fun place, with a vibrant atmosphere, and good food!”
Reviewed May 30, 2014

We dined here on our first night in town because it is directly across the street from our hotel. The place was packed, and it was not even 7pm. We walked in, and weren't sure about having dinner, as most people were drinking, and dancing to a local band which was playing on stage. Then, however, as we began to leave, the owner approached us with a big smile, and asked us what we were looking for. Upon speaking with him, we learned that he had come here for the weekend, from Canada, for a weekend, gotten extremely intoxicated, and woke up Monday morning, as the new owner of a bar....this bar. Well, years later, and now he had made Coconutz THE place to go in this little town. I loved this story, and his jovial personality, so when he told us that he had the best pizza in town, we were sold.
Prices are quite reasonable, and it is truly, a fun venue, where locals, and tourists alike seem to venture for drinks and food. You can't really go wrong here, because they have it all. I think that Coconutz will be my new favorite watering hole and more, for the month that we are living here.

See you at Coconutz!
Bexx & Bruce

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ReviewsByRebecca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Playas del Coco, Costa Rica
Level 3 Contributor
7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Wating for NFL season again”
Reviewed May 28, 2014

Food is good and atmosphere for sports is excellent for the big games. We have been here several times in the past 4 years and it is a favorite among the local people from North America.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank El Coco B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Coconutz Sports Bar & Eatery also viewed

Playas del Coco, Province of Guanacaste
Playas del Coco, Province of Guanacaste
 
Playas del Coco, Province of Guanacaste
Playas del Coco, Province of Guanacaste
 

Been to Coconutz Sports Bar & Eatery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing