We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Pina Coladas and service!”

Coconutz Sports Bar & Eatery
Ranked #12 of 108 Restaurants in Playas del Coco
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $5 - $20
Cuisines: Southwestern, Caribbean, Costa Rican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Special occasions, Business meetings, Families with children, Scenic view, Bar scene, Romantic
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Breakfast, Dinner, Buffet, Delivery, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Takeout
Description: Coconutz is the local hangout and tourist Bar & Grill. We have 14 tv's and 3 projection screens for all the sports... Known for the great pizza,burgers and seafood entrees. Burgers so big, a grown man cant finish it.. Live Music 3 nights a week, with a mix of latin/american easy listening classic rock. Karaoke every Tuesday. With an outdoor deck atmosphere you can sit at the rail and watch the people on the street. The monkeys show up between 3-5 in the trees above for a nice afternoon treat
Manitoba, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
859 reviews
558 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 349 helpful votes
“Great Pina Coladas and service!”
Reviewed April 10, 2014 via mobile

Stopped for a drink upon arriving at CoCobeach. The Pina Colada was wonderful, the margarita a little bitter, but okay. Didn't have any food here. Waitress was really great, friendly in a very shy kind of way. Enjoyed the atmosphere, wonderful vibe and great seating with open view of the street happenings.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank Lynda D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

948 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    399
    327
    147
    41
    34
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Victoria, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great place ”
Reviewed April 8, 2014 via mobile

Always happy service. Love this place great food and i like the drinks but you may wanna ask for a double shot. Aaron is the man!!

Helpful?
Thank Gergeo S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 169 helpful votes
“Happy Hour is a good deal, if you only want beer.”
Reviewed April 5, 2014

We stopped here last night (a Friday) after hearing how good the drinks were..... yeah, no. Granted $1.40 is very inexpensive for a drink, but my margarita was more like watery lemonade with a splash of cheap tequila and the coke in my boyfriend's Cuba Libre's was flat as was the new one they gave him when he complained. At least they can't water down a beer, but I'd rather pay more for something I would actually drink.

The servers were nice and the live entertainment was... pleasant, although they sounded more like so-so karaoke singers.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Tricia M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kazebo44, Guest Relations Manager at Coconutz Sports Bar & Eatery, responded to this review, April 22, 2014
In your review you mention our Margaritas and mention cheap tequila. I use one of the top tequilas available and fresh lime juice and other mixers to make my drinks. They are only a $1.40 so if you want the best drink pay for it.. which is $5 great tequila and freshly made to your order, but you pay for it... I am sorry you can not afford a good drink when you go on vacation but i know they cost more where you live..
Hope to see you again and we can help you with your needs.. have a great vacation..
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sherwood Park, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
46 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Great ambience and staff”
Reviewed April 3, 2014

We enjoyed the location and open air atmosphere, the food was up to our expectations, the wine was fine, you actually get a full glass unlike many eateries ($1.60 a glass). Live entertainmenton most nights, loved the Wednesday all you can eat pizza, salad and pasta. Open roof, monkeys often above you, the staff were exceptional and friendly, not overbearing, they actuallyliked to interact on a personal level. We especially enjoyed Chuck, Ricki and Siuring, they treated
us like people, not like walking dollar signs which you experience down the street at other eateries. We were there frequently over our one month stay, food and service were consistent.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank albertaborn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rocky Point, New York
Level 6 Contributor
123 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Decent”
Reviewed March 31, 2014

Typical outdoor eatery and drinking hole full of ex-pats. Just enough t.v.'s to keep you occupied and live music that was nothing special.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank gjb-6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Coconutz Sports Bar & Eatery also viewed

Playas del Coco, Province of Guanacaste
Playas del Coco, Province of Guanacaste
 
Playas del Coco, Province of Guanacaste
Playas del Coco, Province of Guanacaste
 
Playas del Coco, Province of Guanacaste
Playas del Coco, Province of Guanacaste
 

Been to Coconutz Sports Bar & Eatery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing