We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fun Place!”

Coconutz Sports Bar & Eatery
Ranked #13 of 106 Restaurants in Playas del Coco
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $5 - $20
Cuisines: American, Brew Pub, Bar, Costa Rican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Kids, Families with children, Local cuisine, Bar scene
Dining options: Drinks, Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Buffet, Delivery, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Coconutz is the local hangout and tourist Bar & Grill. We have 14 tv's and 3 projection screens for all the sports... Known for the great pizza,burgers and seafood entrees. Burgers so big, a grown man cant finish it.. Live Music 3 nights a week, with a mix of latin/american easy listening classic rock. Karaoke every Tuesday. With an outdoor deck atmosphere you can sit at the rail and watch the people on the street. The monkeys show up between 3-5 in the trees above for a nice afternoon treat
Grand Rapids, Michigan
Level Contributor
51 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Fun Place!”
Reviewed December 9, 2012

We stopped in here for dinner after a few nights of our so-so resort food, so american burgers & fries were a welcome site. We were there on a Sunday so the NFL ticket was going strong in full force with football on every TV. The owner is from Wisconsin, so he knows how to do a sports bar atmosphere well. :) The fact that it's in gorgeous Costa Rica in an open-air environment was the icing on the cake!

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Jables460
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

929 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    396
    318
    142
    40
    33
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kincardine, Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
27 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“In the middle of all the action!!”
Reviewed December 8, 2012

My wife and I ate here a couple of times during our recent (Nov 2012) stay in Playas del Coco. This is the ultimate sports bar Costa Rican style. It is located in the middle of the bar/restaurant area across from the Casino. The beer is always cold and seems to be always on sale but the advertised price never matches up with the bill, go figure! We watched some of the Grey Cup football game in the dungeon room at the back. Scary place down in the hole, and the washrooms, well let's just say don't go there unless necessary.
We enjoyed their thin crust pizza for a light meal, their huge hamburgers also liked appealing. It is difficult to read the bill there because of the lighting but I thing they automatically add a gratuity so you might want to check your bill before leaving a tip.
Recommend it for a quick beer while you check out the street action.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Randy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hoschton
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
“Enjoyable”
Reviewed December 6, 2012

We had just arrived in Coco and we stopped here for lunch. We loved the outdoor seating and on the mainstreet. The food was good, but isn't wasn't a place that we wanted to go back to for dinner. It's more of a bar theme at night and we like more quiet dinners.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank Cheryl M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grapevine, Arkansas, United States
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Mediocre at best”
Reviewed November 24, 2012

We stopped in Coconutz for lunch one day and were very disappointed. Others in our party tried their burgers and I had the fresh fish of the day (Mahi Mahi). We all agreed the food was mediocre at best and we certainly would not return nor could we recommend eating there.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Gordon M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Ohio
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“wednesday special”
Reviewed November 20, 2012

all the pizza and pasta you can eat $8.00 Great staff, all the sports you want to watch. It's a great outdoor venue. There are a lot of Ex pats that go there.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank john r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Coconutz Sports Bar & Eatery also viewed

Playas del Coco, Province of Guanacaste
Playas del Coco, Province of Guanacaste
 
Playas del Coco, Province of Guanacaste
Playas del Coco, Province of Guanacaste
 

Been to Coconutz Sports Bar & Eatery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing