We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Exceptional Sushi!”

Hotel Coco Palms Bar & Restaurant
Ranked #39 of 108 Restaurants in Playas del Coco
Cuisines: Costa Rican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Special occasions
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Manchester, Vermont
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Exceptional Sushi!”
Reviewed June 7, 2011

What an amazing surprise it was to find such exceptional sushi in Costa Rica! Best sushi I've had anywhere in the past several years. The food was excellent, the service was quick and cordial. The dining area is casual and comfortable.

  • Visited February 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank DJSpinDoctor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

98 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    43
    36
    13
    5
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lewisburg, West Virginia
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Execellent”
Reviewed March 7, 2011

The food here is top notch. The atmosphere wonderful. The service not so great but in defence of the servers there was a group of about 30 at the time so I could excuse the service.

  • Visited February 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank carriebell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Good Food in a Great Setting”
Reviewed February 14, 2011

We were having doubts when we say the outside of the Coco Palms after dark - the hand lettered sign on top was not inspiring. But once we walked through the hotel to the restaurant, we found a lovely spot with comfortable chairs and lots of fans, overlooking a courtyard with a pool and fountain surrounded by palms. A quiet oasis.
We all really enjoyed our meals at this restaurant, which included the cashew chicken, sushi, grilled fish casado and salads. They have a wide variety of dishes, so it's a good place to go when everyone wants something different. The prices were very reasonable.
However, don't go here is you're in a rush. Both times the service was very slow.

  • Visited February 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Kaycrew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Killeen, Texas
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Best Place to eat in town”
Reviewed October 26, 2010

I stayed at the hotel and ate there nearly every day. Great menu with everything from pizza to sushi. Everything I had there was top notch. Sushi was to die for. Even brought my own fish from a fishing trip I took and they were happy to cook it up for me.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank GoodTimes2729
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prince George, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
“I would go back anytime...enjoyed the Restaurant and the Hotel”
Reviewed August 26, 2010

Got into Playas del Coco late evening. Started to look for some Cabinas. Checked out a few then decided to go for a bite to eat and think about where to stay. Entered the Beach Bar at the hotel and enjoyed a fantastic burger and an ice cold beer. When seated, a crab came up to the bar and wanted to join in.
Service was great from Sue who did a wonderful job in answering all the questions that I had. While waiting for dinner....she decided that the evening should be spent at this hotel. Well what a treat!! The first person who approched was a young gentleman who was very enthusiastic about his job and the hotel. He explained all the features that the hotel and the restaurant had. Saw a few different types of rooms and decided on a balcony room with a bit of an ocean view.
The room was very small, had a queen bed, A/C, hot water shower, phone, TV, Wi Fi, safe, free morning coffee and tea. But the best thing was the intimate pool and the free phone calls to Canada and the US.
Pool : just the right temperature and around 5 1/2 feet in the deepest part.
Restaurant: In the Hotel it served everything from all American or Canadian Breakfast, Tico specials, FRESH sushi, Tacos, hamburgers and just about anything else. English is widely spoken.
Beach Bar: Nice and refreshing to sit close to the ocean and hear and feel the waves crashing against the shore. Wonderful relaxing, hang out atmosphere. Great service too.
Store: 24 hr mini market. Had cold beer, huge selection of wine (around 400), snacks, souviners almost anything you needed was there.
Parking: On the street, BUT there is 24 hour security there. No worries at all.

Atmosphere was very friendly,comfortable and safe. I would go back any time. Well worth it for a person who is on a bit of a budget.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Canadiantravelagent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hotel Coco Palms Bar & Restaurant also viewed

Playas del Coco, Province of Guanacaste
Playas del Coco, Province of Guanacaste
 
Playas del Coco, Province of Guanacaste
Playas del Coco, Province of Guanacaste
 

Been to Hotel Coco Palms Bar & Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing