We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Like seafood? Good eats!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Papagayo Pura Vida - CLOSED

Papagayo Pura Vida
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Virginia
Level Contributor
103 reviews
68 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Like seafood? Good eats!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2012

Wonderful restaurant. Ate there twice on the upstairs balcony over the shark. Great food. Fresh catch of the day with a variety of preparations. Liked the Veracruzano sauce best. Excellent garlic bread. Recommend the seafood pasta. Service a little slow when they were at their busiest.

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
Thank GoneDivingVA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

43 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    20
    11
    8
    3
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Houston
Level Contributor
55 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Nice Place with average food”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2012

My wife and I ate here on our first night of vacation. Neither of us were impressed with the quality of the food.

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
Thank RichinHouston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
1 review
“The best Tuna Salad”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2012

The "tuna salad", made by swordfish and mango sauce is the best.

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
Thank LynnCC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester Center
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“For our first dining out here pretty good start”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2012

Went here on our second evening in Coco, recommended by a friend,great choice. We both had the fish of the day(Tuna)but done differently, everything was excellent and the price, very reasonable!

  • Visited March 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank htrusmc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincoln, Nebraska, United States
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great seafood, quiet location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2012

We had sea bass and mahi mahi, both with the mango sauce. The sauce was incredibly good. The service was excellent and the restaurant was attractive. It is Las Olas on the sign just east of the main intersection.

Visited January 2012
Helpful?
Thank Jan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Papagayo Pura Vida also viewed

Playas del Coco, Province of Guanacaste
Playas del Coco, Province of Guanacaste
 
Playas del Coco, Province of Guanacaste
Playas del Coco, Province of Guanacaste
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing