We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful Retreat”
Review of Villa Buena Onda

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Villa Buena Onda
Ranked #1 of 11 Hotels in Playas del Coco
Certificate of Excellence
Crawfordsville, Indiana
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Beautiful Retreat”
Reviewed February 24, 2014

This was our last stop, after touring other areas of Costa Rica-( a beautiful country- we had the best time) if you are interested in just chilling out this is the place. Incredible staff, beautiful view, great food, extremely nice rooms, and the pool- perfect!! The staff is genuinely friendly and so gracious in anything you ask of them. A 5 minute ride to town, beach etc. but once you arrive you will find it so hard to leave-perfect ending to a wonderful trip. 1st Class!!

Room Tip: Ask for an Ocean view with the hammock!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Giz1953
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

328 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    308
    16
    4
    0
    0
See reviews for
65
193
8
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (117)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Albany, New York
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed February 17, 2014

Villa Buena Onda is a magical, unique place where your soul wants to dance. You wake up to the beautiful sounds of nature while singing birds welcome you to a new day and the gracious, caring staff greets you in the morning with a charming smile. You find the Villa relaxing and peaceful, the food is delicious, and the amazing staff teaches you new words in Spanish every day and makes this place very special.
Muchas Gracias Jennifer, Shelley, Dayana, Cristian, Javier, Gabriel, Rosa, Migdalia.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andre L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed February 4, 2014

After spending a week adventuring through Costa Rica, Villa Buena Onda was the most relaxing and luxurious way to end our vacation. The Villa (rooms and common areas) and the staff was amazing. We thoroughly enjoyed each of our tasty meals and appreciated the the serenity of sitting in VBO's infinity pool while also in the most lush landscape. Although not directly on the beach, VBO has a great view of the pacific. (Guests are able to visit the beaches by free private shuttle which leave the hotel in the morning and in the afternoon). For any traveler visiting the West coast of Costa Rica, this is a MUST STAY.

Room Tip: Poolside rooms include a personal hammock!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank perlanyc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Watertown, New York
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed January 28, 2014

My wife and I have stayed in a lot of very nice hotels and this one has them all beat. It was luxurious without being pretentious, very comfortable, and had an open and inviting atmosphere. We were especially charmed by the staff. They went out of their way to share with us their culture and personal stories. They all made our trip!!!

The hotel is like a large home and the service is very personalized. It's very peaceful and relaxing. We were given a shuttle to three different beaches in the area whenever we wanted. The food was excellent and filling while still being somewhat healthy. The town was fun and lively with friendly people.

I recommend this hotel to couples looking for a romantic and relaxing place to stay in a fun, friendly, and vibrant locale.

Room Tip: The ocean view rooms are great. The pool view rooms are great too. If you want to cut costs, the g...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ivonne Lowell C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warwick
1 review
Reviewed January 27, 2014 via mobile

This resort was perfect, the staff was very friendly and meet all of our needs. The food was probably the best meals I have ever had. Would strongly recommend this to anyone looking for a quiet romantic getaway.

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Bryan L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed January 27, 2014

On our way to the airport I turned to my husband and said..."you know there is definitely a downfall to staying at such a small place and that is that you just get attached to people like they are family." First, I would like to thank Gabriella at reservations for, among other things, sending me directions to VBO in spanish (and English) in case our cab driver got lost, which he did, and we used them, and found 99% of the way, and thanks also for giving us VBO's phone number so the cabbie could call in case he still couldnt find his way, which he couldnt, and so he called and finally we found it! The Villa is gorgeous, there is no other way to describe it! I stayed on the ground floor on the right adjacent to the kitchen. Normally i would hate staying on the ground floor but at VBO I was thrilled for it! Me and my husband used out hammock and our patio every single night, we pulled up some lounge chairs and chilled out, something that we would not be able to do if we stayed on the second floor! The rooms are gorgeous! The bathroom is breathtaking, the shower is AMAZING and oh the closet, oh the walk in closet, i cried when i had to go home to my 600sq foot apartment! Next I want to thank our two amazing waiters, Javier and Christian. I never got to say goodbye to Javier and felt immediately sad for it because he was amazing during our entire stay! I will miss hearing him say "listo?" before taking our orders, our talks of soccer and the famous Ukranean soccer player Shevchenko and of his constant kindness and positive attitude and service with a smile (even if he has been there since 6am and its 8pm). Also a thanks to Christian for the great Green Iguana's and the occasional spanish lessons...me gustaria pan de banana con cafe por favor. A huge thanks to Diana who arranged all of our excursions and requests, who always came by before day's end to make sure we had all we needed and wanted, and who always answered all our questions with a smile! I of course cannot forget Shelly, the chef who made all our wonderful meals with (with very short wait times), the shuttle drives who so kindly picked us up and dropped us off even on non-regular shuttle hours (to that effect I want to say please dont trust the review that claims that the shuttle doesnt go where it promises that is a lie, the shuttle is promised for three different beaches and it goes to EVERY SINGLE ONE, the shuttle times are also somewhat flexible, if they can they are happy to come by a little earlier or a little later, just take the time to book it a day in advance so you dont end up complaining that its not available)! Also a huge thank you to the housekeeping staff who almost seem like ghosts because you never saw them but somehow the rooms always stayed clean! One final thanks to the lovely gentleman who's name I sadly dont know but who so diligently cleaned the pool for hours every morning and who always had a fresh set of pool towels waiting for us on our lounge chair on our patio, which he didnt have to do but always did anyway!

Ok now that i've thanked the staff here is some info about the hotel: I already said the room was gorgeous! The pool is also great, small but given the fact that its a 7 room hotel and that no one ever uses the pool its basically a perfect size, albeit a little cold for my liking but definitely refreshing on a hot day! The volleyball court is great if only there were people to play with! I think VBO should do like an organized game once a day, maybe with staff and guests who want to play even if for just an hour, could be very fun! The lounge chairs by the pool super comfy and plentiful and the towels push and cute! The food was truly great! Try everything on the menu at least once! My personal faves were the banana pancakes, the granola parfait and the breakfast burrito on the breakfast menu, the cream of ayoti soup, fish ceviche, roast beef sandwich, fish tacos, roasted veggie sandwich, the beef burrito, and the costa rican casada for lunch, and finally the salad, the caprese salad, the beef tenderloin and the ribs for dinner! Also ask for ice cream for dessert and DONT forget to ask for the banana bread for the midday snack, its truly the best dessert the hotel has to offer. As for the drinks, the prices are pretty reasonable, around $6 plus tax an service charge, and the servings of the drinks are pretty huge so one is usually enough. If you're a big drinker take advantage of their happy hour from 5-6pm where all the drinks are half off! Oh one final note on the hotel, bring bug spray, or if you are averse to spraying yourself with it maybe bring one of those "off" candles (although you may want to check with the hotel if they allow it as its a non-smoking property so maybe smoke from a candle would also be prohibited). This place has a ton of mosquitos as is natural for costa rica, also the hotel is home to many creatures so be kind, its their home too!

Some final tips on costa rica itself and the beaches and towns: visit the playas del coco town, its small and there isnt a ton to do but it has some restaurants if you want a little variety outside the hotel (ask Diana for recommendations but we enjoyed Villa Italia and Citron). Also as far as the beaches go the nicest one is Playa Ocotal, but make sure to visit all three beaches, each has something great to offer. Playas del Coco has a great area to hike where you will stumble upon a very clean very cute little secret beach area, playa hermosa is the biggest beach and has jet skis and other water sports, and playa Ocotal has black sand as well as a small patch of white sand beach (or more specifically seashell beach), make sure to stop by Father Rooster for their yummy pina coladas and chips and salsa and guac! The excursions in costa rica are expensive no doubt about it! At least the ones we booked through our hotel were pretty pricey, but all included private transportation and that was probably the bulk of the cost. We went hiking at rincon de viaje, for $120 per person, in retrospect a little much to climb some trails. Also we did a four wheeler tour which cost $140 per person for 4 hours. Honestly the first two hours, also known as the "beaches" tour wasnt worth it, if you can take the two hour tour and make sure you ask for the waterfall route, thats the good one where you can drive fast and its much more fun than the beaches route. My husband did the canopy on his own which he liked and said he got to see a ton of monkeys while doing the tour. Finally, i also got a massage ($120/90min) which i didnt love, so i cant really recommend.

All in all we had a fantastic time at VBO and that is mostly due to the wonderful people who run this hotel! Thanks again to all and I hope our paths will cross again someday soon!

Room Tip: DONT get the "garden view" unless you like to have the view of nothing and be in the back...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank back2bklyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 8, 2014

Wonderful time with family. All enjoyed and staff went above and beyond! Mucho thanks to Dayanna,Shelly & Jennifer to put all our wants into the best vacation yet and we have had plenty. The rest of the staff to being so generous to the children and adults. Beautiful accommodations and beautiful country. We shall return! Keeping 20 people happy all the time is a pretty awesome accomplishment. Gracias

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Shugar123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Playas del Coco
7.7 mi away
Andaz Peninsula Papagayo Resort
Andaz Peninsula Papagayo Resort
#1 of 13 in Gulf of Papagayo
1,544 reviews
4.7 mi away
El Mangroove, Autograph Collection
20.3 mi away
Los Altos de Eros
Los Altos de Eros
#2 of 22 in Tamarindo
718 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.6 mi away
Secrets Papagayo Costa Rica
Secrets Papagayo Costa Rica
#3 of 13 in Gulf of Papagayo
1,773 reviews
12.1 mi away
The Westin Golf Resort & Spa, Playa Conchal
5.5 mi away
Four Seasons Resort Costa Rica at Peninsula Papagayo
Four Seasons Resort Costa Rica a...
#2 of 13 in Gulf of Papagayo
1,937 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa Buena Onda? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Buena Onda

Property: Villa Buena Onda
Address: From the Ancor Sculpture 200 Meters East and 700 Meters South, Playas del Coco 50503, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Guanacaste > Playas del Coco
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 11 Hotels in Playas del Coco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Villa Buena Onda 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Luxury, boutique hotel overlooking the Pacific ocean. Located just 20 mins from the Liberia International airport. Service includes three a la carte meals served daily. Nearby half a dozen beaches, fishing spots, surf breaks and under an hour from the Rincon de La Vieja (hot springs, mud pits) National Park. Fine decor, two-tier swimming pool with a swim-up bar and stunning ocean views make this a special place to visit. Fantastic food and exceptional service can be expected. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire and Priceline so you can book your Villa Buena Onda reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villa Buena Onda Hotel Playas Del Coco
Villa Buena Onda Costa Rica/Playas Del Coco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing