We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bahia de los Piratas is in the middle of no where!”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Playa Conchal
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Bahia de los Piratas
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Playa Conchal
Reviewed November 21, 2011

This hotel/resort has potential written all over it! If someone has money to buy this property and invest some time and money into it could have great rewards. As of now it is ran poorly. When I first got there I found myself wondering around there property not knowing where to check in and couldnt find anyone! Finally I found the owner who said my room wouldnt be ready for an hour! Gave me time to have a couple of drinks though. The road to get there is a 7km 4x4 road. It is very secluded, fantastic hotel if thats what your looking for. Rooms have great view and are a mall home. Mine was and 3 bedroom, 2 bath, could have slept 6 or 7 people easy. Food consisted of what they caught from the sea, but not too many choices.

Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
5  Thank Aaron B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (30)
There are newer reviews for Bahia de los Piratas
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

12 - 18 of 30 reviews

Reviewed September 25, 2011

My family and I ate at this restaurant while visiting Bahia de los Piratas in Guanacaste. It took a very long time for us to get service while the people sitting at the other tables were getting service. We had to take the menus from other tables to start browsing the menu. Finally, they came to take our order and came back 30 minutes later to our table to tell us that the drinks we wanted were not available at the time. Other tables were getting service while we waited this half an hour. We ordered our food and after another half an hour the food came. Finally when the food came, it was cold and they had forgotten to prepare my husband's dish. The fact that all the other people were getting service and VIP treatment from the owner makes me believe that we were discriminated against because we are a local Costa Rican family. Do not go there!

Room Tip: Do not go there.
  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Pirringui
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 8, 2008

Dec 2007 we stayed at Bahia de los Piratas.
Although the beach and the view were gorgeous, you have to be aware that this place is far from everything (45mn from Tamarindo due to the dirt roads).
I would not call this a hotel since they rent villas. I do not know how it got ranked but by no means it can compare to other four-star hotels we have been to: there is barely a reception, no service at all, no activities offered, nothing to do except to go to the beach … They did not offer any cocktail or wine at night for instance, they spoke no English.
Although the villa was clean, it was quite basic and did not have hot water or safe and on our first night there we WERE ROBBED!
We woke up and saw a kid who had entered the villa with a knife and took all our video/photo equipment. Now, this might be unfortunate and rare, but I have to say that on top of everything, the manager was neither helpful nor trying to make our stay better . He did not want to call the police and kept telling us he would try to arrange things by sending someone to talk to the kid... Of course, We left for another hotel and we never got our belongings back. When I spoke to the manager the last night and told him he had not been helpful, he became rude and hung up on me.

Needless to say I believe this is extremely unprofessional and does not reflect the service and attitude you would expect from a four-star hotel. .. I would not recommend that place.

  • Stayed: December 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
7  Thank NewYorkTravelfan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 21, 2007

We found the Bahia de los Piratas by accident (sep 2005) while looking for a nice beach. The place is very remote but absolutely gorgeous. We rented a 2 bedroom villa. It was very nicely decorated with 1 room having 2 single beds and the other a queen or maybe king (don recall). There was a terrace with a stunning view of the rainforest and the ocean in the background. It was very quiet at night. The lodge had a pool and covered outdoor dining area right next to a gorgeous beach. Absolutely perfect in every aspect. I'd especially recommend the Bahia to parents with small children; the villas are perfect for them.

On word of caution. The lodge is located about 2.5 hours driving distance from Liberia so you'll need a rental car to get there. The last hour of the road (in 2005) was filled with large potholes that had to be dodged. The last 8km or so was a dirt road which can be very muddy in the rainy season.

Other than that a perfect place for a quiet beach vacation.

  • Stayed: September 2005, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank Weltreisender77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 6, 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: February 2017, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Naomy P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 9, 2017
Google Translation

Stayed: January 2017, traveled with friends
1  Thank AnnalisaF577
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 4, 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: December 2016, traveled with friends
2  Thank ViajeraCR83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Playa Conchal
0.0 mi away
Reserva Conchal Beach Resort, Golf & Spa
0.0 mi away
Conchal Hotel
Conchal Hotel
#1 of 3 in Brasilito
534 reviews
0.0 mi away
Bahia del Sol Beach Front Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Hotel Nany
Hotel Nany
#3 of 3 in Brasilito
58 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Tamarindo Diria
Hotel Tamarindo Diria
#12 of 24 in Tamarindo
2,498 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Bosque del Mar Playa Hermosa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bahia de los Piratas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bahia de los Piratas

Address: Playa Conchal, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Guanacaste > Playa Conchal
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Playa Conchal
Price Range: $77 - $115 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 15
Also Known As:
Bahia De Los Piratas Hotel Playa Conchal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing