We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Much Better Than the Website Photos”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
The Westin Golf Resort & Spa, Playa Conchal - An All-Inclusive Resort
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Playa Conchal
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed June 23, 2014

I’ve traveled to eighteen countries, but this was my first trip to Costa Rica. As we planned our vacation, we researched many resorts in the country. We mainly picked the Westin because we’ve had good experiences at other Westin resorts, and we read mainly positive reviews from other travelers. The resort is represented on several travel sites, and they have a website, but none of these really do the place justice. It was even better than we had expected.

THE RESORT
The resort is fairly large, but they will pick you up and drive you anywhere you want to go if you don’t want to walk. You need only ask. All the grounds are landscaped and well maintained. There are some interesting and friendly animals around. Our room was clean and was stocked with amenities and a full mini-fridge. Everything was in working order. Only small complaint we had was that the shower didn't get hot enough for my wife. It was hot enough for me, but she likes very hot showers. She said a couple of the other guests echoed her opinion on the showers.

THE SERVICE
The service from the staff was nothing short of spectacular. Everyone was extraordinarily friendly, and it felt genuine and sincere, not like they were just being nice because it’s their job to be nice. At one point I was standing on a resort walkway looking at a map trying to determine which way to go, and a woman on the housekeeping staff stopped what she was doing to come over to me and ask if she could give me directions. Everyone on the resort greats you with a smile and “hola” or “buenos días” as you pass by. I asked for something slightly odd from the room service and the response I received was “no problem sir, you’re the boss here; we will take care of that.” Everyone that you will interact with speaks both English and Spanish. I tipped many resort employees during the week, but I was never asked for a tip, and never made to feel like it was obligatory. I’ve stayed in about a dozen resorts, many with very good service, and I think this resort had the best service I’ve experienced.

THE FOOD
There is something that everyone will like. In addition to the buffet for breakfast, lunch, and dinner, they have several nice restaurants for evening dining. At least three options are open at all times during the day. You can also order room service. We tried all the specialty restaurants and loved all of them. The buffet food was average to above average… nothing I tried was bad. The specialty restaurant food was all above average to excellent. A few of the dishes that I had would rival some of the best restaurants I’ve visited… and yes, I eat in nice restaurants with some frequency. If you don’t find some food you like at this resort, you’re a food snob on a level I’ve not yet encountered.

THE COUNTRY
Costa Rica is BEAUTIFUL! It’s a good blend of upscale resorts and modern conveniences, and unspoiled nature. The people are very kind and welcoming. We never felt unsafe in any of the areas we visited. When venturing off the resort, there are several vendors selling items and services, but you will not be attacked with a wave of high pressure selling like some places I’ve visited. Also, I felt like the locals were not trying to scam me. They will bargain and haggle with you on pricing, but I never felt like I was being taken advantage of. It wasn’t a shell game or three-card hustle buying experience. One of the vendors at the artisan tent on the resort property jumped up from her table and ran after a woman because she had forgotten to take her change from the transaction. It’s rare to see such a display of honesty, and this really impressed me. I can’t say enough about the good nature of the people here.

A WAY TO SAVE SOME MONEY
If you want to save money on excursions, look for Eric Garcia (red shirt) on the beach just outside of the resort gate. He will book trips through fully legitimate and insured travel companies at a reduced price. You don't pay until you start the excursion. He did us right. It was just like he promised it would be, and we paid less than the resort price for the same trip.

Don’t hesitate! Book your trip now. I would definitely recommend the Westin resort.

Room Tip: We did not purchase the "beach club" upgrade, but our regular room was very nice. The res...
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank BRfromAR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestinConchal, Public Relations Manager at The Westin Golf Resort & Spa, Playa Conchal - An All-Inclusive Resort, responded to this reviewResponded June 30, 2014

Dear BRfromAR,
Thank you so much for sharing with us your amazing Westin experience. We're so glad to know that you and your wife had such a wonderful time with us, and enjoyed all that we have to offer to our guests, we deeply appreciate your kind comments about the resort, the food, and specially the staff, we all work with passion to give our guest a beautiful vacation and memories for life. We can't wait to have you back!
Warm regards from Costa Rica,

Zasha Pérez Gallardo
PR Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (4,170)
There are newer reviews for The Westin Golf Resort & Spa, Playa Conchal - An All-Inclusive Resort
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,877 - 1,883 of 4,171 reviews

Reviewed June 23, 2014

We went for only 3 days and 3 nights however we would have liked to have stayed 3 months!! The resort is located about 45-60mins from Liberia Airport. There is not much in terms of a city atmosphere close to the hotel, so we spent the whole time at the hotel. There are plenty of activities (championship golf, tennis courts, full gym, full spa, and beach activities). We had a great time and would definitely stay there again.

Positives:
- Cleanliness. We thought the property was very well maintained.
- Staff: Very friendly and very willing to help with anything. We did not meet one person associated with the property that was not excited to have us staying there.
- Rooms: The typical rooms are big!! There is plenty of space to spread out. Additionally, the bathrooms were very nice. Plus, Westin beds!!! Additionally, our shower was excellent!!
- Pool: Pool is large and has a lot of landscaping around it. There are plenty of area to access the pool and the water was like bath water. The landscaping does allow you to find some shade areas while still being in the pool.
- Restaurants: We ate at buffets most of the time simply because we did not make dinner reservations early enough. Our thought was… We're on vacation… we're not making reservations… However, the buffet was very good.
- Massages: We did get beach massages and they were AWESOME!! There are a lot of people offering them (approx 10-12 tables) and they sell them hard. There is a large sign with the names of a few of the locals that have been mentioned on TripAdvisor. However, we chose a mother/daughter combo for ours (I can't remember their names, but they were EXCELLENT)

Cons:
- We did not like having to make dinner reservations early in the day in order to eat at one of the specialty restaurants (especially Friday and Saturday nights). You have to call before 4pm and this cut into our pool/beach time.
- When it gets dark (Approx. 6pm), the pool bar AND the pool closed. What's up with that? We possibly understood the bar closing, but not being able to use the pool at 8pm???

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Matt M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestinConchal, Public Relations Manager at The Westin Golf Resort & Spa, Playa Conchal - An All-Inclusive Resort, responded to this reviewResponded June 30, 2014

Dear Matt M,
Thank you very much for taking the time to share your experience with us. We're glad to know that you enjoyed a renewal time in our resort, and had fun with all our activities and facilities. As well, we appreciate your comments and suggestions, for sure this will help us to improve in our opportunity areas to offer our guests a better experience. We hope to have you back in our resort soon!
Warm regards from Costa Rica,

Zasha Pérez Gallardo
PR Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 23, 2014

My husband and two tween girls spent 4 days at this property following several days at another hotel in the rainforest. We called it our half and half itinerary doing the adventurous activities early in the week and the Westin beach resort for relaxation. The most amazing part of this hotel is the sheer expanse and views of the ocean from up near the lobby and on the golf course. Classic Westin service and accommodations coupled with the all-inclusive amenities exceeded our expectations! While I love the Sandals all-inclusives this was a big notch above in terms of restaurant quality and dining service. While the hotel included unlimited alcoholic drinks we never saw any crazy partying or anything so it was fine for families. Gorgeous pool, not at all crowded. We easily could have enjoyed a full week or more and wouldn't have tired of it. See below about location of room. Walking distance to pool and beach was quoted at check in as up to 15 minutes (or call a shuttle). Our room was close and only a two minute walk however when we needed shuttles for the lobby or the Italian restaurant they took more than 10 minutes to come. And it's a bit of a hot wait. But understanding it is a big (and beautiful) property we would most certainly visit again and recommend it to our friends.

Room Tip: The lower the number the closer you are to the restaurants, pools, and beach. Example 4351 is build...
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cici14808
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestinConchal, Public Relations Manager at The Westin Golf Resort & Spa, Playa Conchal - An All-Inclusive Resort, responded to this reviewResponded June 30, 2014

Dear cici14808,
Thank you very much for sharing with us your great Westin review.
We're very happy to know that you and your family had such an amazing time with us, and enjoyed the wonderful views, services and facilities to finish your vacation with a renewal touch.
We will be waiting for your next visit.
Warm regards from Costa Rica,

Zasha Pérez Gallardo
PR Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 22, 2014

This hotel is very grand when you first approach. It spans over a very large area and is very manicured and put together. That being said, it feels like a corporate retreat when you are there. The rooms seem cold and generic. There is no ambiance to the place. A great deal of the staff where nice, but there is a part of the staff that just doesn't care. They seem to just be going through the motions. The hotel was half empty when we were there. The food was good. The landscape is beautiful. There are animals and birds everywhere. The beach is public. Beware. If you go out to the beach, watch your belongings. The beach is very large, so that is a nice touch. Nice for a long sunset walk down the beach. Would not go back there.

Room Tip: facing lagoon. Stay away from the royal building, those rooms are worse looking than regular rooms!
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Love954
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestinConchal, Public Relations Manager at The Westin Golf Resort & Spa, Playa Conchal - An All-Inclusive Resort, responded to this reviewResponded June 30, 2014

Dear Love954,
Thank you very much for taking the time to share your experience with us. We're sorry to hear that your visit did not meet your expectations. All our ambience is following the Westin standars to promote the wellbeing of our guests. As well, it's important that you be aware that in Costa Rica all the beaches are public by law.
We appreciate your comments and suggestions and we're glad that, despite the drawbacks, you enjoyed our culinary offer and beautiful nature around.
Best regards from playa Conchal,

Zasha Pérez Gallardo
PR Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 20, 2014

We spent 4 nights at the Westin. Overall, I would rate the stay as very good. We enjoyed the food, especially at the Latin and Asian Fusion restaurants. The pool was large and towels and chairs were easily available. We had no problems getting chairs set up for us on the beach, getting snorkel gear or kayak ready for us when we wanted to go out. Definitely check out snorkeling near the rocks on the right side of the bay - for best snorkeling go early in the morning, as early as you can. There is a variety of activities and classes you can do, such as aquatics class, beach yoga, etc - look out for the newsletter for the next day that gets delivered to you in the afternoon. It was fun to see the wildlife - iguanas, lizards, etc. right on the resort property.
Now to some things that can be improved on. The ATM machine does not work with many debit/credit cards, essentially rendering it useless for most guests. The management does not seem to be eager to get this addressed. The combination of the ATM machine not working and the tennis instructor not accepting payment through room charge lead to an awkward situation.
Second, the wi-fi connection is sometimes spotty and not reliable. It would be helpful to get a more reliable connection. This should not be that difficult in the modern age. These two points made this a 4-star rating rather than a 5-star.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank jt840237
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestinConchal, Public Relations Manager at The Westin Golf Resort & Spa, Playa Conchal - An All-Inclusive Resort, responded to this reviewResponded June 22, 2014

Dear jt840237,
Thank you very much for taking the time to share your experience with us. We're glad to know that you had a renewal time, enjoyed beautiful snorkeling in the turquoise waters of playa Conchal and other activities of our program, as well, it's so great that you enjoyed the wildlife around our natural reserve. We appreciate your comments about the ATM and Wifi, it's important that you know that these are not usual situations, but we will verify to have this details fixed. Hope the next time you visit Costa Rica, give us the opportunity to have you back in our resort.
Warm regards,

Zasha Pérez Gallardo
PR Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 20, 2014

This was the first Mother/Daughter vacation in almost 8 years. On our last vacation we had been on a cruise ship and stopped in Costa Rica and had always wanted to return. The opportunity presented itself and using our wonderful travel agent, Allison from AAA, we were able to book this trip. We were there from May 31st to June 8th. We stayed in Bungalow 32. It was really well located. Easy to walk to most everywhere. We arrived at the hotel during a huge lightning storm. The check in was easy and Daniel had gathered our luggage and said when we were ready he would take us to our room. The storm was so amazing to watch that we decided to have a drink at the lobby bar and watch it. When we finished Daniel was there with a big smile and loaded us on the shuttle and took us down to our room. He showed us the room and brought in our luggage. We were tired and ordered room service. They were there in 40 minutes and the food was really good. That night lightning struck and took out the power just as we were going to bed. It came on about 4:30 the next morning. So it didn't really bother us at all. I was sorry for the people that got caught out and about. The room stayed very comfortable the whole night. The next morning near the pool we ran into Daniel again. He checked to see if we needed anything. He is such a wonderful person and a great asset to the Hotel. If we said we were going somewhere he would pick us up and then he would be there to take us back to our room. Always with a huge smile. All of the bartenders were really great, but I have to give a SPECIAL thank you to Ricardo and Geovanni at the Lobby Bar. Ricardo was SUPER great. He introduced us to the manager of the French eatery, Giovanni, who had the chef make me a special dinner for our next meal there. It was marvelous. He even had a lovely bottle of wine for us. At the Italian dinner we met Francisco. What a great young man. It was going to be his birthday the next time we were at French eatery and he was working there that night too. So we celebrated his birthday with him. Another wonderful employee of the Westin. Our room person was Andrea, She was wonderful and made great towel animals. Overall the resort was Beautiful but the employees made our stay the BEST vacation ever!

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Judy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestinConchal, Public Relations Manager at The Westin Golf Resort & Spa, Playa Conchal - An All-Inclusive Resort, responded to this reviewResponded June 22, 2014

Dear Judy C,
Thank you very much for choosins us for your special Mother and Daughter vacation, we're honored! I’m delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us, and that our team has been able to WOW you. We all work with passion to always exceed our guest's expectations and I’m so glad to hear we have achieved this with you. Hope to welcome you back again soon!
Warm regards from Costa Rica,

Zasha Pérez Gallardo
PR Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 20, 2014

We ended our time in Costa Rica at the Westin. Following our stay at the Nayara it was hard to top. The grounds were beautiful and filled with lots of wild life. Its a huge property but they have cars that can drive you around which was nice for the heat.The rooms were average. You could tell there was some natural wear and tear. They have a separate pool for adults which was nice because there were a lot of families. All of the food and drinks were delicious. We liked going out to dinner every night at a different restaurant. All of the staff was very friendly and helpful. We decided not to use the spa based off other visitors experience we heard we weren't missing anything. But we did make time to stop by the beach for a $20 hour massage! Well worth it. We booked our trip through The Tropical Travelers and I would recommend using them for anyone interested in booking a trip. They were extremely helpful and responsive. I felt like I was getting the best deal available and they were willing to accommodate all our changes and millions of questions.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Darcey W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestinConchal, Public Relations Manager at The Westin Golf Resort & Spa, Playa Conchal - An All-Inclusive Resort, responded to this reviewResponded June 22, 2014

Dear Darcey W,
Thank you very much for taking the time to share your experience with us. We're glad to now that you had a beautiful time in our resort and enjoyed a renewal vacation surrounded by nature.
When your travels bring you back to our beautiful province, we look forward to welcoming you back to our resort.
Warm regards from Costa Rica,

Zasha Pérez Gallardo
PR Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Playa Conchal
19.4 mi away
Andaz Peninsula Papagayo Resort
Andaz Peninsula Papagayo Resort
#1 of 13 in Gulf of Papagayo
1,606 reviews
0.4 mi away
Reserva Conchal Beach Resort, Golf & Spa
17.7 mi away
Secrets Papagayo Costa Rica
Secrets Papagayo Costa Rica
#3 of 13 in Gulf of Papagayo
1,914 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.0 mi away
JW Marriott Guanacaste Resort & Spa
9.8 mi away
Hotel Riu Guanacaste
Hotel Riu Guanacaste
#1 of 1 in Playa Matapalo
6,423 reviews
9.7 mi away
Hotel Riu Palace Costa Rica
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Westin Golf Resort & Spa, Playa Conchal - An All-Inclusive Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westin Golf Resort & Spa, Playa Conchal - An All-Inclusive Resort

Address: Playa Conchal, Bahia Brasilito, Playa Conchal 232-5150, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Guanacaste > Playa Conchal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Playa Conchal
Price Range: $338 - $1,164 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Westin Golf Resort & Spa, Playa Conchal - An All-Inclusive Resort 4.5*
Number of rooms: 326
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Westin Golf Resort & Spa, Playa Conchal - An All-Inclusive Resort is an eco-friendly resort in Playa Conchal, Cabo Velas, Costa Rica located between the exotic forests and unspoiled beaches of the North Pacific Riviera. Our secluded vacation spot is a perfect balance between unrivaled luxury and local culture, giving our guests an unforgettable vacation experience. An All Inclusive experience includes all meals, drinks, use of our fitness center and kids club as well as entertainment options including non motorized water sports, daily activities and nightly events. Our retreat also offers an adult only all exclusive experience at the Royal Beach Club where guests have access to a private pool with concierge service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Starwood, Booking.com, West Indies, Expedia, BookIt.com, TravelUp, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Westin Golf Resort & Spa, Playa Conchal - An All-Inclusive Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Westin Resort And Spa, Playa Conchal
The Westin Resort & Spa, Playa Conchal Hotel Playa Conchal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing