We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice resort if not particularly Costa Rican vibe”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
The Westin Golf Resort & Spa, Playa Conchal
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Playa Conchal
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Irving, Texas
Level 2 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Very nice resort if not particularly Costa Rican vibe”
Reviewed October 7, 2013

This is a lovely place, but I did not feel like I was having a very authentic Costa Rican experience. Of course, I expected this, knowing I was going to a nice private, walled resort. My family went here because of a large family vacation--we did not choose this resort. Nevertheless, we had very much fun with our small children. The pools were wonderful during the hot days of summer when we were in Playa Conchal. The staff at the resort was really incredible, too. We felt so welcomed by the young, smiling staffers at the pool cabana who played games and did crafts with our kids. They were so friendly and approachable--their sincere enthusiasm was contagious. Also, so many of the resort's cart-shuttle drivers were very friendly, talkative, and kind. The bell-hops and all of the front desk staff offered A+ service. I want to thank especially Tri, who went out of his way to do a terrific job for the visitors at this Westin. Pura Vida, Westin!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Brandon C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestinConchal, Public Relations Manager at The Westin Golf Resort & Spa, Playa Conchal, responded to this review, October 14, 2013
Dear Brandon C,
Thank you very much for sharing your experience in our resort.
We're glad to know that you enjoyed the facilities and services of our hotel, but is regrettable that you feel that you didn't live the Costarrican experience, we try to provide our guests an authentic piece of our beautiful country with some activities like the coffee tasting, the costarrican cuisine class, the traditional dishes and drinks, the shows at nights, the typical day and, of course, the tours that offer our partners of Swiss Travel.
We hope that during your next visit you can explore a little bit more about our beautiful Costa Rica.
Warm regards and pura vida,

Zasha Pérez Gallardo
PR Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,121 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,554
    1,026
    367
    98
    76
See reviews for
1,336
1,845
43
179
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,453)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Fairfax, Virginia
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed October 7, 2013

Things to believe:

This place is amazing.
The Royal Beach Club is worth it.
Go see Eric on the beach and book all your activities with him.

Ok, this was our first all inclusive experience and boy were we pleased. The grounds are amazing, the staff is so courteous, and the food was fantastic.

I am a loyal SPG Platinum traveler and being a road warrior we decided on this property because, to be frank, we wanted to use our points. Two things about this... First, we never felt like second class citizens because we were staying on points and secondly, platinum status makes a difference. For those of us with status, its nice being appreciated. The entire resort works on a class system of sorts, identified by the arm band you are wearing (we had to figure it out). The color of the band denotes access to certain areas i.e. Royal Beach Club pool and lounge and also the caliber of liquor used in drinks when ordered.

Things I would like to stress about this resort. Believe all the positive hype about this location, everything is amazing. The staff, the food, the beds, the rooms, the service, the location, EVERYTHING. Every request is accommodated, and it is just an amazing place. I cant stress that enough. The one thing that I can reiterate, make sure you do your homework before you get there, and plan on booking your meal plans when you arrive. We preferred some restaurants over others, but I stress that you try them all. They are all unique and worth enjoying.

Don't worry about the weather, even though they have their "rainy seasons" don't let it deter you from visiting during those times. The weather comes and goes quickly and still affords an amazing experience with little interruption. We were very concerned about how this would impact us, it didn't. Beautiful all day and daily rain between 1-5PM from 30 minutes to 1-2 hrs.

Lastly, Eric on the beach. What a trip... He knows he's famous, you cant miss him. We booked several outings (Mega Tour, ATV, Surfing, Scuba Diving, beach massages ((a must...really? $20 for an hour massage?))) and they were all fantastic, amazingly priced, and even though they might've started sketchy, ended amazing. Eric is just the middle man, working as a broker for other companies and their services. Again, his prices were significantly cheaper than the less friendly "Westin affiliated" organization located in the rear of the resort.

Starwood knows they have a winning formula here, I have spoken with their customer relations department and they have expressed corporate interest in deploying more of these types of properties.

A+ Westin...A+

We will return...

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Matt A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestinConchal, Public Relations Manager at The Westin Golf Resort & Spa, Playa Conchal, responded to this review, October 14, 2013
Dear Matt A,
Thank you very much for sharing with us your experience and all your kind comments about our resort.
We love to have SPG Platinum in house, very important guests for us, and we're happy to know that your time with us meet your expectations.
Thanks for choosing us for your vacations, and we will be waiting for your next visit.
Warm regards and pura vida!

Zasha Pérez Gallardo
PR Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fishers, Indiana, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed October 7, 2013

I was a loyal Trip Advisor review reader before my husband and I went to the Westin for our 5th anniversary trip so I feel it is only fitting that I write a review for all the other OCD planners out there. We stayed 9/19-26 in the Royal Beach Club, Tower 1.

Resort: The grounds are beautiful and expansive. This place is HUGE! – Especially when you factor in the golf course. I had read other reviews that it was a pain to walk and that everything was far away – we have a completely opposite opinion. We loved that the resort was spread out. After all the amazing food and drinks it felt great to get in a little walk. Also, the grounds are so beautiful and full of wild life it was a great opportunity to take it all in. However, if you are adamantly against any form of exercise, there are drivers zipping around all the time. If we would have wanted, there was always an opportunity for a lift.

Food/Drink: All the restaurants are amazing. We especially enjoyed Spirula (pizza) and Caracola for lunch. The Asian and Mediterranean were our favorites for dinner. At the bar we drank Dirty Monkeys and ‘Gijuirros’ almost exclusively all week. Dirty Monkey’s are a banana, coffee liquor, chocolate frozen concoction. ‘Gijuirros’ – not sure if I spelled that right – is Costa Rican sugar cane rum and Fresca, it was perfectly refreshing for the hot, humid days. We even bought a bottle of the rum and have been enjoying a little piece of Costa Rica back home!

Excursions: Of course we went with Erik after all the rave reviews. We had massages on the beach with his wife Gigi – 20 mins for an hour -- and they were AMAZING! We also did the Mega Tour – horseback riding, zip lining, a crazy slide, mud bath, hot springs, and one of the best meals we had all week! The tour really had it all and was completely worth the full day! We also jumped on board a deep sea fishing trip that needed one more couple. This was through Swiss I believe. It was one of the most memorable experiences we have had. We saw whales, dolphins, and tons of sea turtles. We caught tons of Bonita, which we threw back. We caught Mahi Mahi and Wahoo that the guides fileted right there on the boat and bagged up for us. We took it back to the resort and the chefs prepared us dinner – with fish we caught just a few hours prior! It doesn’t get any fresher than that.

We had heard from almost everyone that it was safe to leave the resort unescorted and visit the neighboring towns. However, we were still a little skeptical, every other country we had visited it was strictly forbidden to leave the resort without a guide, etc. We finally worked up the courage the last day and walked just 5 mins up the beach to Brasilito. I really wish we had done it earlier in the trip! It was such a cool little town and everyone was so friendly. We ate lunch at the Golden Shrimp – which was amazing! The owner has a menu but really it’s just whatever they catch that day. We visited their little ‘supermercados’ and bought rum, coffee, and Lizano (very good Costa Rican sauce).

Unfortunately, we ran out of time and didn’t get to do everything we wanted. When we go back we will do the ATV tour with Erik as well as take a cab up to Tamarindo to explore, eat, and surf!

Royal Beach Club: Even though we went in the off-season and children were sparse; the extra to stay in the RBC was completely worth it in our opinion. We loved our concierges (John, David, and David), they were so helpful and we don’t know what we would have done without them. Nothing against children, but I don’t pay the big bucks to have them screaming and running around while I’m trying to relax on vacation. For this reason, we never did visit the main pool – even with only a few children there it was apparent there wasn’t much relaxing to be had there. Our quiet, calm RBC pool was perfect! The rooms were clean and inviting and had everything we needed for the few hours we spent in it.

Things to do: The resort has a daily list of activities that go on through out most of the day. There was always something to do. We did the tequila tasting, wine tasting, and coffee tasting. They also had group fitness classes, and plenty of other activities. Like other reviewers had said it does get pretty calm at night. We went during their slow season so it was even more apparent. However, this didn’t bother us in the least. After a day full of excursions and sun topped off with a big dinner we were ready for bed anyways. We did hear that Tamarindo is a good time at night and you can get a cab for pretty cheap – we had planned on going but we were always too tired!

I can’t complete my review without raving about the staff. Everyone from the RBC front desk, our concierges, bartenders, hostesses, servers, activity leaders, and even grounds keepers that we ran into were so nice, welcoming, and helpful. They really made our vacation perfect. We have raved about Costa Rica and the Westin ever since we returned home. We have recommended it to family and friends; and we are already looking to plan our next trip as soon as possible! Pura Vida!

Room Tip: Royal Beach Club, Tower 1. We were on the 2nd floor and had a pool view. We loved everything about o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Kendall K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestinConchal, Public Relations Manager at The Westin Golf Resort & Spa, Playa Conchal, responded to this review, October 14, 2013
Dear Kendall K,
Thank you very much for taking the time to share your experience with us!
We're happy to know that your anniversary trip meet your expectations, and that you enjoyed your time in our Royal Beach Club.
Thanks for your kind comments about the food and services, also, it's good to you know that we have a daily shuttle service to Tamarindo for the next time that you come to visit us.
We will be waiting for you!
Pura Vida!

Zasha Pérez Gallardo
PR Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anderson, South Carolina
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed October 6, 2013 via mobile

The Westin does it right. Food was AmaZinG! The fine restaurants for dinner will not disappoint... This place is top notch. We stayed at tower 1, Royal Beach Club and our butlers, David and Nelson, did everything for us but tuck us in at night. I really wanted to zip David our butler up into my suitcase but was afraid he would get homesick. I cannot say enough about the level of service these sweet Costa Ricans gave us. They were fantastic. The resort was beautiful, pretty secluded, so if you are ok with just rolling out of bed, plopping in a lounge chair, bellying up to the bar, and coasting to dinner, this is the place to do it. We only stayed in CR for 4 days, and did the ATV excursion (which was money well spent, we actually did it twice) with Erik AKA "beach information" Erik with the blue and white soccer shirt on.. Btw, his wife's has a beach massage place on the beach that gives hour massages for 20 bucks. Not a bad deal at all. And they give a really good massage, trust me I am an expert in the subject matter of massages. Back on point, you cannot beat the Westin, fantastic place! I may visit CR again, but next time in the dry season, beautiful country and foliage but didn't pack for wet weather!

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank kgeles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestinConchal, Public Relations Manager at The Westin Golf Resort & Spa, Playa Conchal, responded to this review, October 14, 2013
Dear kgeles,
Thanks for taking the time to share your experience with us,
We're happy to know that you had such a great time in our resort, and enjoyed the facilities, the culinary offer and the beautiful Royal Beach Club.
We will love to have you back.
Warm regards from Costa Rica,

Zasha Pérez Gallardo
PR Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunnyvale, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 4, 2013

Everything was great and the staff treated us like royalty. Food was good and the drinks were plentiful. The extrusions were great and Pablo did a good job matching us to extrusions that we could do. The staff did an great job to make sure that shuttle service drop us off on time and where we needed to be. I would recommend to this hotel to anyone.

Room Tip: Rooms on ground floor and corner was quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mary M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed October 1, 2013

I always been against the all inclusive hotels,but this one makes a big difference....beautiful place,excellent service,delicious food,cozy rooms....etc....
I highly recomend it to go with your kids & family

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank cornell d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestinConchal, Public Relations Manager at The Westin Golf Resort & Spa, Playa Conchal, responded to this review, October 4, 2013
Dear cornell d,
Thank you very much for choosing us for your vacations.
We're happy to know that our resort exceeded your expectations and you and your family enjoyed all our All Inclusive offer.
We will be waiting for your next visit.
Warm regards from Costa Rica,

Zasha Pérez Gallardo
PR Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 1, 2013

Soon as we arrived at The Westin in Playa Conchal the staff treated us like royalty. The food is incredible, the drinks are plentiful and activities are endless. When my wife and I would go to the beach we would run into a friendly local by the name of Erik Garcia. Erik took care of us like we were his own family. I highly recommend consulting with him for canopy tours and ATV tours. If you have a question, he can answer it. I rated my honeymoon a perfect 10/10.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 535grahamh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestinConchal, Public Relations Manager at The Westin Golf Resort & Spa, Playa Conchal, responded to this review, October 4, 2013
Dear Graham H,
Thank you very much for choosing us for your honeymoon.
We're happy to know that you had such an amazing time with us! And enjoyed all our facilities and services.
We will love to have you back.
Warm regards from Costa Rica,

Zasha Pérez Gallardo
PR Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Playa Conchal
19.4 mi away
Andaz Peninsula Papagayo Resort
Andaz Peninsula Papagayo Resort
#1 of 13 in Gulf of Papagayo
1,582 reviews
0.4 mi away
Reserva Conchal Beach Resort, Golf & Spa
17.7 mi away
Secrets Papagayo Costa Rica
Secrets Papagayo Costa Rica
#3 of 13 in Gulf of Papagayo
1,850 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.0 mi away
JW Marriott Guanacaste Resort & Spa
9.8 mi away
Hotel Riu Guanacaste
Hotel Riu Guanacaste
#1 of 1 in Playa Matapalo
6,336 reviews
9.7 mi away
Hotel Riu Palace Costa Rica
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Westin Golf Resort & Spa, Playa Conchal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westin Golf Resort & Spa, Playa Conchal

Property: The Westin Golf Resort & Spa, Playa Conchal
Address: Playa Conchal, Bahia Brasilito, Playa Conchal 232-5150, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Guanacaste > Playa Conchal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Playa Conchal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Westin Golf Resort & Spa, Playa Conchal 4.5*
Number of rooms: 326
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Westin Playa Conchal is an All Inclusive eco-friendly retreat, located between the exotic forests and unspoiled beaches of the North Pacific Riviera of Costa Rica. Our secluded vacation spot is a perfect balance between unrivaled luxury and local culture, giving our guests an unforgettable vacation experience. Our All Inclusive experience includes all meals, drinks, use of our fitness center and kids club as well as entertainment options including non motorized water sports, daily activities and nightly events. The resort also offers an adult only all exclusive experience at the Royal Beach Club where guests have access to a private pool with concierge service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Starwood, Expedia, Hotels.com, TravelUp, Booking.com, West Indies, BookIt.com, Priceline, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your The Westin Golf Resort & Spa, Playa Conchal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Westin Resort And Spa, Playa Conchal
The Westin Resort & Spa, Playa Conchal Hotel Playa Conchal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing