We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
The Westin Golf Resort & Spa, Playa Conchal - An All-Inclusive Resort
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Playa Conchal
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed June 6, 2013

This was my first time in Costa Rica and a week definitely wasn’t long enough!! My boyfriend and I (both in our 20’s) recently stayed at the Westin and we both had an awesome vacation. The check-in was super quick, probably because there weren’t many people who arrived at the same time as us. The staff at the front desk greeted us with mojitos (YUM!!) and were very kind and very quick. We wanted to walk to our room, but the staff insisted that we took the trolley, so we did. We could’ve walked though because it wasn’t that far at all.

We stayed in room 4238 which was on the second floor and it was fabulous. The rooms are spacious and very pretty. The mini fridge had only a couple beers when we got there so we called room service and had beer delivered very quickly. The room was very clean and came with two beds, so we had them moved together to make one super huge bed. Very comfy.
The resort itself was beautiful. So many trees and plants and flowers everywhere. There isn’t much wildlife on the resort other than the coati’s which travel around the resort in packs. They mind their own business, but if you have food they will come a little closer than you might be comfortable with. They’re very interesting and the babies were beyond adorable. You’ll also see quite a few iguana’s on the resort, some as big as a few feet long. They mind their own business and usually run away as soon as anyone gets close to them. The other animal that we saw were squirrels. There aren’t very many, but they’re prettier than the squirrels we have back home. I was surprised there were no howler monkeys on the actual resort, but as soon as we got on the beach and walked to the right, they were in the trees and even howled a little for us.

The beach was beautiful. You could see mountains on both sides and you can even Nicaragua in the distance on a clear day. Everything was so nice and green, no wonder they call this time of year the green season. The ocean was a little wavy and got deep fairly quickly, but it was wonderful. Ah yes, as soon as you cross from the resort to the beach, you will meet the infamous Eric (or someone from his crew). If you want to book an excursion, these guys are the guys to book trips with. We went to Eric's wife Gigi for massages, but if you go to any of them I'm sure you'll enjoy. My boyfriend and I did the $45 ziplining and it was money well spent. 12 ziplines in the forest with beautiful scenery, you won’t be disappointed. If you want to take a sea-doo out, go to the self-proclaimed “only black guy on the beach” Frederick. He will get you on the fastest sea-doo in the area. Bring him a drink and you will have some interesting conversation about the island and island life. If you see a black dog running around, please don’t be scared!! This is the best dog ever! She’s apparently homeless and I would take her home with me in a second if I could! Fill an empty water bottle with a little bit of sand and throw it for her, she will become your best friend.

The food at this resort is top of the line amazing. Breakfast room-service is (in my opinion) better than the buffet. Try the French toast, its delicious. Our favorite restaurant was Italian, then next would probably be the Asian. The others are good too, but those are our top two picks. Drinks on the resort are yummy. We drank beer, mojito’s, bloody mary’s and dirty monkey’s all week.
The only bad thing I have to say about this trip was that one week just wasn’t enough. I would’ve loved to walk into town and maybe even go on another excursion, but there just wasn’t enough time.

Leaving the country you need to pay $25 american and please don’t make the same mistake we did… don’t eat at the PLAYERS CLUB restaurant at the airport, unless you’re okay with spending almost $100 on a sandwich, burger, app and two coffee’s. We thought the prices were in dollars, but we were wrong. So don’t make the same mistake!

Hope this review helped! I’d most definitely return to this hotel!! :)

Room Tip: The resort isn't that big, so no matter where your room is, you won't be far from everything...
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Anna D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestinConchal, Public Relations Manager at The Westin Golf Resort & Spa, Playa Conchal - An All-Inclusive Resort, responded to this reviewResponded June 8, 2013

Dear AniaTd,
Thank you so much for taking the time to share your experience with us.
We are so glad that you enjoyed your visit and had a great time in our resort.
Thanks for your kind comments about the rooms, service, facilities and food, we appreciate it.
As we are located in a big natural reserve, the animals have a lot of space to live, in this months the monkeys use to be around the trees of the Golf course or in the way to the entrance of the hotel.
We hope you can visit us soon again to see them and live another amazing costarrican experience. We will be waiting for you!
Warm regards,

Zasha Perez Gallardo
PR Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (4,170)
There are newer reviews for The Westin Golf Resort & Spa, Playa Conchal - An All-Inclusive Resort
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,516 - 2,522 of 4,171 reviews

Reviewed June 5, 2013

We just got back from our trip to this amazing resort for our 20th Anniversary trip. The view from the lobby is breathtaking and the resort is beautiful everywhere. The staff was superb... shout out to Gabriel who took care of our room... Jonathan, Alex and Gorge at the bar and Alison who always greeted us with a smile. All the servers at breakfast and lunch were great... Hector who helped us learn how to scuba dive and Erik( on the beach) who gave us a great deal on ziplining. Our favorite restaurant was the Mediterranean restaurant followed by the French restaurant. We will definitely come back and would recommend to our friends and family. Only complaint was wifi wasn't working for us in our hotel or around the resort so we had to go to the lobby everytime for it to work. I felt safe and the animals on the property were neat to watch. I didn't see any monkeys though:(

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank kkrock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestinConchal, Public Relations Manager at The Westin Golf Resort & Spa, Playa Conchal - An All-Inclusive Resort, responded to this reviewResponded June 7, 2013

Dear kkrock,
Thank you so much for choosing us to celebrate your anniversary!
We are glad to know that you had a good time with us.
The monkeys and us will be waiting to see you in your next visit.
Warm regards,

Zasha Perez Gallardo
PR Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 5, 2013

My wife and I were there last week for our 10 year anniversary. The grounds were in very good shape, the employees were great, our favorite was Jonathan, the concierge at RBC tower 2. I highly recommend paying the extra for the Royal Beach Club if you are traveling without the kids. The suite was as nice as any I have ever stayed in. I read complaints about how far the walk is and blah, blah, blah. The walk is nothing, you can easily walk from any room to anywhere else on property. As recommended we hit up Eric on the beach for our adventure package, he was helpful but once he made the sale, he rarely spoke to us. Not that I expected a hug and a high five, just shocked that he was "done" with us once he had our money. As for food, I was happy with the meals, room service was really good and very quick. I DO NOT understand how all the eating establishments were "booked up" but never, ever full or even half full! As others have recommended, make your reservations as soon as you get there or you will not eat out.
The down side, after all the reviews about illness, the letter they present you at check-in concerning illness, the mask that the cooks wear because of illness, the number of people while we were there who were sick.... there is no reason this should still be going on. Westin needs to shut this place down for a week and clean everything they have. I would never allow my business to routinely have sick patrons. Do something about it!

Room Tip: Spend the money on the RBC!
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank jonesoxygen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestinConchal, Public Relations Manager at The Westin Golf Resort & Spa, Playa Conchal - An All-Inclusive Resort, responded to this reviewResponded June 7, 2013

Dear jonesoxygen,
Thanks for taking the time to share your experience with us.
We appreciate all your comments about the restaurants and we will tell to F&B departament to improve in this item, also, we are glad to know that you enjoyed the food and the facilities of the Royal Beach Club and all the resort.
About the flu, this problem was affecting all the Guanacaste region, that's why we are taking prudent steps throughout all of the hotel’s operations to provide a safe and healthful environment for our guests and staff.

Best regards,
Zasha Perez Gallardo
PR Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 5, 2013

Great Resort for being Westin first all-inclusive they did a great job! The staff here is amazing, restaurants are all great. The rooms are spacious, just don't leave any treats on patio because the coatis will make a mess! We enjoyed several tours: zip lining, Miravilles, Lazy Lizard and we booked them with Eric Garcia on the beach. Book all your tours with him, he is great and honest. Tell him what you want and he will plan the best itinerary to fit your needs!

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Izzabella
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestinConchal, Public Relations Manager at The Westin Golf Resort & Spa, Playa Conchal - An All-Inclusive Resort, responded to this reviewResponded June 18, 2013

Dear Izzabella,
Thank you so much for sharing your experience with us.
We are glad that you had a pleasant stay in our resort, hope you can visit us again soon.
Warm regards,

Zasha Pérez Gallardo
PR Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 5, 2013

Everything was excellent from beginning to end. Rooms and bathrooms were clean and tidy...new room amenities, towels and washcloths every afternoon...and plenty of them. No problem accessing wifi at all. We stayed in the Royal Beach Club (which i highly recommend doing if you have the means)...our butler John was incredible and took care of our every need!

If you stay, PLEASE dont discount the excellent excursions you can get from the locals on the beach! ERIK on the beach IS the person to see...he and his family are local...the locals here are very friendly and they are NOT trying to scam you or get you to do anything. They just happen to offer the same trips for less money (and better in my opinion)...they are only trying to make a living. I booked an excursion through him...it was professional and great! And I didnt pay and arm & leg...and I didn't have to drive off property to get there! I was upset when I saw people being quite rude to him and his employees...the Westin will tell you that they are not affiliated with ERIK or his crew, but that does not mean that this group of local, friendly people are anything less than professional and genuine! GIVE THEM A CHANCE!!

We also walked the almost one mile into Brasilito...at ERIKS suggestion...he assured us it was safe and friendly...and it was AMAZING...we had lunch at La Casita de Pescado...it was so good! The people were friendly and outgoing!

All in all, this place was incredible! PS - we stayed for my husbands 40th bday and he hasnt stopped talking about it...we booked through Costa Rican Vacations if you want a great travel agent who knows the area!

Room Tip: Stay in the Royal Beach Club if possible! It is definitely worth the upgrade!
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank lilmsctfsh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestinConchal, Public Relations Manager at The Westin Golf Resort & Spa, Playa Conchal - An All-Inclusive Resort, responded to this reviewResponded June 7, 2013

Dear lilmsctfsh,
Thank you so much for your kind comments.
We're glad that you had a great time with us.
We appreciate that you took the time to share your experience in our resort, hope you can back to visit us again soon.

Best regards,

Zasha Perez Gallardo
PR Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 5, 2013

We loved our 5 day trip to the Westin. Hotel was nice and Service was good. Pool areas and Beach were very nice. Hotel staff all very friendly. This is a big property and there are plenty of shuttles that you can hop on to take you wherever you need to go.
We did a great excursion ziplining and mud bath and natural Spring. We found this Excursion through the Unofficial Beach Staff just outside the gate. Look for Erik - he is honest and very helpful.
We loved Costa Rica and will be returning!

Room Tip: Royal Beach Club Tower 1 OR otherwise close to beach and pool. No real ocean views anywhere.
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sfcaluv2travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestinConchal, Public Relations Manager at The Westin Golf Resort & Spa, Playa Conchal - An All-Inclusive Resort, responded to this reviewResponded June 7, 2013

Dear sfcaluv2travel,
Thank you so much for your kind comments, we are very happy that you had a great time with us and enjoyed our beautiful country.
We hope you come back to visit us soon.
Best regards,

Zasha Perez Gallardo
PR Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 3, 2013

The pool area was huge, a lot of lounge chairs available . The beach is somewhat secluded and has a private feel to it , the ocean is very clean and great to swim in. Great views of mountains , no beach vendor to worry about and there are great tour guides near the resort beach to book excursions. The volcano tours are awesome, hot springs and rainforest tour was amazing , there is horseback riding on the beach and atv's to rent as well. Overall this was an amazing trip and beautiful country ... very safe!

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Amanda333333
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestinConchal, Public Relations Manager at The Westin Golf Resort & Spa, Playa Conchal - An All-Inclusive Resort, responded to this reviewResponded June 6, 2013

Dear Amanda333333,
Thank you so much for taking the time to share your experience with us, we are very happy to know that you had a great time in our resort and enjoyed our facilities, nature and food.
Also, we are glad that you can explored a little more of our beautiful country.
We hope you can visit us again pretty soon! We will be waiting for your next visit.
Warm regards,

Zasha Perez Gallardo
PR Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Playa Conchal
19.4 mi away
Andaz Peninsula Papagayo Resort
Andaz Peninsula Papagayo Resort
#1 of 13 in Gulf of Papagayo
1,606 reviews
0.4 mi away
Reserva Conchal Beach Resort, Golf & Spa
17.7 mi away
Secrets Papagayo Costa Rica
Secrets Papagayo Costa Rica
#3 of 13 in Gulf of Papagayo
1,914 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.0 mi away
JW Marriott Guanacaste Resort & Spa
9.8 mi away
Hotel Riu Guanacaste
Hotel Riu Guanacaste
#1 of 1 in Playa Matapalo
6,423 reviews
9.7 mi away
Hotel Riu Palace Costa Rica
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Westin Golf Resort & Spa, Playa Conchal - An All-Inclusive Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westin Golf Resort & Spa, Playa Conchal - An All-Inclusive Resort

Address: Playa Conchal, Bahia Brasilito, Playa Conchal 232-5150, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Guanacaste > Playa Conchal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Playa Conchal
Price Range: $338 - $1,164 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Westin Golf Resort & Spa, Playa Conchal - An All-Inclusive Resort 4.5*
Number of rooms: 326
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Westin Golf Resort & Spa, Playa Conchal - An All-Inclusive Resort is an eco-friendly resort in Playa Conchal, Cabo Velas, Costa Rica located between the exotic forests and unspoiled beaches of the North Pacific Riviera. Our secluded vacation spot is a perfect balance between unrivaled luxury and local culture, giving our guests an unforgettable vacation experience. An All Inclusive experience includes all meals, drinks, use of our fitness center and kids club as well as entertainment options including non motorized water sports, daily activities and nightly events. Our retreat also offers an adult only all exclusive experience at the Royal Beach Club where guests have access to a private pool with concierge service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with BookIt.com, Starwood, West Indies, Booking.com, TravelUp, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Westin Golf Resort & Spa, Playa Conchal - An All-Inclusive Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Westin Resort And Spa, Playa Conchal
The Westin Resort & Spa, Playa Conchal Hotel Playa Conchal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing