We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pura Vida! Amazing!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
The Westin Golf Resort & Spa, Playa Conchal
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Playa Conchal
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Pura Vida! Amazing!”
Reviewed May 23, 2013

Our stay the week of Jan. 21 - 28, 2013 was amazing! The suites, the food, the pool, the beach, the people....all amazing! It exceeded my expectations and I have travelled extensively. I would like to acknowledge Erika Garcia and his team for the excellent excursions they organize. We were fortunate to get Rico Sauve as our tour guide for the all day Adrenaline Tour. We had so much fun and he always watched out for our safety. We went ziplining, rapelling, rock climbing, tubing, horseback riding and a great swim in the river. We also went on the half day ATV tour. What a blast! The other person I want to acknowledge is Stephanie G, the concierge who went out of her way to help ensure that our friend's milestone birthday was celebrated in style. Thank you Stephanie! I will definitely return to this oasis!

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Bvilhe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestinConchal, Public Relations Manager at The Westin Golf Resort & Spa, Playa Conchal, responded to this review, May 27, 2013
Dear Bvilhe,
Thank you so much for taking the time to share your experience with us.
We are glad that you had a good time with us and enjoyed our country.
We will be waiting for your next visit.
Warm regards,

Zasha Perez Gallardo
PR Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,113 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,548
    1,025
    366
    98
    76
See reviews for
1,329
1,844
43
179
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,451)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 23, 2013

Loved our Scentsy trip to Playa Conchal and the service we received at the Westin! Manrique and Jeffrey are amazing in the service express department!!! The beds were AMAZING, as well as the pool, pizza place, drinks at the pool and the vibe!! Love this place:)

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Scentsygalsas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestinConchal, Public Relations Manager at The Westin Golf Resort & Spa, Playa Conchal, responded to this review, May 27, 2013
Dear Scentsygalsas,
Thank you so much for your kind comments, we are very happy that you enjoyed your time with us.
Is gratifying to know that you had a restful nights in our Heavenly beds, and enjoy our pizzas, also thanks for your kind comments about our staff.
We hope you can visit us again soon.
Warm regards and pura vida!

Zasha Perez Gallardo
PR Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canora, Saskatchewan
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 23, 2013

This resort is amazing, the staff do everything they can to give you the experience of a lifetime, I truly wish I could stay there forever. The rooms were huge, housekeeping was awesome, they left us a little heart shaped towel with fresh flowers on the bed.

Room service was phenomenal, we especially loved the Italian and French restaurants, and the buffet was wonderful with different kinds of foods everyday.The nightly entertainment was a blast, it was wonderful to have so many options of things to do via the activities center.

We booked the sunset horseback riding, and 2 four hour ATV excursions through Erik and Aaron on the beach just outside the beach gate, the local guides were amazing and if you said you wanted to see something they would find it for you! ie. turtles and parrots

One thing I would have liked to see is that the pool bar would stay open later and the pool area was lit better so you could enjoy the pool in the evenings as well.

I hope to go back one day very soon.

We also did Deep Sea Fishing, Zip lining, and a river safari, I highly recommend doing everything you can while there, nothing disappointed!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SavannaHoloboff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestinConchal, Public Relations Manager at The Westin Golf Resort & Spa, Playa Conchal, responded to this review, May 27, 2013
Dear SavannaHoloboff,
Thank you so much for your kind comments, was a pleasure to us to have you here.
Hope you can come back to visit us soon.
Warm regards and pura vida!

Zasha Perez Gallardo
PR Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Silsbee, Texas, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed May 23, 2013

The resort and the food was a 12 out of 10! It was very hot already in early May. My favorite experience was off the resort getting to play with the monkeys! Please go see Eric Garcia on the beach side of the resort for his tours but mainly the River Tours. The monkeys and crocodiles were once of the best moments of my life!!!!!!!!!!!! Thanks Erik!!!! Rhonda :)

Room Tip: Any room is good!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Rhonda S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestinConchal, Public Relations Manager at The Westin Golf Resort & Spa, Playa Conchal, responded to this review, May 27, 2013
Dear Rhonda S,
Thank you so much for your review.
We are very happy that you had a good time with us, and that you played with the monkeys!
Hope you can back to visit us soon.

Best regards,

Zasha Perez Gallardo
PR Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chilliwack, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed May 23, 2013

We stayed at the westin for a week with a large group. We initially were concerned about being able to get restaurant reservations for the week but had no trouble at all. The Italian restaurant was amazing, food so good! The Thai restaurant, "Bamboo", was also excellent and was a bit more intimate, much smaller. French place in the lobby was good as well, but we preferred the others.
We were in room 4276, an upper floor junior suite room. It was good central location, and a nice stroll to anywhere, nothing was far away, and we enjoy walking. Shuttles plentiful for those not wanting to walk a block. Our friends were in the beach club, our room was nicer. Beach club was really just like a regular hotel room.We all thought it was strange that the their bathrooms had a big open window cut out into the main part of the room, with a pull down shade, not private at all. Our junior suite had a sitting area, kitchenette, separate vanity area outside the large bathroom, and the bedroom area with two queen beds was elevated and separate from the sitting area.We also had a nice sitting area outside. One of the nicest rooms we have had in an all inclusive. It was lovely. The only benefit we could see to the Beach Club was a private concierge and breakfast buffet which was just a smaller version of the main Mitra buffet. The private pool area was also quieter,and you didn't have to sign out towels, but not a big deal to us. The regular pool area had many quiter spots away from the bar noise. The beach was amazing and not busy at all. We would have been disappointed with an upgrade.
Erik Garcia, as others have said, is great. We booked the Palo Verde river tour and Lazy Lizard sunset sail with him and both were perfect! Alex, who works with Erik on the beach, was our guide for the river tour and went the extra mile. He found Solomon, the 70 year old Crocodile. What a highlight to have a 15 ft Croc come right up to the boat! Lazy Lizard was awesome as well, highly recommend both tours and using Erik. The local venders on the beach just outside the resort are respectful and not pushy it felt good to support them. My husband booked surfing lessons through Erik as well. They went to Tamarindo for a two hour lesson with Paulo. After the lesson they stopped at Paulo's shop in Brassolito , I think it was called Sea Star(???) anyway, it is on the main road, big blue and white sign. Souvenirs are a bit cheaper there and really nice family shop. If you walk down the beach from the Westin to Brassilito go up the main road from the beach turn right at the highway and cross the bridge the shop is about a block upon your right.
We had spent our first 3 days in Costa Rica at the Arenol volcano, also would recommend doing that, and is very different from a beach holiday. The Westin did not disappoint in any way and we would definitely go back without hesitation. The only thing I would suggest is to be prepared for a lot of driving if you want to go off site on many tours like zip lining ( do the sky trek ones at Arenol), volcanos, river boat etc. Off site attractions are spread out and driving distances are longer in Costa Rica.

Room Tip: Building 27 is very central. Recommend requesting an upper suite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank valmo61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestinConchal, Public Relations Manager at The Westin Golf Resort & Spa, Playa Conchal, responded to this review, May 27, 2013
Dear valmo61,
Thank you so much for taking the time to share your experience with us.
We appreciate every single comment in regards to the hotel, it’s what helps us know what is working and what needs improvement. Thank you for your review, I am glad you had a good time during your vacation and enjoyed Costa Rica.

Hope you visit us again in the future.

Zasha Perez Gallardo
PR Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 23, 2013

Beautiful rooms, great service, good food, a very relaxing experience but plenty to do on different excursions. Great new zip line/ Hot Springs exursion at Rio Perdido a long 2 hour bus ride but an unbelievable facility in the middle of no where, well worth the trip.
Would definitely go back to the Westin and Rio Perdido.

Room Tip: Area is over 600 acres need to take a shuttle almost everywhere, but it's not a problem.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Riley68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestinConchal, Public Relations Manager at The Westin Golf Resort & Spa, Playa Conchal, responded to this review, May 27, 2013
Dear Riley68,
Thank you so much for your comments! we are very happy that you enjoyed our resort and our country.
Hope you can back to visit us soon.
Warm regards and pura vida!

Zasha Perez Gallardo
PR Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed May 21, 2013

We were pleasantly surprised. My wife and I planned this 7 day vacation on short notice after having our booking at Sandels cancelled. The trip from the airport was quite long but upon arrival we were treated like royalty. While waiting for our room to be serviced. We were treated to drinks and refreshments. We were directed to a shuttle which took us to the Mitra Restaurant for lunch buffet. Our Bungalow was ready about 3 pm. We were in #4316 which had a large king size bed, Kitchenette with stocked fridge. Large stand up shower and studio area with flat screen TV. All restaurants are within walking distance The shuttles run throughout the day and evening. There are eight restaurants on the property Spirula (pasta/pizza), Caracole (A la carte), Mitra (buffet), Faisanella (Italian), Cauri (French), Bamboo (Thai) , Las Candelas (Latin) and Mediterra .The food was excellent but we had to go into the local town one day to have a change of pace. There are two swim up bars with large pools. The only disappointment we had was the early closure of the pools. The pools close a 6 pm. We felt this is much too early especially if you arrive there in the late afternoon. The Beach is private but accessible by local merchants. If you want to take any excursion see Erik Garcia. He is the local travel consultant extraordinaire. He can line you up with just about any excursion you may want. We took the croc and monkey river tour and was the highlight of our vacation. They are very affordable and fun. There are locals on the beach that do massages for a reasonable price. My wife had one every day. About $20-$30 US. There were two beautiful18 hole golf courses but unfortunately unable to play due to lack of time. Overall we had a great vacation, would highly recommend and plan on visiting again.

Room Tip: Recommend a room closer to the pools and restaurants. Do not leave food outside of doors. Small an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank navycarl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestinConchal, Public Relations Manager at The Westin Golf Resort & Spa, Playa Conchal, responded to this review, May 24, 2013
Dear navycarl,
Thank you so much for your kind comments!
We would love to have you here again, we will be waiting for your next visit.
Warm regards,

Zasha Perez Gallardo
PR Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Playa Conchal
19.4 mi away
Andaz Peninsula Papagayo Resort
Andaz Peninsula Papagayo Resort
#1 of 13 in Gulf of Papagayo
1,575 reviews
0.4 mi away
Reserva Conchal Beach Resort, Golf & Spa
17.7 mi away
Secrets Papagayo Costa Rica
Secrets Papagayo Costa Rica
#3 of 13 in Gulf of Papagayo
1,845 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.0 mi away
JW Marriott Guanacaste Resort & Spa
9.7 mi away
Hotel Riu Palace Costa Rica
9.8 mi away
Hotel Riu Guanacaste
Hotel Riu Guanacaste
#1 of 1 in Playa Matapalo
6,322 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Westin Golf Resort & Spa, Playa Conchal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westin Golf Resort & Spa, Playa Conchal

Property: The Westin Golf Resort & Spa, Playa Conchal
Address: Playa Conchal, Bahia Brasilito, Playa Conchal 232-5150, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Guanacaste > Playa Conchal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Playa Conchal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Westin Golf Resort & Spa, Playa Conchal 4.5*
Number of rooms: 326
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Westin Playa Conchal is an All Inclusive eco-friendly retreat, located between the exotic forests and unspoiled beaches of the North Pacific Riviera of Costa Rica. Our secluded vacation spot is a perfect balance between unrivaled luxury and local culture, giving our guests an unforgettable vacation experience. Our All Inclusive experience includes all meals, drinks, use of our fitness center and kids club as well as entertainment options including non motorized water sports, daily activities and nightly events. The resort also offers an adult only all exclusive experience at the Royal Beach Club where guests have access to a private pool with concierge service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, TravelUp, BookIt.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com, West Indies, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your The Westin Golf Resort & Spa, Playa Conchal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Westin Resort And Spa, Playa Conchal
The Westin Resort & Spa, Playa Conchal Hotel Playa Conchal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing