We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
The Westin Golf Resort & Spa, Playa Conchal - An All-Inclusive Resort
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Playa Conchal
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed May 15, 2013

My girlfriend and I chose to spend our vacation at the Westin for six nights and seven days and we had an awesome time. The food was the best food that we have had at an all inclusive resort. Our favorite restaurants for dinner in order of best to worst was the Latin, Asian Fusion, French, Italian, and Mediterranean restaurants. The breakfast buffet was great, room service was decent, and the pizza for lunch was really good.

We stayed in a bungalow room and we were very happy with it. It had a living room area with a couch, chairs, and a desk with a mini fridge that was always stocked with beers, soda, and water. We had friends come over and it was a great place to hang out. It was very clean and modern, the shower, bathroom, and closet were all nice. The bedroom had a huge king, with an iPod dock next to it and a 32" TV.

The pool was sweet and a perfect place to hang out. We were told that it is the biggest pool in Central America . It has cool spots to set your drink and lounge- volleyball and basketball in the pool, and billiard and ping pong outside the pool. The bar served good drinks, and my girl's favorite drink was the "Dirty Monkey."

The tours that we did were an awesome experience. We took ATVs to Flamengo beach which is the richest part of Costa Rica. Our guide took us to a place where we saw a great view of the coast. An hour on the ATVs was a good amount of time for us. We went on the Mega Tour which was our favorite tour. We went zip-lining, horse back riding, hung out in a pool in the middle of the forest and took a bath in volcano mud. The lunch you get on the tour was the best meal we had on the trip. For all tours you need to go to the beach and talk to Erik who will be wearing a blue shirt with a green John deer hat. He is very helpful and will have the best deals. His wife Gigi gives great massages. Our tour guide Wachi (Walter) we highly recommend!

Our 1st trip in Costa Rica was a great experience and we really want to go back!

Room Tip: Get a room close to the pool!
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Keegan F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestinConchal, Public Relations Manager at The Westin Golf Resort & Spa, Playa Conchal - An All-Inclusive Resort, responded to this reviewResponded May 22, 2013

Dear Keegan F,
Thank you for sharing your experience with us, we are so happy to read your review!
It was our pleasure to be your host and will be more than glad to have you once more as our guest in the future.
Warm regards,

Zasha Perez Gallardo
PR Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (4,171)
There are newer reviews for The Westin Golf Resort & Spa, Playa Conchal - An All-Inclusive Resort
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,558 - 2,564 of 4,171 reviews

Reviewed May 14, 2013

Just returned from spending 7 days at the Westin where we had an incredible time. The resort grounds are amazingly clean and well manicured and were home to a bunch of wildlife - Howler Monkey's, Iguana, Coati, and squirrels. The rooms are on par with other Westin properties - clean, comfortable and perfect for sleeping. Be prepared for some humidity...although a quick jump in the large, gorgeous pool or ocean will quickly temper the heat. Yes, both are warmer than one might expect - but they did the trick in cooling us down.

Food is good, especially for an all inclusive. The buffet is okay, but does offer a nice selection. The restaurants that require reservations are pretty darn good, but as others have noted make reservations when you Check-in. Couple of tips on food - if you plan to spend the day at the pool you can order pizza to go at Spirula Pizza Bar right next to the pool. There is also a pool restaurant that has a pretty limited menu, but if you're looking for snacks - you'll need to bring them with you either from your room or from one of the onsite shops.

The entire staff is wonderful - always so pleasant and welcoming. We were there with our 6 year old daughter and everyone worked so hard to make her feel comfortable - especially Selene with the Kids club. Unfortunately there weren't many other kids at the resort this time of the year, but the folks at the Activities Desk made sure to keep things fun for our daughter.

The beach features beautiful white sand and gorgeous blue water, granted it is a bit more rustic than the beaches you'll find at the all-inclusives in Mexico it really is lovely. And we weren't hounded by vendors like you are in Mexico either on the beach or at the airport. BIG BONUS in my opinion.

In order to experience the true culture of Guanacaste - you really do need to leave the resort. Even if its a short walk along the beach front road to the local town of Brasilito - there you can enjoy fresh seafood, cold drinks some shade and the welcome ocean breeze. There are also a couple of stores that sell everything from snacks, to booze, to toiletries - with limited selection.

When heading out to the beach, be sure to stop and speak with Erik Garcia who can set you up with tours/activities. I highly recommend him and his team (especially Alex with the Jungle River Tour)...these guys understand customer service and deliver. We spoke with some folks that booked the jungle river tour via the hotel tour desk and they were a bit disappointed because they really didn't see much wildlife and they paid more than we did. We had encounters with adorable White-faced Capuchin monkeys ( on our boat at one point), saw a bunch of gorgeous birds, iguana, lizards and had an up close experience with an American Croc. I would also highly recommend the massages on the beach (Gigli's) as well as the artisan crafts - you'll get a great deal and the folks are so nice.

As for getting sick - None of us nor those we met on our trip became sick.

Again - we loved the Westin Playa Conchal... so much so that we have begun planning to visit again this Christmas!

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Kitmastin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestinConchal, Public Relations Manager at The Westin Golf Resort & Spa, Playa Conchal - An All-Inclusive Resort, responded to this reviewResponded May 21, 2013

Dear Kitmastin,
Thank you for sharing such a glowing review of our country and The Westin!
So glad to hear that you had a good time and explored a little bit of Costa Rica.
Thanks for your kind comment about the Kids Club, we will share it with Selene! we are happy that parents and kids lived a good experience in their vacations.
Hope you can visit us again soon.
Warm regards,

Zasha Perez Gallardo
PR Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 14, 2013

Stayed at the resort for just 5 short days but they were truly relaxing with beautiful views. The villas are setup like a litte town. We were in the Royal Beach Club which has a pool that's private from the rest of the resort. Defintely a must if you aren't traveling with children as this is an adult only area. Royal Beach Club Towers each have a butler to help you with pretty much anything. Bring you a bottle of wine.. book a reservation.. call you a ride. Whatever you may need. They truly work hard to make your stay relaxing and memorable. As compared to other resorts I've stayed at, Id say the only thing I was disappointed in was that there weren't more shops on the premises. There were only 3 or 4 and only one of those had some decent souveniers. But that would be the only thing. Very enjoyable trip and will always be remembered fondly.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank imurcutie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestinConchal, Public Relations Manager at The Westin Golf Resort & Spa, Playa Conchal - An All-Inclusive Resort, responded to this reviewResponded May 22, 2013

Dear imurcutie,
Thank you so much for your comments, glad you like our little Westin town.
Our commitment is to provide the best experience to our guests.
Next time you visit us, we recommend you to take advantage to our daily shuttle to Tamarindo, for sure you will love it!
It was our pleasure to be your host and will be more than glad to have you once more as our guest in the future.
Warm regards,

Zasha Perez Gallardo
PR Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 13, 2013

We have come to expect so much more from Westin and were very disappointed with this property. 5 star price with 2 star amenities. We were in Costa Rica for a business and pleasure trip, but far too late in the spring to be comfortable. The property was poorly maintained and quite dirty. The chairs around the pool were old, worn and in need of being replaced. Because it was so hot, there was no relief in the pool. The restaurants were not well air conditioned, so even dining was uncomfortable. To top it off, about a dozen people we knew, including my husband and I, became very sick while we were staying here. We were told by the Dr. it was an airborne virus. Not very comforting at all. Many of us were put on antibiotics when we returnd home because it was a gastro-intestinal problem, not air borne at all. Probably a parasite that is difficult to diagnose simply by asking questions. I have lodged a complaint twice but have had no satisfactory reply. The country is beautiful and we will return, but never to this tired property.

Room Tip: Closest to the beach...or at a different resort!
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank erik2212
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WPCManagement, Manager at The Westin Golf Resort & Spa, Playa Conchal - An All-Inclusive Resort, responded to this reviewResponded May 15, 2013

Dear erik2212,

At The Westin Golf Resort & Spa, Playa Conchal, the safety, security and well-being of guests and associates are our paramount priority to us. It has come to our attention that some guests in the surrounding area and at our hotel have fallen ill. We are investigating the cause and in the abundance of caution, we are taking prudent steps throughout all of the hotel’s operations to provide a safe and healthful environment.

This matter is of utmost importance and we are taking it very seriously. Do not hesitate to contact me for further input.

Sincerely,

Victor Gomez
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 13, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here for 8 days during our wedding. The grounds are amazing, and huge, probably 10 minute walk from entrance side to the beach. The food was very good, much better than expected from a all inclusive resort. The service is impeccable. We stayed at the k2 Building on the royal side and out concierge/butlers David, and Bergan were amazing. Talk about bending over backward to make life easier for the guests. Room was nice, but nothing too special. Bed was very comfortable. I didn't think paying for the upgraded royal exclusive building was worth the extra money. The standard rooms I actually liked better and we used the main pool for the social factor anyway. Tip, make reservations before you arrive to the hotel, they fill up fast.

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Justin R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestinConchal, Public Relations Manager at The Westin Golf Resort & Spa, Playa Conchal - An All-Inclusive Resort, responded to this reviewResponded May 24, 2013

Dear Justin R,
Thank you so much for your kind comments, we really appreciate it!
We are happy that you had a good time with us! We would be waiting for your next visit.
Best regards,

Zasha Perez Gallardo
PR Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 13, 2013

First time in Costa Rica,,and I could not imagine doing it any other way. Way to break the ice for first timers. The property was a true paradise.Clean, beautiful and you just could not stop looking at everything.We took part in the Royal beach club package, it was all inclusive and definitely level up. i spent my honeymoon here. Weather was hot, but not humid. water was crystal clear with amazing sea life and jungle life. The Howler monkeys are truly something to see and hear. Something you would see in a movie. The Staff Made this trip for me and my wife one to remember. Top of the line service. Super friendly people. They will help you with everything and anything to achieve your satisfaction. Still amazed at their professionalism and serving skills. The food at many of the restaurants at the Westin was delicious and presented beautifully. Bamboo and The Italian restaurant were our personal favorites. We took a few tours while we were here. We ran into a fine gentleman named Erik Garcia, he helped us personalize the tour we wanted. He is a local and knows this area well.!On time and ultimately Fulfilling. If you see him say hey. Our Overall experience here was phenomenal. Great location close to many surf destinations, real close. Great Food and Great Staff. We are definitely keeping this Westin in mind for our one year anniversary. Thank you to the westin staff once again! Pura Vida!

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jacob B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestinConchal, Public Relations Manager at The Westin Golf Resort & Spa, Playa Conchal - An All-Inclusive Resort, responded to this reviewResponded May 22, 2013

Dear Jacob B,
Thank you so much for your kind comments, we are very happy that you had a beautiful vacations with us.
Our commitment is to provide the best experience to our guests, we will share your review with our staff and our chefs.
Thanks to you for choosing us for your vacations, hope you can visit us again soon.
Warm regards,

Zasha Perez Gallardo.
PR Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 13, 2013

My new wife and I travelled here on our honeymoon. Pre-wedding I had torn my Achilles and decided to push back the surgery until after the honeymoon. I spent the wedding and honeymoon in the an immobilizing boot. We upgraded to the Royal Beach service and were so glad we did! We were given phenomenal personal service. Most of the staff made it a point to know our names and cater to our requests. The staff was beyond accommodating with shuttles and front door service for us. We enjoyed all the restaurants we ate at and took full advantage of the private pool, including cabanas and swim up bar! We definitely plan a return trip to take FULL advantage of Costa Rica's activities and the Westin will most likely receive my return business!

Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
2  Thank Ryan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestinConchal, Public Relations Manager at The Westin Golf Resort & Spa, Playa Conchal - An All-Inclusive Resort, responded to this reviewResponded May 24, 2013

Dear Ryan C,
We appreciate you taking the time to post such positive comments, thank you so much for your review.
We are very happy to know that you had a good time with us! We will love to have you here again, we hope you can come back soon.
Best regards and pura vida,

Zasha Perez Gallardo
PR Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Playa Conchal
19.4 mi away
Andaz Peninsula Papagayo Resort
Andaz Peninsula Papagayo Resort
#1 of 13 in Gulf of Papagayo
1,605 reviews
0.4 mi away
Reserva Conchal Beach Resort, Golf & Spa
17.7 mi away
Secrets Papagayo Costa Rica
Secrets Papagayo Costa Rica
#3 of 13 in Gulf of Papagayo
1,916 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.0 mi away
JW Marriott Guanacaste Resort & Spa
9.8 mi away
Hotel Riu Guanacaste
Hotel Riu Guanacaste
#1 of 1 in Playa Matapalo
6,424 reviews
9.7 mi away
Hotel Riu Palace Costa Rica
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Westin Golf Resort & Spa, Playa Conchal - An All-Inclusive Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westin Golf Resort & Spa, Playa Conchal - An All-Inclusive Resort

Address: Playa Conchal, Bahia Brasilito, Playa Conchal 232-5150, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Guanacaste > Playa Conchal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Playa Conchal
Price Range: $338 - $1,164 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Westin Golf Resort & Spa, Playa Conchal - An All-Inclusive Resort 4.5*
Number of rooms: 326
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Westin Golf Resort & Spa, Playa Conchal - An All-Inclusive Resort is an eco-friendly resort in Playa Conchal, Cabo Velas, Costa Rica located between the exotic forests and unspoiled beaches of the North Pacific Riviera. Our secluded vacation spot is a perfect balance between unrivaled luxury and local culture, giving our guests an unforgettable vacation experience. An All Inclusive experience includes all meals, drinks, use of our fitness center and kids club as well as entertainment options including non motorized water sports, daily activities and nightly events. Our retreat also offers an adult only all exclusive experience at the Royal Beach Club where guests have access to a private pool with concierge service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Starwood, West Indies, BookIt.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, TravelUp, Hotwire, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Westin Golf Resort & Spa, Playa Conchal - An All-Inclusive Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Westin Resort And Spa, Playa Conchal
The Westin Resort & Spa, Playa Conchal Hotel Playa Conchal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing