We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Westin Golf Resort & Spa, Playa Conchal - An All-Inclusive Resort
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Conchal Hotel(Brasilito)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Nany(Brasilito)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Brasilito(Brasilito)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Mariner Inn(Playa Flamingo)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Guanacaste Lodge(Playa Flamingo)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Flamingo Marina Resort(Playa Flamingo)
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Paradise Flamingo Beach(Playa Flamingo)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (4,558)
Filter reviews
4,558 results
Traveler rating
2,863
1,105
393
107
90
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
2,863
1,105
393
107
90
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsroyal beach clubroom serviceerik garciazip liningswim up barcosta ricaswiss travelpizzadinner reservationsour honeymoonitalian restaurantmain poolhot springspura vidaall inclusivesmake reservationshorseback riding
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
3,415 - 3,420 of 4,558 reviews
Reviewed September 16, 2012

What a great place to visit. The Westin was fabulous. It was all true what we read off this tripadvisor. People very freindly and helpful. The resort clean and huge with many restaurant choices. Erick on the beach very helpful, far cheaper for tours and way smaller groups. We will definately recommend this hotel to our friends and family.

Room Tip: Worth it to upgrade to the Royal Suites. Private pool very quiet.
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank CalandRita
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 15, 2012

We stayed at Westin Golf and Spa Resort in Playa Conchal 9-1, 2012 till 9-6, 2012. What a blast even though we had a setback (Earthquake 9-5-2012). We had heard about Erik and decided to talk with him once we arrived. We wanted to do canopy (ziplining) and spoke with Erik about it. We decided to go to Hotel Bar pool and think about what Erik had said so we could make a good decision. While sitting at the bar, we met anorhter couple who had jsut went ziplinging the day before and had scheduled their trip with Erik. That sealed our decision, we turned and went right back to the beach and booked out trip with Erik. We could have not had a better time. It was a blast and our Guide Rigo was a blast. So if you are undecided about booking with Erik, I assure you he will take good care of you. Kudos to Erik and his staff!!!!! Kudos to the Hotel for taking great care of us during the earthquake, they were very squared away and kept us informed of what was happening. I would definetly stay at this resort again.

Room Tip: We had a room with king bed and we had plenty of room. Cant think of anything that would stand out about our room other than everything worked to my delight. A/C was cold and being frm the south we needed that.
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Steve C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 13, 2012

We had the best time of our lives, we enjoyed every minute of our stay here in this resort, was beyond our expectations. Extremely friendly staff, and the best part was the mouth watering food every restaurant offered. We will definately return and bring our friends and family to enjoy the view and the services provided. Erick at the beach with tours was great, we had really good experiences and had lots of fun in our tours.

Room Tip: We stayed in Villa 4 which was the best locations we could get, it was close to all the restaurants and the pool and activity center... choose this one if you can!
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank jnj8182012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 13, 2012

My wife and I visited the resort during the first full week in September for 6 nights. We stayed during "rainy season" or "off season." In my opinion this is the best time to stay because you don't have to deal with any crowds and have easy access to everything. We stayed during "rainy season" or "off season." We even got to experience the 7.6 earthquake. The entire Westin staff and emergency response process made us feel very safe. The restaurants were very good and you had multiple options to choose from even though a couple restaurants are shut down each night. Remember to book your restaurant reservations for each night when you first check into the hotel. The main pool area is fantastic and the workout facility is great. If you are an active person I suggest doing the Westin Workout activities they offer each day. Ask for Jorge. He is the main instructor and is a joy to be around. Finally, you need to book your adventure tours through Erik Garcia located just outside the Westin public beach entrance. We did 2 all day adventure tours with the best guide in Costa Rica "Rico Suave". That is his real name. Canyon de la Vieja is the best and most affordable adventure tour company in Costa Rica, hands down. We also booked surfing lessons in Tamarindo beach. They have some of the best waves in the world for beginning surfers. The front desk at the Westin can help you book the lessons.

Room Tip: We stayed in building 30 which was right in the middle of the resort within walking distance of everything. The closer you are to the main pool area the louder it can be.
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank soccerguy1981
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 12, 2012

My husband and I traveled to the Westin Playa Conchal for a quick get away. We were not disappointed! The property is impressive. It reminded us of Sandestin in Florida--a large and well-planned resort. While the property is large, we found it manageable. We skipped the shuttles and walked almost everywhere.

Our room was typical of a Westin you'd find anywhere. Nice, clean and very comfortable. From best I could tell, the "bungalow" style means very few places have a view of the beach. The structures blend in with their surroundings. Perhaps that's why the wildlife was so comfortable there? We saw monkeys and hundreds of lemurs only a few steps from our room. Very cool.

The food on property was good. We were big fans of the buffets at breakfast and lunch. Because we visited in the off season, only a few places were open at each meal. Our evenings at the restaurants were just okay. We ate at the Latin, Italian and Mediterranean spots and were left unimpressed with the main dishes. The drinks were great and the bartenders the most friendly staff on the resort.

Because of the overwhelming positive reviews we read on this site, we chose to book all our travel through Erik Garcia. Excellent choice! We had massages on the beach with Erik's wife and sister (the best I've ever had--seriously.) We also booked an adventure tour, horseback riding on the beach and a sunset cruise with the Lucky Lizard. All were incredible. Our guide Carlos went above and beyond to ensure we felt welcome and had a good time. He even rode the zip lines with us to take pictures. People like him made me love Costa Rica even more!

One negative comment--while the staff was very friendly, they were unbending. We had trouble with our room (they tried to give us a double instead of a king) and were not able to get a restaurant reservation the first night. That was because we called in at 4:03, three minutes after the deadline. With all the restaurants less than half full, it was clear that no one was willing to bend the rules. We were later told by an ex-pat that this is typical in Costa Rica.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank BrittB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews