We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic service but resort was not what was promised.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Westin Golf Resort & Spa, Playa Conchal - An All-Inclusive Resort
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Playa Conchal
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed June 6, 2011

Arrived at 2 pm. We were told the room would not be ready for an hour.

Found out that we had to to wait to eat as everyone had to make reservations by 4 pm.

Only 3 restaurants open, although they advertise many more. Only 1 bar-the pool bar.

Only 1 staff person could actually tell us where the gym was located. A friend staying at the resort was told only people signed up for the more expensive "beach club" could use the gym.

We were given a map of all the buildings and services located at the resort, but this was confusing as they were in transition and most listed places were closed or temporarily houses in other "unknown" areas.

When we were leaving, I tried to access the free Internet on the lobby. ( was actually the conference center). When I inquired as to the reason I couldn't log in, I was told that due to the transition, only the "access for a fee" was available.

  • Stayed: May 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jmmum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
francinag, Guest Relations Manager at The Westin Golf Resort & Spa, Playa Conchal - An All-Inclusive Resort, responded to this reviewResponded June 18, 2011

Thank you for having stayed with us, we certainly appreciate your comments because we are always appreciative of positive feedback.

I am sorry to hear of the misscomunications about location, times, and available outlets. Even though we are undergoing a soft renovation process we are keeping available and intact all services we offer even if sometimes we need to use alternate locations.

We certainly should have been more specific in communicating the appropiate information to you and I apologize if we were not diligent in that aspect.

Appreciate the time you took to write and I truly hope you can re-visit us sometime in the future.

Cordially,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (4,235)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

3,746 - 3,752 of 4,235 reviews

Reviewed May 24, 2011

We checked in on April 30th and out on May 7th. The hotel changed into the Westin on Day 2 of our stay there. This DID NOT go well.

The place is beautiful and the waiters and staff tried hard to make everything go smoothly. That being said, I will now go into "The Changeover"...watch your credit card bills!

Our stay during the transition was chaotic to say the least; we paid cash upon checkout and now our credit card has been charged $170.00. I am currently trying to get this charge removed.

We ordered room service the first night we were there as we came in late. The food was excellent and fast service too.

The next day we tried to order a snack from room service and were told that the menu has been changed now (due to the "change over")...we asked for a new menu...3 calls to be exact and we never received it until 2 days later.

We called for our laundry to be taken...it took about 5 calls and 3 days to get it picked up (due to the "change over")......

The internet in the coffee shop was down all week (due to the "change over").....

I was never able to place a call to the US because the lines were down (Due to the "change over")....

We were never able to charge anything from the shops to our room (Due to the "changeover")..

We were unable to pay our departure taxes (Due to the "change over")

Nobody could ever tell us which restaurants would be open in the evening (Due to the "change over")

I have never heard the phrase "Due to the change over" so many times in my life!

We were sitting on the patio one afternoon and they came and asked if they could change the address placard outside our room...our room went from 063 to 4063...then they came with new bedding; then they wanted to come in to exchange all of the bathroom accessories and kitchen countertop accessories for the "change over"

Alot of construction noise was going on from the "change over"....

I hope that this place improves because as I said it is very beautiful and the staff there were trying so hard; the whole time we were there the workers were being watched and some of them looked quite tense and upset.

I would not stay here again. This whole experienced has soured me to Westin in general.

I would have liked to be able to give this 5 stars, however 3 stars I think is still too much.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank TERRESA P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
francinag, Guest Relations Manager at The Westin Golf Resort & Spa, Playa Conchal - An All-Inclusive Resort, responded to this reviewResponded June 19, 2011

Thank you for taking the time to post your review of your recent stay at our resort.

We want to sincerely apologize for all the incoveniences you had to go through due to the management change. We tried very hard not to have our guests go through inconveniences during the process however a few things were on stand by while we change systems and that is the reson why for a few days you could not charge at the shops or buy your departure taxes.

I can gladly share with you that we are back on track and all services are available now.

In regards to the issue at check-out we would like to disccuss it further with you, at your convenience in order to determine wether there were any errors in posting these charges.

Please e-mail: thewestinplayaconchalresortandspa@westin.com
and let us know when would be a good time for us to contact you directly to discuss.

We sincerely appreciate that you recognized our staff and we hope you can give us the opportunity to serve you better in a near future.

Cordially,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 24, 2011

The buffet is extensive, the drinks are made with cheap liquor. The hotel is remote and the beach isn't very desirable. I'm not sure how this is a five star hotel. It does have a nice pool.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank riverfairy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
francinag, Guest Relations Manager at The Westin Golf Resort & Spa, Playa Conchal - An All-Inclusive Resort, responded to this reviewResponded June 18, 2011

Thanks for your review and I apologize if you find that our resort was not offering top quality food and beverages. We definitively put a lot of effort in offering the best food and beverage´s quality so without a doubt we will take your comments very seriously.

As you may have noticed while staying with us, we are located on a natural reserve that might feel as remote however there are plenty of opportunities to go out and explore the surroundings. We are located 60 minutes away from the Liberia Internation Airport and just 20 minutes driving time from the small fisherman´s and surfers village of Tamarindo. Nevertheless daily tours to the major natural and adventure attractions are scheduled.

I truly hope that if you find yourself to ever return to Costa Rica and to The Westin Resort & Spa, Playa Conchal your stay will be a lot more enjoyable

Sincerely,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 23, 2011

The hotel is beautiful. If you are looking for a great beach with great activities this place is the place to go. We stayed here the second half of our trip to Costa Rica and I must say it was amazing! The food was fabulous... must try the Mexican and Italian restaurant. The hotel offers great features as part of the all inclusive Golf lessons, salsa classes, sushi making, wine tasting, tequila tasting, hiking tour, bike tour, cooking lessons etc. Wonderful place , well kept and the entertainment crew Rebecca, Gabriella, Steven, and Jeffery were a lot of fun!

Con: We had $50 dollars stolen from our safe (we forgot to lock it) and the management didnt seem to care much. Said they would investigate it. He told us it could take MONTHS!! I don't know how much investigating you need to do for something that happen in less than 2 hours of us leaving the room.

Room Tip: get a junior suite
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank lovetotravel7399
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 16, 2011

Stayed at the "new" Westin resort for the final two days of a recent trip to CR. The reason I say 'new" is that this resort is about 15 years old, but new with the Westin name. The standard rooms are in dire need of updating. Make sure you request an updated room. My first room was horrible. After complaining we were moved to the "Royal Club" this is a new area for the hotel about two years old I was told. Do yourself a favor spend the extra money to stay there. Huge updated rooms, VIP pool and dining area. The "all inclusive" part of the "Royal Club" also includes premium liquors that are not part of the standard package.

Regarding the food. Breakfast is not so good. Very hard to keep the hot items hot and the cold items cold when the entire buffet is done in an open air restaurant. Lunch and dinner are very good. Highly recommend the Italian restaurant on site.

The beach is very nice, but beware of all the vendors that will hassle you to purchase their products as soon as you step outside the resort fence. Once you walk past them and say no they will leave you alone.

Big thank you to some great staff members for saving my trip and making our stay great. John our butler. Victoria at the Royal concierge desk and Fransisco the manager on duty when I checked in.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
11  Thank jwd316
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 5 days ago via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: November 2017, traveled as a couple
Thank Femma M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 6 days ago
Google Translation

Room Tip: Todas las habitaciones son excelentes
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2017, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Ivanich Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zasha G, Public Relations Manager at The Westin Golf Resort & Spa, Playa Conchal - An All-Inclusive Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 4 days ago
Google Translation

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Playa Conchal
0.4 mi away
Reserva Conchal Beach Resort, Golf & Spa
19.4 mi away
Andaz Peninsula Papagayo Resort
Andaz Peninsula Papagayo Resort
#1 of 13 in Gulf of Papagayo
1,638 reviews
17.7 mi away
Secrets Papagayo Costa Rica
Secrets Papagayo Costa Rica
#3 of 13 in Gulf of Papagayo
2,039 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.0 mi away
JW Marriott Guanacaste Resort & Spa
9.8 mi away
Hotel Riu Guanacaste
Hotel Riu Guanacaste
#1 of 1 in Playa Matapalo
6,555 reviews
9.7 mi away
Hotel Riu Palace Costa Rica
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Westin Golf Resort & Spa, Playa Conchal - An All-Inclusive Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westin Golf Resort & Spa, Playa Conchal - An All-Inclusive Resort

Address: Playa Conchal, Bahia Brasilito, Playa Conchal 232-5150, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Guanacaste > Playa Conchal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Playa Conchal
Price Range: $398 - $1,213 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Westin Golf Resort & Spa, Playa Conchal - An All-Inclusive Resort 4.5*
Number of rooms: 326
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Westin Golf Resort & Spa, Playa Conchal - An All-Inclusive Resort is an eco-friendly resort in Playa Conchal, Cabo Velas, Costa Rica located between the exotic forests and unspoiled beaches of the North Pacific Riviera. Our secluded vacation spot is a perfect balance between unrivaled luxury and local culture, giving our guests an unforgettable vacation experience. An All Inclusive experience includes all meals, drinks, use of our fitness center and kids club as well as entertainment options including non motorized water sports, daily activities and nightly events. Our retreat also offers an adult only all exclusive experience at the Royal Beach Club where guests have access to a private pool with concierge service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, West Indies, BookIt.com, TravelUp, Expedia, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Travelocity, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Westin Golf Resort & Spa, Playa Conchal - An All-Inclusive Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Westin Resort And Spa, Playa Conchal
The Westin Resort & Spa, Playa Conchal Hotel Playa Conchal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing