We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (105)
Filter reviews
105 results
Traveler rating
78
15
3
4
5
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveler rating
78
15
3
4
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviews wet deck plunge pool lower pool spectacular ocean view reserva conchal chef roy treehouse suite blue zone seating options hobbit house feel extra special living room bar top floor beach club platinum elite costa rica hotel is situated
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
7 - 12 of 105 reviews
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

This is the indoor outdoor restaurant on the entrance level of this new hotel. The staff is spectacular and they simply are the best trained of any of the hotels in the area. I was not staying here but joining friends for dinner.
We sat inside which feels a bit like sitting inside a goldfish bowl as the restaurant is all glass looking out to the terrace.
There were 8 of us, choosing varied dishes like ink fettuccine with seafood, lamb shank, gnocchi, a chicken dish, a type of pizza, a soup and a salad.
The menu was not very enticing and the food average. What was wonderful was a staff.
There is a restaurant downstairs which has a more exciting menu but that comes with a much higher price tag.

Date of stay: May 2019
Trip type: Traveled with friends
1  Thank Penelopewms
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 5 weeks ago via mobile

Took my mom here for her 70th birthday.
The staff is what made this one of the best trips ever!!
The resort is gorgeous and still growing into its landscape!
Check in was perfect with Louis and Anna making it simple and welcoming. Louis went above and beyond to get us the perfect room for our stay.
Luna & Eric & Mauricio were impeccable at getting us to our rooms and settled. They were always willing to get us where we needed to go and on time. Special shoutout to Luna who always took time to chat about the day and movies and stuff.
We had great rooms, the suite with plunge pool and an adjoining queen room.
The food was great!
Breakfast buffet has everything you’d want & more and chefs José & Catherine were terrific at preparing whatever we wanted in the mornings and going above and beyond to start our days. Catherine always made sure mom and I had our eggs just the way we liked them.
Michael & Romina always served us with a smile on their faces.
Down by the pool and beach club we had Tobias and Andre and Hugo who always made sure we were fed and had the perfect cocktail to enjoy on the hot days!! They were always smiling and friendly.
Make sure you get the restaurant schedules as they change frequently while we are there.
We ate on property each time and had great meals most of the time especially the meal at Latitude, it was amazing and the staff there made sure mom’s birthday dinner was perfect...thank you to them for that.

Mornings were great. The beach was empty and perfect for meditation or a walk or yoga.
Monkeys and wildlife wake you up and are a great way to start your days.

Lots to do on the property but definitely look into that tours. Ask questions as the tour/adventure desk wasn’t as informative as it could have been.
Do the river cruise and the helicopter volcano trip. Both great!

We will be back for sure!!!
Thank you to the staff and anyone I forgot above.
You’re all great!!

Date of stay: May 2019
Trip type: Traveled with family
1  Thank CW22311
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 8, 2019

You will not be disappointed with your experience at the W Costa Rica. From the amazing staff to the great food, i have so many good things to say about this Hotel. The pools were very clean, and the housekeeping staff was amazing as well. They even left us fresh flowers on the bed one day!

I think the most important thing that stood out though was the staff and how nice everyone was. No matter who you are the staff makes you feel like you are important. And as i mentioned above the food was great and not your typical “hotel” food by any means.

There are two pools and each one has a great view of the ocean. I hope i can make it back to this hotel and Costa Rica one day.

If you have the chance please stay at this hotel and experience what we did. Thank you staff for all that you did to make my honeymoon so special.

Kayla

Date of stay: April 2019
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Thank Kayla F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 7, 2019

Beautiful modern hotel with modern artwork, situated on a reserve that is abundant with wildlife that the hotel employees are excited to show you. All of the team at the hotel were fantastic and went overboard in making sure that all of our needs were fully met. Delicious breakfast buffet, while pricey definitely worth the money if you are a breakfast lover, which I am not. The morning chef and her team went out of their way to make sure that I was fully satisfied by creating delicious morning bites that were unique to my taste. We booked a King Corner Suite and were very happy with the spacious 1440 sq ft+ room, which included a bath and 1/2, his and her wardrobe, separate living room with two flat screen television and plunge pool. My husband and I have traveled all over the world and were truly impressed with the accommodations and were shocked to see the few negative reviews. After visiting the W Reserva Conchal and re-reading the reviews it appears to us that those reviews were totally off and may be individuals looking for the compensation points and or unnecessary refunds. One point to note, there are no beach chairs, due to environmental concerns, however the hotel will provide you with beach mats. We sincerely hope you enjoy as much as we did and we hope to be back soon! Suzanne and Ed

Date of stay: April 2019
1  Thank SUZANNEMOBRIEN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 4, 2019

My boyfriend and I came to Costa Rica for the first time. We are both active and love good food, and this resort delivers both in spades. In particular, we really enjoyed the restaurant near the beach Zona Azul and Chef Roy's food. His food is a mix of coastal American and Asian; the presentation is gorgeous and he also gives you a generous portion vs typical high end restaurants that leave you only half full. The way Chef Roy cooks meat in particular is so appealingly juicy and savory that we could not help but ask how he prepares them. Throughout our ten day stay, we've peppered Chef Roy with questions (including how to make the best mashed potato we've ever had in our lives, and we've both had many!) and learned a ton. He even gave us a 1:1 class on how to make Ceviche from his home country Peru!

On this note, Chef Roy was introduced to us by his manager Franco, who obviously takes pride is how well Chef Roy cooks.

The other restaurant on the resort we tried is Latitud 10 Norte. The food by Eric is fantastic as well, though the portion are smaller. The mixologist Josh concocts drinks of his own creation and it is obvious he loves what he do; the drinks taste delicious and the presentation is both creative and beautiful.

The service at the restaurant is great as well; we especially enjoyed the company of Pablo, who shared with us the wonderful exchange program that allows hotel personnel to work in other Marriott owned hotels to cross pollinate ideas from different regions.

Date of stay: April 2019
Thank Yumay C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews