We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Will Need A Shuttle To Get Around”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Reserva Conchal Beach Resort, Golf & Spa
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Playa Conchal
Irvine, California
Level 6 Contributor
140 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
“Will Need A Shuttle To Get Around”
Reviewed September 4, 2013

My family with our 3 kids stayed at Reserva Conchal for 3 nights from August 26-29, 2013. First of all let me explain something to people who might be booking this in the near future. The Reserva Conchal Condos are on a massive property owned by The Westin. So when you book a Reserva Conchal room, you're really booking a condo. The Westin rooms are located on the far end of the property closer to the beach. Reserva Conchal and The Westin have different Receptions. The reserva conchal reception manages the condos but offers free shuttle to and from the Reserva Conchal Beach Club, which is close to the Westin rooms. Hope that was clear as mud.
We knew what we were getting because we specifically booked a 3 bedroom condo at Reserva Conchal. Farid at the Reserva Conchal reception was very helpful and gave us a map of the property and clearly explained everything, he said if you need a shuttle, just give us a call. The condo was immaculate and really looked like a mini mansion, we had 3 massive bedrooms, a fully loaded kitchen with top of the line appliances, 2 massive bathrooms and a balcony with beautiful beach views. The dining room had a lovely table and the living room had a 7 seater sofa. Massive TV's and yes free wifi.

Want to know the condo number? 2203.

The only negative about Reserva Conchal is that you have to always call their shuttle to get around the property, to the restaurants, to the beach or to the beach club. The shuttle would always be there within 5 minutes of calling. Not really a big deal though but a slight inconvenience.

The pool is massive and has a pool bar as well, great for kids. they have table tennis next to the pool too. There are 4-5 restaurants on the property. Mitra is where you have your breakfast and lunch buffets. Stay away from Las Candelas, They got our order wrong, served us pork as appetizers when we requested vegi appetizers. Then for our main course serves us tasteless UNCOOKED chicken. Barf....!!! At least the manager was kind enough to not charge us for the messed up food, and we had to pay only for the kids meals and drinks. If you want good food, The Spirula Pizza restaurant is the BEST!

The shuttle drivers are great and always in a good mood. They would stop and show us the animals on the property. There are some massive iguanas on the golf course. Its a very safe resort at any time of day or night. If you're lucky you might even see some howler monkeys.
The beach is really clean and safe. There are tour guides on the property if you want to book and there is also a car rental place.

Enjoy your stay at Reserva Conchal.

Room Tip: Condo 2203 rocks....!!!! Book it now....
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Aero E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

226 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    105
    66
    24
    20
    11
See reviews for
128
50
2
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
paris, france
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed September 3, 2013

This is supposed to be a luxury hotel but what we found was clearly substandard and outright deceitful. Our stay at the Reserva Conchal started with the wrong foot and continued like that for the duration, mainly due to the incompetence of the staff. We had booked a “Luxury ocean view 2 bedroom”, but when we checked in we were given a condo with no view. When I protested, the employee at the check in said that they “didn’t have” ocean view rooms. I said it was unacceptable, and I proceeded to show a written confirmation with the room type clearly stated. That was followed by a 2 hours – yes, 2 hours! – process in which the employee proceeded to a) call the reservation manager (no manager was in site) b) call the front desk manager, c) engage in an endless – and futile – debate with an expedia representative as we have booked through expedia. All while my family and I waited and wasted a full afternoon of our vacations. Finally he agreed to move us to another room, which, needless to say, didn’t have ocean view either. After more protestations they miraculously conjured an ocean view room (they had said they didn’t exist) and they say they’d move us the next day.
The following morning I asked for somebody to help me move, they said they’d send somebody over in 5 minutes. After a half hour I ended up moving my things on my own as nobody showed up.
The new unit was good, but showed clear signs of neglect, like stained walls. It is important to note that this is not a hotel but a condo, although they are extremely vague about that fact. The units are privately owned and therefore there are significant differences between them.
Another thing they “forgot” to mention was that their “beach club”, which is the main facility of the “hotel” was being renovated. That meant that breakfast was being served at the adjacent Westin hotel, 3 miles away from our room. Waiting for the shuttle can take up to 20 minutes. The pool being at the beach club, one could “relax” while hearing the hammering and the construction noises.
The relation with the Westin is a whole other chapter. The website of Reserva Conchal is deliberately vague about it and one is led to believe that guests of the Reserva have access to the facilities at the Westin. It’s not the case. The two hotels are in the same property but are independent companies. They share the spa but that is pretty much it. That means that the guests of the Westin can access the beach club of the Reserva but we couldn´t access the westin unless we paid 85 dollars a person per day. Technically, guests of the Reserva have 15% discount when they eat at the Westin Restaurants or buy at their shops. The only thing is that they forgot to tell the Westin about that, because every time we wanted to claim the discount we were in for lengthy negotiations and verifications. At some point, they told us we needed some sort of card which existence we ignored.
Other annoyances: the keys to our room kept failing. We had to replace them 3 times. They promised to send somebody “right away” to check the lock that appeared to be malfunctioning. They never came. Twice the door of our unit appeared opened when we came back from the beach. Again, they said they’d send somebody to check. Again, nothing. The elevator in the condo malfunctioned regularly, it was never fixed.
Playa Conchal is indeed beautiful; the condo units are nice, and the convenience of having a small apartment rather than a hotel room is valuable, but we felt deceived, mistreated and victims of sheer incompetence. It is not what one would expect from one of the most expensive hotels in the region.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank osvaldo68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mercer Island, Washington
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed September 3, 2013

Spectacular views, service, rooms, food and so much more. We stayed here for only one day and it is expensive, but worth it as a treat. It is all inclusive. They great you when you check in with a frosty lime aid drink. The fitness center was lovely. You have your choices of evening restaurants. It is all inclusive, but nothing is spared. They refill your mini fridge in your room once a day. They also let you use room service if you want to stay in your room. This place is very relaxing. The staff is first rate!

Room Tip: The fitness center was great too.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kathryn T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chicago
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed August 11, 2013

We stayed at Reserva Conchal last week for 4 nights we rented a two bedroom condo with a partial ocean view because at the time we made the reservation we were told that no ocean views were available. When we arrived they put us in two bedroom condo on the first floor with no view of the ocean and even the golf course was blocked by landscaping. We spoke to the reception staff who said they would take care of it tomorrow as they didn't have another option available for us. We loved the beach and beach club restaurant - breakfast was included and good way to start the day, but the quality of the food was nothing to write home about. After spending the day at the beach we spoke to reception and they said they would move us at 3 p.m. which they did. The two bedroom with ocean view was smaller than the first place, but it had an amazing view and we were very pleased. After we got home from dinner we noticed that the AC in the master bedroom was not working. We called and they said they couldn't do anything about it until tomorrow as the maintenance staff already left for the day. My wife decided to do a load of wash, which went fine until we noticed water slowly leaking from the washing machine we called to let them know and they said they would look into it. Later we noticed that water was also leaking from the water heater. They sent someone at 1 p.m. the next day to look at all these issues and said the the AC was fixed and not to worry about the water leaking it's probably due to condensation. As we were leaving for dinner we noticed that the door didn't lock - it seems that the electronic locking mechanism didn't reset after the maintenance person left. Our condo was wide open for 3 hours luckily nothing happened. They sent someone over to fix it and we were instructed in how to "properly open the door" to make sure the mechanism didn't reset itself. The staff member said they have some problems with these doors and that they can sometimes be temperamental. We laughed it off and said what else could happen. Well, we locked our items in and the safe couldn't open it again - we used the same process as we did in the first room. When they came over to open the safe they let us know that this safe only used 4 numbers - the first safe used 6 numbers. They had no instructions on how to operate the safe but did point out that the reset button is in the door behind the locking mechanism which we would have never found it if they didn't tell us. We were surprised that there were no instructions on how to properly use the safe at either condo. All in all, our stay at Reserva Conchal was very good - even with these minor mishaps which they resolved fairly quickly and on our last night there they sent over a bottle of wine with some fresh fruit and a note apologizing for all the issues. The staff was easy to deal with, the place was comfortable and the view amazing! It's tough to say if I would recommend this place to friends and family as we had so many minor issues to deal with throughout our entire stay.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ssoloss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Escazu, Costa Rica
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed July 23, 2013

This the top destination in Costa Rica. Getting to Reserva Conchal from the local Tamarindo Airport is only 10 minutes, the Liberia International Airport is only 45 minutes, while the trip from San José is 3 hours 1/2, by car. All apartments are rented with the breackfast option, which avoids the renter the need to start the day cooking, working in the preparation of food for the family. Quality and variety of the options is more than enough. Really good. The restaurant also takes gests for lunch and dinner and is top quality. The apartment we rented this week-end was a one main room, which included, besides the room, a large dining-living area, one and 1/2 bath, large kitchen area and a very large terrace with excellent veiw of the golf course and thebeach and sea beyond. The main room is lavishly furnished, with the king size bed the biggest attraction, because of size and quality of manufacture. Curtains are no nonsense dark. It provides the best sleeping experience possible. There are serveral vehicles that take the renters and residents to the Beach Club, the beach and the different places at the adjoining Westin Hotel, mainly the various restaurants, which will be reviewed separately another time. Summary is that, although not cheap, the value invloved is much and worth every cent.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank AlfredoFournier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, Costa Rica
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 14, 2013

I am Costa Rican and it was my first time at Reserva Conchal. I rented for 3 days a 4 room condo 13 A at Malinche. It really exceeded my expectations. The house was exceptional, the Beach Club and Spa incredible, the food delicious (try the food daily packages for all inclusive)...what else can I say?

I think you receive very nice benefits at a fair cost. Ansious to go back with my family again.

Room Tip: Malinche 13 A Condo rocks!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
2 Thank AlvaroVargas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Katy, Texas
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 8, 2013

Our family experience in Reserva Conchal was really outstanding: the condo was very comfortable and clean, the food at the beach restaurant was high quality, the spa was great and the beach was just perfect. People at RC are very nice and always trying to provide the best service. No complaints at all. We hope to be back soon!

Room Tip: Condos are very good option
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank MTSP_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Playa Conchal
3.9 mi away
Bahia del Sol Beach Front Boutique Hotel
19.3 mi away
Andaz Peninsula Papagayo Resort
Andaz Peninsula Papagayo Resort
#1 of 13 in Gulf of Papagayo
1,549 reviews
7.3 mi away
Hotel Tamarindo Diria
Hotel Tamarindo Diria
#12 of 22 in Tamarindo
2,455 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Conchal Hotel
Conchal Hotel
#1 of 3 in Brasilito
519 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Westin Golf Resort & Spa, Playa Conchal
11.1 mi away
JW Marriott Guanacaste Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Reserva Conchal Beach Resort, Golf & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Reserva Conchal Beach Resort, Golf & Spa

Property: Reserva Conchal Beach Resort, Golf & Spa
Address: Cabo Velas, Playa Conchal 506, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Guanacaste > Playa Conchal
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Playa Conchal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Reserva Conchal Beach Resort, Golf & Spa 4.5*
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Reserva Conchal Beach Resort, Golf & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Reserva Conchal Hotel Playa Conchal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing