We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent place to stay”
Review of Casa Caletas

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Casa Caletas
Ranked #3 of 8 Hotels in Nicoya
Reviewed January 24, 2014

We had four wonderful nights and five days at this special place. Our room had a jacuzzi on the pouch which was wonderful. At night we gaze out to the ocean, with the river flowing next to the hotel and the clear stars above, it was bliss.

The rooms are large and nicely finished with a nautical theme. The staff is accommodating.

The views are fantastic!

If you want a place away from it all, this is it. Very remote. Beach is great for swimming along with the mouth of the river.

If you want quiet, remote and relaxing, who could ask for more.

Phyllis & Bill @ The Fenix

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Fenix_Samara
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (42)
There are newer reviews for Casa Caletas
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

14 - 20 of 42 reviews

Reviewed August 22, 2013

We where in Casa Caletas in 2011 and we had the most awesome time there!
Fiorella is a girl who was working there and she really made us feel at home and she is the most adorable person! The room where we staid had a very nice view over the river and the ocean. It was very clean and beautifull decorated. The breakfast was great and full of nutricion so we could surf all day long.....:-))
We will defintely be back someday soon!

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank BayaBerg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 30, 2013

Located a little bit away from playa Coyote, the location of the hotel makes it perfect for enjoying the sunset without the surfers and tourists around. The access to the nearby river allows for observing wildlife - pelicans, monkeys, iguanas, etc.

The resultant served very tasty food, fresh fruit juice and ice-cold beer.
The room we've got (N1) is quite big and very clean. We did not have a "hot" water in the bathroom but the pipe water was very refreshing after 4-5 hours driving.
The staff was friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Diman K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 20, 2013

The location is stunning overlooking the estuary. The view changes constantly as the tide moves. We both had the entire fish red snapper which was the special of the evening, and were very pleased with the selection. Staff was very friendly and efficient. The hotel had no guests that evening, so we had the place to ourselves. The grounds were immaculate and we both remarked that we would stay here. We plan on going back this week to sample a Tico breakfast.

Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
1  Thank ptckaiser
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 27, 2013

We just got back from two nights at Casa Caletas. We booked the Junior Suite which had a jazuzzi tub on the little terrace, and the best views in the house. The room was ample, with a lovely big bathroom, a mini fridge, and a king sized bed. The bed was firm, and I slept really well, especially as the curtains blocked out most of the morning light.
There are definitely lots of bugs around, which doesn't bother me too much, it is Costa Rica after all, and nothing some bug spray doesn't fix.
The reception/ kitchen/ wait staff were incredibly accommodating, friendly and easy going. The reservation process was a little confusing as my emails were being forwarded to their sister hotel in Jaco, and hopefully the owners identify this problem to avoid the same happening in the future... but it wasn't a big deal.
The pool is gorgeous, with an incredible view of the river/ ocean. The dock was a big hit for the kids to go fishing on for hours. They have kayaks you can rent to explore the estuary, and they are close to a good surf break or two.
This was a weekend getaway for a friend's 40th birthday, we were 5 couples, plus about 9 kids and it was the perfect weekend away. The food and drink prices were very fair, breakfast was included (the typical or continental) but I ordered the omelette which was delicious.
Thanks Casa Caletas staff for making this a memorable mini-vacation!

Room Tip: The Junior Suite is worth a few extra $$...
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Corynne30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 23, 2012

The casa calitas resort, in coyote, is now being managed separatly from the farming operaton. Both operations support a number of the local community residents.The environmental group PRETOMA has people here locally working very hard to protect several species of large sea turtles from extinction. Most tourists who would frequent the Casa Calitas Resort, would empathize with the ecological benfits of supporting the resurgence of the sea turtle population. However, when possitive passions give way to negative anger, no one wins. My wife and I recently purchased property close by and found the new management of the resort quite accomidating. This is truly a very beautiful spot. I seems to me that there should be a strong relatonship between the Casa Calitas resort and PRETOMA. Guests to Casa Calitas and the other area hotels would probably love to see the operation to "save the turtles". They, also, could give posititve feedback and ask for support from the "powers that be". This approach may , in the long term, soften the heart of an older gentleman who may feel disrespected. This could be very important when that person has unarguable financial power.
Casa Calitas has some wonderful California wines. They just so happen to be produced by the owner. I hope someday that a portion of the sales from the owners wines at Casa Calitas could be donated to the cause of local environmental protection. This is probably a long way off, but someone needs to start to build bridges, and stop buring them.
My wife and I met others while at Casa Calitas who thought it was a wonderful place to stay. We hope they will be successful, so we can visit the bar and restaurant and recommend to our family and friends that they stay in this hotel. Costa Rica is a place for diplomacy, not war, even though the former can be more difficult.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank charles h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 17, 2010

This place had a beautiful view from its main lobby, and that is about it. The staff were extremely unattentive. They used pesticides outside of our door in the morning, yet claimed to be eco-friendly. The undercooked eggs for breakfast made me sick, and the entire hotel was filled with obnoxious Americans who kept complaining about the cellphone service, although I guess me complaining about them makes me an obnoxious american. To top it off, the place is in the middle of nowhere and basically has the only restaurant in town. There are far better places to go and things to see in Costa Rica.

  • Stayed: December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank redvisorman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Nicoya
30.2 mi away
Hotel Rio Tempisque
Hotel Rio Tempisque
#2 of 8 in Nicoya
46 reviews
3.9 mi away
Hotel Laguna Mar
Hotel Laguna Mar
#1 of 1 in Playa San Miguel
230 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel El Regalo
Hotel El Regalo
#4 of 8 in Nicoya
25 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
18.0 mi away
The Hideaway Hotel Playa Samara
The Hideaway Hotel Playa Samara
#1 of 16 in Playa Samara
854 reviews
16.5 mi away
Hotel Peace & Lodge
Hotel Peace & Lodge
#2 of 7 in Playa Carrillo
44 reviews
16.4 mi away
Nammbu Beachfront Bungalows
Nammbu Beachfront Bungalows
#3 of 7 in Playa Carrillo
135 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa Caletas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Caletas

Address: Nicoya, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Guanacaste > Nicoya
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 8 Hotels in Nicoya
Price Range: $102 - $158 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Cancelon so you can book your Casa Caletas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa Caletas Costa Rica/Nicoya

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing