We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome time!”
Review of Casa Caletas

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Casa Caletas
Ranked #2 of 8 Hotels in Nicoya
Esmoriz, Portugal
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Awesome time!”
Reviewed August 22, 2013

We where in Casa Caletas in 2011 and we had the most awesome time there!
Fiorella is a girl who was working there and she really made us feel at home and she is the most adorable person! The room where we staid had a very nice view over the river and the ocean. It was very clean and beautifull decorated. The breakfast was great and full of nutricion so we could surf all day long.....:-))
We will defintely be back someday soon!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BayaBerg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

42 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    22
    12
    2
    2
    4
See reviews for
11
21
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sofia, Bulgaria
Level Contributor
96 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed July 30, 2013

Located a little bit away from playa Coyote, the location of the hotel makes it perfect for enjoying the sunset without the surfers and tourists around. The access to the nearby river allows for observing wildlife - pelicans, monkeys, iguanas, etc.

The resultant served very tasty food, fresh fruit juice and ice-cold beer.
The room we've got (N1) is quite big and very clean. We did not have a "hot" water in the bathroom but the pipe water was very refreshing after 4-5 hours driving.
The staff was friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Diman K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
81 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed June 20, 2013 via mobile

The location is stunning overlooking the estuary. The view changes constantly as the tide moves. We both had the entire fish red snapper which was the special of the evening, and were very pleased with the selection. Staff was very friendly and efficient. The hotel had no guests that evening, so we had the place to ourselves. The grounds were immaculate and we both remarked that we would stay here. We plan on going back this week to sample a Tico breakfast.

Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank ptckaiser
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Playa Grande
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed May 27, 2013

We just got back from two nights at Casa Caletas. We booked the Junior Suite which had a jazuzzi tub on the little terrace, and the best views in the house. The room was ample, with a lovely big bathroom, a mini fridge, and a king sized bed. The bed was firm, and I slept really well, especially as the curtains blocked out most of the morning light.
There are definitely lots of bugs around, which doesn't bother me too much, it is Costa Rica after all, and nothing some bug spray doesn't fix.
The reception/ kitchen/ wait staff were incredibly accommodating, friendly and easy going. The reservation process was a little confusing as my emails were being forwarded to their sister hotel in Jaco, and hopefully the owners identify this problem to avoid the same happening in the future... but it wasn't a big deal.
The pool is gorgeous, with an incredible view of the river/ ocean. The dock was a big hit for the kids to go fishing on for hours. They have kayaks you can rent to explore the estuary, and they are close to a good surf break or two.
This was a weekend getaway for a friend's 40th birthday, we were 5 couples, plus about 9 kids and it was the perfect weekend away. The food and drink prices were very fair, breakfast was included (the typical or continental) but I ordered the omelette which was delicious.
Thanks Casa Caletas staff for making this a memorable mini-vacation!

Room Tip: The Junior Suite is worth a few extra $$...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Corynne30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mapleville
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 23, 2012

The casa calitas resort, in coyote, is now being managed separatly from the farming operaton. Both operations support a number of the local community residents.The environmental group PRETOMA has people here locally working very hard to protect several species of large sea turtles from extinction. Most tourists who would frequent the Casa Calitas Resort, would empathize with the ecological benfits of supporting the resurgence of the sea turtle population. However, when possitive passions give way to negative anger, no one wins. My wife and I recently purchased property close by and found the new management of the resort quite accomidating. This is truly a very beautiful spot. I seems to me that there should be a strong relatonship between the Casa Calitas resort and PRETOMA. Guests to Casa Calitas and the other area hotels would probably love to see the operation to "save the turtles". They, also, could give posititve feedback and ask for support from the "powers that be". This approach may , in the long term, soften the heart of an older gentleman who may feel disrespected. This could be very important when that person has unarguable financial power.
Casa Calitas has some wonderful California wines. They just so happen to be produced by the owner. I hope someday that a portion of the sales from the owners wines at Casa Calitas could be donated to the cause of local environmental protection. This is probably a long way off, but someone needs to start to build bridges, and stop buring them.
My wife and I met others while at Casa Calitas who thought it was a wonderful place to stay. We hope they will be successful, so we can visit the bar and restaurant and recommend to our family and friends that they stay in this hotel. Costa Rica is a place for diplomacy, not war, even though the former can be more difficult.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank charles h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
37 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed November 17, 2010

This place had a beautiful view from its main lobby, and that is about it. The staff were extremely unattentive. They used pesticides outside of our door in the morning, yet claimed to be eco-friendly. The undercooked eggs for breakfast made me sick, and the entire hotel was filled with obnoxious Americans who kept complaining about the cellphone service, although I guess me complaining about them makes me an obnoxious american. To top it off, the place is in the middle of nowhere and basically has the only restaurant in town. There are far better places to go and things to see in Costa Rica.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank redvisorman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Orleans, Louisiana
Level Contributor
17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed November 17, 2010

I know nothing about the owner's environmental record, and I don't know much about the plight of sea turtles in the specific areas other reviewers have referenced. What I do know, however, is that Casa Caletas is a beautiful, new and modern boutique hotel situated in Playa Coyote, virtually in the middle of nowhere. When my girlfriend and I were forced to find a place to stay when confronted with sunken, impassable roads and flooded bridges, on our way to Montezuma, we accidentally stumbled onto Casa Caletas.

We walked up to the front desk at sunset, and the view from the hotel, on the top of a hillside, overlooking the Pacific Ocean and lush Costa Rican forests, took our breath away. The rooms were clean, comfortable, and very modern. There was a big, flat screen TV in our room (which we never turned on), and the complimentary Wi-Fi was very helpful. The grounds were very well maintained, and the pool was small but terrific. (I have never had a better view from a pool.) There is a restaurant on-site, though apparently it is closed when they are not expecting guests, but the bar was well-stocked. They also have kayaks available for people wishing to explore.

We would have paid anything, literally, on the night of our arrival, but the rate was as reasonable as any I saw in Costa Rica. Casa Caletas literally saved our vacation.

Two further things to note. First, we stayed at Casa Caletas for several days, and the did not provide us (nor did we see) any sort of maid service. It's a small hotel, and I imagine that they don't call the maid in unless they are expecting guests. If you stumble on Casa Caletas at the last minute, as we did, you may not be able to enjoy those things that require the services of additional employees (such as the restaurant or a maid service). I, personally, did not find this to be much of a problem. Second, there is very little around Playa Coyote and Casa Caletas;' it is almost completely undeveloped, and it can take awhile to get to. If you want a beach all to yourself, to relax and focus on the natural beauty of Costa rica, this is the place for you. If you are looking for nightlife and action, sticks with Tamarindo or Montezuma. For my money, it's a great way to spend a couple of days.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JG7957
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Nicoya
0.0 mi away
Hotel El Regalo
Hotel El Regalo
#4 of 8 in Nicoya
23 reviews
3.9 mi away
Hotel Laguna Mar
Hotel Laguna Mar
#1 of 1 in Playa San Miguel
228 reviews
18.0 mi away
The Hideaway Hotel Playa Samara
The Hideaway Hotel Playa Samara
#1 of 16 in Playa Samara
833 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.3 mi away
El Sueno Tropical
El Sueno Tropical
#5 of 7 in Playa Carrillo
155 reviews
16.5 mi away
Hotel Peace & Lodge
Hotel Peace & Lodge
#2 of 7 in Playa Carrillo
33 reviews
12.2 mi away
Hotel Tropico Latino
Hotel Tropico Latino
#2 of 26 in Santa Teresa
552 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa Caletas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Caletas

Property: Casa Caletas
Address: Nicoya, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Guanacaste > Nicoya
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 8 Hotels in Nicoya
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Cancelon and Priceline so you can book your Casa Caletas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa Caletas Costa Rica/Nicoya

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing