We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Good rooms at the Playa Samara” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Casa Valeria Samara

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Nicoya
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hotel Casa Valeria Samara
Save
You added Hotel Casa Valeria Samara to your Saves list
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in Nicoya
Altdorf, Switzerland
Level Contributor
74 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Good rooms at the Playa Samara”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2012

Good value for money at the beach in the Samara village. Hammocks with the ocean-view, beach access, shared kitchen, coffee in the morning. Clean, well-maintained.

Room Tip: The rooms upstairs have AC and are slightly more expensive.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Mike M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

45 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    15
    19
    7
    4
    0
See reviews for
6
8
7
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Reading
Level Contributor
55 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2012

Great location, right on the beach front, next to a surf school. Easy walking distance to both restaurants and bars on the beach and in town.

Really pleasant, friendly and helpful staff.

Rooms are very basic, a room with beds, shelves, a bathroom with toilet, sink and shower but more than sufficient for what we needed. There's a big kitchen, with fridges, freezer, cooking job and utensils which is available for all residents to use. There's also outside tables which are nicely placed in the shade and was perfect for group breakfast and meals. There's also a number of hammocks, which are delightful to chill out in.

The other residents staying here were really friendly and had come back year after year (for the last 7!).

The rooms were $40 for a single room and $50 for a double, which I did think was a little overpriced, especially as there wasn't any air con in our room, however saying this I wouldn't hesitate to go back.

  • Stayed February 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LeahReading
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 29, 2012

This hotel was great value, right on the beach. Everything you need for a great weekend. Sun, surf, hammock, and a sushi bar next door.

Room Tip: On the beach, wifi.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Eleanore2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2012

Chilling in a hammock directly at the ocean, in the shadow of big palm trees, walking to a surfschool in 10 seconds, to a supermarket 30 mts. to get a cold beer. Comunal kitchen with a giant fridge. Where else do you have this? The prices of the rooms are really cheap considering this setting! The rooms look a bit worn and shabby, but they are cleaned very well every day. All the sand I carried into the room was removed every day. The people staying here are a nice mixture of open minded people. This is where I had the best time in Costa Rica! Staff is friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed January 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ThorstenS4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2011

Cheapest rooms I've seen that are on the beach ($25 per person)Short walk to restaurants/bars, bank, stores. Small rooms, but who wants to be in there room in CR anyway. Very friendly & helpful staff. Great lil place for the bargain adventurer.

  • Stayed May 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Staghawk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2006

We stayed at Casa Valeria for six nights. Wonderful location, beautiful garden with hammock, nice owners, really rude staff.
When we came back from breakfast after our first night, we noticed our room was just about to get cleaned; mop and bucket in front of the door. My husband has issues with artifical fragrances, pesticides and harsh cleaning chemicals. So I looked in the bucket and saw, among other things, two different kind of pesticides (the property is right on the ocean, during the rainy season everything is washed directly into the ocean!).

I asked Jose from the front desk to please not have our room cleaned. He acted insulted. I think he thought we had something to hide. After 3 days the lovely owner inquired why we don't want our room cleaned. My husband explained the issue and she instructed her cleaning person Sylvia to clean our room only with water. After that the cleaning person made a point to spray pesticides in the communal kitchen while we were cooking. She stopped saying "hi", came into the room to clean (with water) without knocking. One day, I was laying in one of the hammocks, a huge coco palm branch fell on my legs. One of my knees was badly swollen, the other bruised. Jose and Sylvia came out of the main house, whispered, pointed at me and smiled. On another day my husabnd wanted to make a phone call from the public pay phone by the front desk. When he picked up the receiver he heard the sound of a dial up modem. Jose looked up from his computer and asked annoyed:"Do you really need to make a phone call right now?).

I want to reiterate that the place is great and the owners lovely. Unfortunatly they left for vacation and after that the staff was almost unbearable (we were not alone with that opinion).
And the excessive use of pesticides, indoors, in eating areas, right on the ocean, in this time and age is simply irresponsible.

  • Stayed May 2006
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surrey, BC
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2006

Our stay at Casa Valeria was so enjoyable that after leaving to go Nosara for 2 nights, we came back to Valeria! The cabins are literally steps from the beach. The black guard dog has been replaced by 2 small Lhasa Apso type dogs. The communal (shared) kitchen works very well, & the coffee (delicious) is on all day, free of charge. Since the cabins are so close to the beach it is strongly advised to keep the cabin doors locked when you're not in the cabin. All in all, we loved it here.

  • Stayed January 2006
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
8 Thank sweetxoxsunshine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Nicoya
0.3 mi away
Hotel Belvedere - Playa Samara
Hotel Belvedere - Playa Samara
#2 of 15 in Playa Samara
4.5 of 5 stars 335 reviews
1.6 mi away
The Hideaway Hotel Playa Samara
The Hideaway Hotel Playa Samara
#1 of 15 in Playa Samara
5.0 of 5 stars 740 reviews
1.3 mi away
Hotel Villas Playa Samara
Hotel Villas Playa Samara
#9 of 15 in Playa Samara
3.5 of 5 stars 720 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
19.6 mi away
Casa Caletas
Casa Caletas
#2 of 8 in Nicoya
4.0 of 5 stars 37 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hotel Sol Samara
Hotel Sol Samara
#10 of 15 in Playa Samara
4.0 of 5 stars 193 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hotel Samara Pacific Lodge
Hotel Samara Pacific Lodge
#4 of 15 in Playa Samara
4.5 of 5 stars 359 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Casa Valeria Samara? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Casa Valeria Samara

Property: Hotel Casa Valeria Samara
Address: Samara Main Street | 200 m east from the Police Station on the Main Street, Nicoya 50205, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Guanacaste > Nicoya
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in Nicoya
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We have a great spot in front of the ocean. All our rooms have a private bathroom with hot water, a communal kitchen, in the downtown Samara so we are near all the stores you may need. We hope to see you soon in Samara. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Casa Valeria Hotel Nicoya
Hotel Casa Valeria Samara Costa Rica/Nicoya

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing