We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Costa Rica Transtours - Private Day Tours
Save
Review Highlights
Wonderful meal at Mama's house

We had a wonderful experience having a true home visit and authentic Costa Rican lunch during our... read more

Reviewed June 8, 2016
Elizabeth K
,
Marietta, United States
Best tours yet!!!

I lovedddddd being with this tour company! Rogelio and his wife were absolutely amazing and... read more

Reviewed May 20, 2016
ggil616
,
Maspeth, New York
via mobile
Read all 21 reviews
  
Reviews (21)
Filter reviews
18 results
Traveler rating
17
1
0
0
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
17
1
0
0
0
See what travelers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 10 of 18 reviews
Reviewed June 8, 2016

We had a wonderful experience having a true home visit and authentic Costa Rican lunch during our visit with them. The land, the people and food were wonderful and one of the best part of our vacation. Margarita could not have been more friendly and wonderful cook. You will not leave there empty or hungry!

Thank Elizabeth K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 20, 2016 via mobile

I lovedddddd being with this tour company! Rogelio and his wife were absolutely amazing and professional! We were picked up on time and as we drove in an air conditioned van his wife told us a bit about the country and about some sites we passed. She also joined us in the zip lining and tour through Rincon de la Vieja, Vandara Hot Springs & Adventure. After they took us to their home for some fresh squeezed cane juice and aloe plant for my sun burn. Super great family!! Felt like I was home!! Next time I'll make sure to get some of mama's cooking!!!

Thank ggil616
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 3, 2016

Rogelio was terrific
Great service with great cars
We took several transport while in Costa Rica and these guys were the best by far

Thank Mannygator
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 13, 2016 via mobile

We visited Costa Rica feb 2016 . Of course we were looking for the real deal. The true home made Costa Rican meal. And we found it . We were recommended by Lar Transportation to visit Mama's House . A family owner home made organic meal closed to our hotel ( Riu Guanacaste).
We eat land . Pork, chicken , rice , beans. Soup ( sopa de carne) ( Gallo pinto ) natural juice . (Guarapo de caña ) Coffe and much more and the price was the best $15 per person . Best deal ever. If u visit Guanacaste you must stop by Mama's house ask any employee at your hotel or your transfer company to book a trip to mama's house . Maite , Rachel , nancy , Ray, Oscar and Alex

Thank Maite H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 13, 2016 via mobile


I recommend Mama's house to anyone. This is a very known family house where they cook for those upon request the best Costarican food . If u go to Costa Rica you must visit Mama's house .
Thanks to Rogelio and his wonderful family and William for the wonderful time we had. Rogelio also does transportation to and back to airport and also private tours. HIGHLY RECOMMEND....

Thank 232rachelv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 2, 2016

Rogelio Campos and Maria (who are soon to be married) were the friendliest and most knowledgeable tour guides on our two day outtings. Both spoke excellent English and were fun to be with. It was obvious how much they love their country. They accomodated all of our requests and made sure we saw and did everything we wanted to do. The white water rafting was the highlight of our trip to Costa Rica and when we visit this beautiful country again we will most definitely book a tour with them. Everything was perfect and it was so much fun touring the country with our two guides. I highly recommend this company--excellent service, economical and friendly guides!

Thank Denise B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 13, 2015 via mobile

This was the highlight of our trip. Very courteous and attentive. Always punctual. Very friendly. Will use next time we are there.

Thank Michael F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 10, 2015 via mobile

A plus rating to Rogelio and his crew
They really are top notch. They made anything happen. Please feel free to use them for anything whenever

Thank Farrah G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 28, 2015 via mobile

I feel so happy to make this tour with costarica transtours we make VANDARA tour is a amazing tour the food is amazing the best is the transportation and the tour guides and the driver rogelio thanks some much for make everything so special for my friends and me I recommend you for have all day to make or visit wonderful PURA VIDA !!!

Thank Mari Jo J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 22, 2015

Rogelio and Carlos are both great guides and do their best to make you feel comfortable, all with a good sense of humor. Carlos has an impressive knowledge of nature and the various animals and plants within it. Would definitely recommend. A++++

Thank Luis C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews