We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great local seafood well prepared”

Restaurante Tierra Mar
Ranked #1 of 82 Restaurants in Liberia
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Peruvian, Latin, Seafood, Soups, South American, Central American, Costa Rican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Local cuisine, Business meetings, Families with children, Kids, Romantic, Large groups
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Ciudad Quesada, Alajuela, Costa Rica
Level Contributor
60 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Great local seafood well prepared”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 31, 2013 via mobile

Easy to find 2 blocks from park downtown. Very accommodating staff but limited English. Chef Diego greeted us personally, discussed menu and offered alternatives. Ultimately we settled on an off menu dish of fried red snapper, sautéed jumbo shrimp with clams and muscles in garlic butter sauce accompanied by the best patacones I've had in Costa Rica. It was all wonderful. Service was a little slow but personal attention, food and atmosphere made up for it.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank Michael C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

242 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    174
    49
    13
    3
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Excellent Seafood Restaurant”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 12, 2013

We were looking for a nice place to eat seafood. Thanks too TripAdvisor we found Tierra Mar. The place was really simple, but the food was amazing. Due to the fact that we do not speak Spanish we had a little hard time to communicate with the waiter, however, the owner Diego came to rescue us :) He recommended us very tasty fruity drinks to start. Then he offered soup just to let us survive till main course. Since everything on the menu looked so tasty and we could not decide what to order, Diego recommended to make a special dish just for us. The fish with different types seafood inside was amazing. He definitely knows how to mix and match different tastes. We really recommend to visit that place if you like seafood. Just say want you wish to eat and they will make it for you.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Gosia S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NJ
Level Contributor
146 reviews
63 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
“Amazingly Fresh Seafood!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 15, 2013

Great seafood restaurant in the center of Liberia. Great ceviche -- we tried fish and La Huerta, which includes 5 types of ceviche. The steamed red snapper with ginger was amazing, fish filet al ajillo was also great. Great atmosphere - used to be an ice cream parlor - with outdoor or indoor sitting. The staff was very friendly and accommodating. This has to be one of the freshest red snappers I ever had and well prepared. Will have to go back to try other dishes!!!....highly recommend this restaurant!!! -- EXCELLENT value.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank LoveToTravelNJ63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Garden Bay, Canada
Level Contributor
20 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Great food, friendly staff”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 19, 2013

My husband and I found ourselves in Liberia with a few hours to spare before our shuttle arrived, and Tierra Mar had been recommended to us by the owners of our hotel. We weren't disappointed - the food was fresh and expertly prepared - I had a huge salad of fresh vegetables, dressed lightly, and my husband had some of the best calamari he's ever tasted.. We sat under a canopy during the passing rainstorms and watched the city go about its daily life. Then Diego, the owner, introduced himself and spent a good few minutes talking about his plans for expanding this new establishment. He's built it from nothing over the past few months and plans to do even more, to make it The Place to eat in Liberia. When I asked if we could pay to use his phone to contact the shuttle company in San Jose, he handed it over, refusing any payment. Then he brought us a sample of a drink made of fresh fruit and ginger - wonderful! We hope to repeat the experience soon.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank BluffHollow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
La Fortuna de San Carlos, Costa Rica
2 reviews
“Great, Great, Great Fresh seafood, friendly good service. Good Prices.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 24, 2013

My wife and I are in Costa Rica for vacation, and heard about a festival in Liberia, a 30 minute drive from the coast where we were staying. We walked the streets of the festival, and asked a local where a good seafood restaurant was, and they told us it was the Tierra Mar. So we decided to go. We were greeted by the owner Diego, who spoke excellent english. He told us he had been open for three months, and told us about his fresh seafood, and that he made trips 3 times a week to the fishing village in Puntarenas to pick up his fresh fish, My wife and i were treated to a seafood platter, of fish, shrimp, clams, lobster...... It was presented beautifully, and it was delicious. The portion size was amazing, Too much for two people. I would definitely, eat there again.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank AndyMain123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Restaurante Tierra Mar also viewed

Liberia, Province of Guanacaste
Liberia, Province of Guanacaste
 
Liberia, Province of Guanacaste
Liberia, Province of Guanacaste
 

Been to Restaurante Tierra Mar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing