We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An authentic CR treasure with such warmheartedness nowhere else to be found now a days!”
Review of Hotel Javy

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Liberia
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hotel Javy
Ranked #2 of 13 Hotels in Liberia
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 5, 2013

My husband and I stayed one night at this hotel in March (2013). We had come from the beach in Guanacaste and just stayed one night because we had to take the plane back to EU from Liberia at an insanely early hour the next day (about 4.00 A.M.).

We arrived at night and were warmly greeted with fresh fruit (the best on earth - and I am from Latin America so I know what I am talking about) and such warmheartedness: it felt like we were coming home to our own family. Our room was big, bed huge, everything super clean. I am extremely picky with cleanliness and I had not one bit to complain about. The bedroom had airconditioning which was great after a little too much sun. We also had a great TV (which I dont usually need in CR) which was a nice distraction from my sadness of having to leave the next day.

The town center is just 10 -15min away. My husband and I walked through the barrio (neighbourhood) to the center and went out to eat. The neighbourhood feels authentic, safe (as a Latina I always have my eyes open for safety), with locals playing football, dogs running around the dusty roads, kids playing around ... it felt just how it should - not artifical, just natural.

When we got back late from dinner we were asked if we wanted breakfast the next day and we said "no,no" because the next day we had to leave much too early. We were insisted upon and I cannot tell you: we had the most amazing, HUGE, breakfast ever at that hour!! We were served freshly made smoothies (with that AMAZING fruit they have!!) and had the typical, but OH MY LORD - tasty casado-plate with rice and beans, the best plantains, eggs (as one wished), bacon, saussages , more fruit, toast... it was amazing. I was also so happy with them at Javy, I was in tears when we left... I cannot tell you the heartwarming feeling we had there...I felt like hugging the lady.

I have never felt such warmth with such uniqueness..and I have travelled to so many countries around the world. I felt like hugging everyone there.

The hotel itsself is sweet and full of green plants that one can see are taken care of with such love. The price is incredibly low (and as a young family we are on a tight budget) for great quality which is hard to find anywhere now a days!

I will never forget the one night here at Hotel Javy - finally a hotel in Costa Rica that trully reflects the slogan of the country "Costa Rica - with no artifical ingredients"

We wish Hotel Javy and its family as well as all future guests all the best.
The warmest greetings from Switzerland!

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Catracha-Tica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (333)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

243 - 249 of 333 reviews

Reviewed July 25, 2013

We stayed at Hotel Javy twice (each time for two days) during our 5 week journey through Costa Rica. The first time we stayed there, we knew little to no Spanish, but everyone was so kind and welcoming that it didn't even really matter that we didn't speak the same language. The joy and warmth of the people who work there translates to all languages. Isabel, Carla, and Juan will pretty much do anything to make sure you are as comfortable and happy as you can be. For us, that included practicing Spanish with us and being saint-like in their patience as we struggled to get out sentences and words. When we came back to Hotel Javy after our 4 week study of Spanish, we were able to communicate a little bit better. Each time we stayed, the food was super delicious, the rooms spacious and clean, the atmosphere peaceful and relaxing, but it's very much the people that make this hotel. Some of the highlights from our stay were: knocking mangoes off of the tree with a giant stick, walking through town one morning with Isabel, meeting Carla's daughter, playing Go Fish (or Va a Pescar) with Isabel, and chatting with Javier via Skype. I can tell you, it was such a relief for my parents to know that I had found a family in Costa Rica.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Teresa V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 20, 2013

We stayed at hotel Javy for 3 nights during our trip. The place is fantastic and Carla does everything with a huge smile! The room was comfortable and clean, smelled nice. Breakfast is huge, always served with a fresh smoothie (the mango one is to die for!). We had dinner over there twice as it was so cheap (4$ per person!) and also huge. Food is a little greasy but for the price we can't complain much. The town is at a walkable distance (10-15min) and we enjoyed sitting on the church steps in front of the park in the evening, watching the crowd. Rincon de la Vieja is a 40min drive so we went there twice, once for the Hacienda Guachipelin's hot springs and another day for a big long hike (the 3 waterfalls one. Be aware, it climbs steeply for 2km!).
Overall, we loved our stay at hotel Javy! True costa rican experience for so cheap!

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Irene514
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 17, 2013

Traveled through Liberia visiting friends in the area and had a great stay. Carla could not have been more sweet and inviting! I speak Spanish so I had a great conversation with her and as everyone says, her smile is so warm and genuine. She just puts you in a good mood with that smile and her hospitality. She arranged taxis for me and made me feel at home. Great fruit, incredible breakfast, wonderful service, comfy and clean rooms, fantastic all around. Just wished I had more time to spend here. Will absolutely stay here every time I am back in town.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Carly A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 14, 2013

For those on a budget this is the best place to stay if you want the experience of real Costarisense hospitality. Carla always had a ready smile and genuinely aims to please. Isabel, owner, was laid up post surgery but hobbled out of her apt to meet with a few of her guests. Victor, the night guard was as delightful. Truly salt of the earth people.

The rooms are spotless and the bed was extremely comfortable. Had a little trouble getting the hot water to flow but eventually did. Do take care of slippery tile in shower/bath floors. A lovely wooden rancho offers an outdoor area with comfortable chairs and couch. Aside from shots of mangos falling on the tin roof, it's a relaxing space in this small property.

Simple yet large tasty meals - breakfast comes with room; dinner can be arranged in advance and served between 6 and 6:30 for only $4! Taxi fee is approx. ¢1,000 ($2USD) to town.

With future trips to Liberia, returning to Hotel Javy will be like coming home.

Room Tip: As a single traveler, room 215 with a double and single bed was more than spacious.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RebeCR_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 14, 2013

I traveled to Liberia solo, speaking no Spanish. Karla with Hotel Javy arranged for me to be picked up from the airport when i arrived. every thing went smooth! when i arrived at the hotel, i was greeted with a lovely smile (Karla) and much food (incredible)! there is wifi on the property, so i used google translator to communicate with Karla. again, no problems. she even negotiated a price with a cab company she trusts and probably saved me around $100 on a four hour+ cab ride to an area i needed to visit. her dinners were incredible as well, as my next destination was tamarindo, and her food was as good as any i had there. she makes the place feel homey and i had a great experience there for two nights!

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Trey C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 12, 2013

Me and my family of 6 just stayed at Hotel Javy for two nights on July 9 and July 10. The staff was incredibly hospitable and gracious; especially Karla and Isabella. Even the security guard (Victor) was spot on; he kept updating me on the CR vs Cuba futbol score.

The food was home cooked and wonderful; especially the breakfast. I highly recommend this hotel when you're staying in Liberia.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lownotz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Liberia hotels
7.7 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Liberia Airport
2.1 mi away
Las Espuelas Hotel
Las Espuelas Hotel
#3 of 13 in Liberia
189 reviews
1.6 mi away
Best Western El Sitio Hotel & Casino
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Boyeros Hotel & Conference Center
1.4 mi away
Hotel El Bramadero
Hotel El Bramadero
#4 of 13 in Liberia
82 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Rincon del Llano
Hotel Rincon del Llano
#11 of 13 in Liberia
79 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Javy? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Javy

Address: Barrio Moracia 200 Norte del IPEC, Liberia 50101, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Guanacaste > Liberia
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 13 Hotels in Liberia
Price Range: $36 - $80 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Javy is one of the hotels in Liberia. Our attractive is our personal service and the quality of our rooms. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Hotel Javy Costa Rica/Liberia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing