We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Rustic..but worth stopping a night (or two)”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Javy

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Liberia
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hotel Javy
Ranked #1 of 16 Hotels in Liberia
Certificate of Excellence
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Rustic..but worth stopping a night (or two)”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 7, 2013

We were looking for a hotel to stay in for one night after a late arrival into Liberia. I emailed the hotel to make a reservation (I used google translate to write the email in both Spanish and English) and got a reply within 2 days, confirming our reservation and offering to send a taxi to the airport to pick us up. Taxi driver was there, as promised, with a sign with our last name on and charged the quoted $16. I'm glad we didnt try and drive ourselves there in the dark..there are very few street signs in Liberia. During our entire stay we were treated with such hospitality! On arrival we given a few mins to settle into our room and then invited to sit in the outside courtyard for Cas ( a local fruit drink) and fresh fruit. As a family of 2 adults and 2 teens we had a room with 3 doubles and a single. It was adequate..but more importantly clean (and bug free). There were some issues with low water pressure in the bathroom faucet, but that seemed to be just fine in the morning. The breakfast was amazing! One of the best meals we had in Costa Rica! If you are looking for five star Marriott accommodations, don't stay at the here . However, if you are looking to support a local business and don't mind trying your best to speak Spanish (our knowledge of the language is shamefully barely middle school introductory level) then this is the place! we felt safe and welcomed. A great start to an amazing vacation.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pauline M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

325 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    230
    75
    12
    7
    1
See reviews for
86
137
23
19
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (56)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Marietta, Georgia
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 5, 2013

Isabella and Carla....the hardest working duo with the brightest smiles and the most incredible ability to make you feel like you are the most important people on earth. Delicious food, comfortable rooms, close to everything and at a price that shock even the biggest bargain hunter. A truly wonderful experience....and did I mention the banana tree right in the courtyard that provides for anytime snacking? Never tasted such delicious "fruita"

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Connie L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waterloo, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 2, 2013

I was in Costa Rica early June. I did a road trip of the northern part of the country and stayed in many places. By far Hotel Javy had the best service I have ever had in any country and Costa Rica itself. The warm welcoming, the plate of fruit, and rooms were great. The rooms are not a 5 star but they are great, but they are not a dive. They offer your standard stuff and clean. We came back to Hotel Javy before flying out as we enjoyed it that much.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ELarin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oklahoma City, Oklahoma
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 1, 2013

In preparing to go to Liberia, I read many hotel reviews. The reviews for Hotel Javy seemed too good to be true, but I decided to give it a try. The reviews were very accurate! It was amazing!!! Isabel, the owner, is so precious and friendly, and she is the best hostess I have ever met! We were greeted with a wonderful plate of fruit and mango juice when we arrived and also enjoyed a delicious dinner and the free full breakfast! Isabel has limited English, but that worked well for us to practice our limited Spanish with her before we went to a Spanish language school in Samara. Although we only stayed 2 nights, by the time we left, we felt like Isabel and her staff were family! It was also a great value--we had a room for 3 and the cost was only $65 a night (including breakfast). The room was clean and spacious, but not overly fancy. We had air conditioning and warm showers. Also, when I made my reservation, Javier offered to have a taxi meet us at the airport at a reduced cost. After a long trip, it was so wonderful to have a taxi driver waiting with a sign to take us to Hotel Javy. Fantastic experience!!!!!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pam A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA
Level Contributor
24 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 21, 2013

I didn't have much to do in Liberia, except wait for my flight back. So it was either staying somewhere in town, or next to the airport. Well, the price next to the airport does not make much sense... So I picked this place in the city.
Well, in the city, but far from the city center or the shopping center (unless you have a car). Note that the bing-tripadvisor map shows the wrong location of this hotel - it is actually in the north-west end of the city, not far from the hospital. I felt safe in the hotel and around, so I would not worry about it.
Aside from the relatively remote location, this is a very good hotel: the staff is extremely friendly and welcomes everybody with fruits and juice free of charge. They speak almost no English, but they were extremely patient with my little Spanish and everything worked out fine.
They serve dinner for a reasonable price (which is good, since there are no restaurants in walking distance), and breakfast - and food is good.
The rooms are spacious, modern and clean. There is hot water all day long, and the wifi is decent.
They offer a taxi service to the airport for 15 USD, which seems to me a great price for about 25 minutes ride.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WhiteSlope
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
4 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 9, 2013

We arrived at Hotel Javy around 9 pm after arranging for a taxi from the airport in Liberia. Despite the late hour, the proprietor had platters of delicious fruit waiting for the four of us and then, after we settled in to our room, made a full course dinner of wonderful, homemade Costa Rican specialities. We slept well in our air conditioned room and then was treated to an equally fantastic breakfast before setting out to the Nicoya Peninsual the next morning. We were sorry to leave!

Travelers should be aware that, although Isabel's son Javier has excellent English skills and can communicate (including setting up taxi's etc) via email, he is actually studying overseas. Isabel and the other staff speak only Spanish--which for us added to the enjoyment. Also, the showers are Costa Rican, not American (not in a separate room, don't necessarily drain great, etc)

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank betsa122
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 7, 2013

Wow, what a little gem of a property. Don't get me wrong, this is not a luxury hotel but for the price it's one of the best values I've ever found.

We flew into Liberia about 8:30, got the rent car and then wandered around Liberia for 30 minutes looking for the hotel. It was dark, first time in new city so things felt a little sketchy as we were stopping and asking for direction from strangers on the street. Everyone was helpful and friendly and we finally found the place.

The opened the gate for us and we parked the car inside the courtyard. It was now 10pm at night. The owner's wife prepared a huge plate of fruit for us and fresh Mango Juice. She was so friendly and accommodations. I think they had been waiting up just for us.

We sat under the outdoor pergola covered in ferns and ivy's enjoying our first taste of Costa Rica food and hospitatlity.

Our room was very clean, it even smelled clean. The shower water was cool, not hot but it felt refreshing after traveling all day. The room a/c was cold, the beds were nice enough and the small hotel wave very quiet.

We had to leave very early the next morning so the owner's wife once again was up at 5am cooking us a HUGE breakfast and making smoothies. When I settled the bill I couldn't believe it was all included in the low $50 rate I'd been quoted over email before arriving.

It was so refreshing to not feel like someone was taking advantage of your or nickel and diming you... I actually felt like the owners at Hotel Javy were going out of their way to see how much service and value they could cram into our 8 hour stay.

I don't necessarily recommend staying in Liberia just for fun, but if you have a late or early morning flight and need a hotel in town, don't stay anywhere but here.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wavecation
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Liberia hotels
7.7 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Liberia Airport
2.1 mi away
Las Espuelas Hotel
Las Espuelas Hotel
#3 of 16 in Liberia
3.5 of 5 bubbles 183 reviews
1.4 mi away
Boyeros Hotel & Conference Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
BEST WESTERN El Sitio Hotel & Casino
0.0 mi away
Hotel Rincon del Llano
Hotel Rincon del Llano
#14 of 16 in Liberia
3.5 of 5 bubbles 76 reviews
1.4 mi away
Hotel El Bramadero
Hotel El Bramadero
#4 of 16 in Liberia
3.5 of 5 bubbles 78 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Javy? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Javy

Property: Hotel Javy
Address: Barrio Moracia 200 Norte del IPEC, Liberia 50101, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Guanacaste > Liberia
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 16 Hotels in Liberia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Javy is one of the hotels in Liberia. Our attractive is our personal service and the quality of our rooms. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Hotel Javy Costa Rica/Liberia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing