We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Kind & Caring”
Review of Hotel Javy

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Liberia
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hotel Javy
Ranked #2 of 13 Hotels in Liberia
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 23, 2013

From the airport pickup & drop off, to the food & room, everything was taken care off & friendly. We met our driver at the airport after a long day of traveling & took us straight to the hotel. We were welcomed at the hotel, shown our clean room, and offered a tasty fruit plate as a late night snack! Breakfast the next morning was delicious before we set off for Arenal. During our week in CR, we looked forward to returning to Hotel Javy for our last night before flying out. Our reception back was again warm and friendly, to a clean room and a great dinner. The attention and smile of Javier's mother is amazing! Recommended!

Room Tip: All set within the green trees & A/C if needed.
See more room tips
Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
2  Thank VaMarc2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (335)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

281 - 287 of 335 reviews

Reviewed February 16, 2013 via mobile

Extremely helpful and friendly service, good local fresh food. The breakfast portion sizes were very generous. Clean room with air conditioning and hot shower. Great place to stay if you're passing through Liberia. They will also help with airport pick ups. No worries here.

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank juicybig
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 10, 2013

We are hoping to stay here our last night in Costa Rica but cannot find contact information. Can anyone help us with information how to book this hotel or contact them? It has great reviews and we would really love to stay here.

Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
2  Thank Nicole C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Javier R, Manager at Hotel Javy, responded to this reviewResponded February 23, 2013

Hi thanks for your review. if you would like to contact us you can send us an email to info@hoteljavy.com.

Best Regards,
Hotel Javy

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 24, 2013

Do not expect Hotel Javi to look like the photo, but expect a very decent room and great personal service. If you notice most of the reviews of this place, they almost all start telling how wonderful it was to be given a plate of fresh fruit when they arrived. The ratings seem to be based on that friendly service, which I also got. The hotel is located on a back unpaved street far on the edge of Liberia. The front of the complex consists of broken pavement. The room has somewhat aged furnishings. (The bedspread needs airing.) So it is truly the service that makes this a better than normal place. The mother, son, and female employee who run the place are truly outstanding people. They will take care of you like you are their own family. The son is in Europe for two years, but you will meet him and converse with him via Skype several times while there. The included breakfasts are very nice. Take the offer of the home cooked meals for only $4. They are a better value than you will get in town.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dansktex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 24, 2013

I stayed here for one night in January for my flight out of Liberia the next day. Hotel Javy is an inexpensive family-run hotel located far from the city center, but it is well-equipped with comfortable rooms, fast wifi, and air conditioning. It's the perfect stopover for one night.

The service is outstanding. The hotel is managed by the owner Javier (who is currently studying abroad in Scotland), and his mother Isabel, who is a fantastic cook. The super nice housekeeper Carla also helps you with whatever requests you might have.

Lunch or dinner costs $4 -- so cheap compared with the rest of the country! I had a great chicken and rice for dinner. Breakfast is complimentary and includes gallopinto, eggs, and fresh juice.

Isabel and Carla speak almost no English, so it helps to speak at least a little Spanish. Javier is only a Skype call away if you have further questions. Isabel helped me arrange a taxi to the airport the next day ($14, cheaper than any other taxi out there).


EN ESPAÑOL:
Quedé aqui por una noche en enero por mi vuelo en el aeropuerto de Liberia la próxima día. Hotel Javy es un hotel economico que propiedad de un familia local. Está lejos del centro ciudad, pero tiene habitaciones cómodos, Internet rapido, y aire acondicionadores. Es perfecto por una noche.

El servicio fue excepcional. Los dueños son Javier (quien esta estudiando en Escocia) y su madre Isabel, quien es un cocinera estupenda! La limpiadora Carla es muy simpatico y puede ayudarse con sus preguntas.

Las comidas son $4 o 2000 colones -- que barato por esto pais! Comí un bueno arroz con pollo. Desayuno es gratis y incluyo huevos, gallopinto, y jugos frescos.

Isabel y Carla hablan casi no ingles, pero si ustedes pueden leer esta revista, no tendrán problemas! Un taxi por el aeropuerto es $14 o 7000 colones.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tinynancer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 23, 2013

I would like to inject a bit of reality to the reviews stating this is the best hotel people stayed in in Costa Rica, its close to the airport etc. I agree that the staff are wonderful, kind, helpful people and we enjoyed their company and efforts. BTW if you don't speak Spanish you will have to deal over the phone with the English speaking owner. (or manager...I'm not sure) he is very helpful but it isn't exactly convenient The rooms are very basic, with old furnishings but clean. Although we didn't have the breakfast I'm sure it would be fine.
BUT, this hotel is located on the far side of Liberia, further from the airport and beaches than any other Liberia hotels I am aware of. It is off the main track, on a gravel road and not easy to find. It is surrounded by wire fencing and a gate; the fencing is topped with razor wire. It is definitely not the better part of town. We travelled to several areas and stayed in several hotels in CR and this was the only one where we were a bit uncomfortable with the surroundings.
It was cheap and we only needed one night before catching a flight, and booked it because of the great reviews on Tripadvisor. To be honest had we known what the hotel was really like and where it was located we would have spent an additional $20 and stayed at one of the hotels nearer Hwy #1 and the Airport Hwy.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Cancus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 18, 2013

My boyfriend and I stayed at Hotel Javy on our way back to Edmonton AB, Canada from Liberia, Costa Rica. We arrived at the hotel around 9pm and the owner was very welcoming and pleasant. She made us a great dinner for a small price that also included fresh fruit juice. Our room was very clean, the air conditioning worked perfectly, fast wifi and plenty of hot water in the morning. We flew out early in the morning and the owner of Hotel Javy was able to get us a taxi to take us to the airport.
All in all, we had a great experience at Hotel Javy and I highly recommend it to anyone looking for a good and inexpensive hotel in Liberia.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank FranR0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Liberia hotels
7.7 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Liberia Airport
2.1 mi away
Las Espuelas Hotel
Las Espuelas Hotel
#3 of 13 in Liberia
195 reviews
1.4 mi away
Hotel El Bramadero
Hotel El Bramadero
#4 of 13 in Liberia
84 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Best Western El Sitio Hotel & Casino
1.4 mi away
Boyeros Hotel & Conference Center
4.9 mi away
Hotel Santa Ana
Hotel Santa Ana
#12 of 13 in Liberia
57 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Javy? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Javy

Address: Barrio Moracia 200 Norte del IPEC, Liberia 50101, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Guanacaste > Liberia
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 13 Hotels in Liberia
Price Range: $36 - $80 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Javy is one of the hotels in Liberia. Our attractive is our personal service and the quality of our rooms. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Hotel Javy Costa Rica/Liberia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing