We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good deal for the price and close to the airport”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Boyeros Hotel & Conference Center
Ranked #6 of 13 Hotels in Liberia
Reviewed July 23, 2013

The room was decent and clean. The air conditioner had a remote control and was very quiet for sleeping. The safe in the room had a lock that you get to choose the code for and it was free. It has a big pool and a smaller kiddie pool. There were some nice trees on the pool deck so nice shade for sitting by the pool. It was a good place to stay for our early morning flight out. The hotel staff are all nice and helpful. They booked us our ride to the airport in the early morning hours and the cab they called was even a few minutes early to pick us up. You are within walking distance to a bunch of fast food restaurants and other shops.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sherry L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (216)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

72 - 78 of 216 reviews

Reviewed July 4, 2013

Room was old and dingy looking. The shower was like a mouse peeing in your foot. Water didn't even come away from the wall far enough to wet your head. The water in the Jacuzzi was cloudy, I wouldn't go in. The pool had green mold on the bottom. I expected more from the reviews it got. The grounds are very nice, they just need to work at it. I will try something else next time. It was safe and at a really good location but not worth the price. Look out for the mosquitos at night.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank allpartoftheadventur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 27, 2013

We showed up without a reservation, and they had plenty of rooms, the rate they gave us was higher than the internet rates, and they wouldn't honor the discount rates online. It was a convenient location, close to international bus stops. The room was okay, clean, but with many spots on the walls that had been patched, where they moved light fixtures and enchufes. The water in the shower was so weak, it was difficult to shower, let alone wash your hair. The jacuzzi was covered in mold, so we didnt go in, and the pool was quite cloudy and murky (although nicely decorated). For the price paid, I would try a different hotel.

Room Tip: get a room away from the highway
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank americangirl61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 20, 2013

This is a great place to start and/or end your Costa Rican vacation! It is in the heart of Liberia within walking distance to everything you could possibly need (grocery, pharmacy, restaurant, souvenir shops, banks, etc.)

Each room has it's own programmable A/C. The rooms were large, clean and had comfortable bedding. The wifi is good throughout the property. The shower was hot and had excellent water pressure. The grounds are beautifully maintained and include a pool and jacuzzi. Breakfast is included in the price of the room and was delicious. Service in the restaurant and at the front desk was fantastic. The property is gated and has a night security guard.

I had a very early flight out and needed to check out of my room at 4:30 a.m. -- even though the front desk is closed at that time, the restaurant is open 24 hours and someone was able to check me out there and also called a taxi for me.

The only downside is that one set of rooms backs up to a very busy street. I stayed on that side the first night and didn't get much sleep however my last night in Costa Rica I stayed on the other side and didn't hear any traffic.

I highly recommend Hotel Boyeros!

Room Tip: I like room 121 (and those nearby). Room 107 (and those nearby) are on the noisy street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Naganalf1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 5, 2013

We felt it was a good value for the money spent. The hotel felt very safe, the front desk staff spoke English, and although they had a problem with our reservation (they set aside two-person room for a family reservation) the front end clerks fixed it right away.

The hotel is old but as others mentioned, full of character. It is also seems to be favored by Ticos, we hardly heard any English while in the hotel, felt like "real" Costarican experience. We stayed there for a Rincon de la Vieja trip, and had to leave very early, so the staff packed breakfast for us, which was very nice.

Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
Thank Lucy L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 22, 2013

Having read the other reviews, most are pretty fair and none are untrue. Depending on your budget, expectations and how your head is screwed on after a day of traveling, this a 3 to 4 star experience.
We stayed here on a Friday, our first night in Costa Rica after an evening arrival at the airport. The area surrounding the hotel that night was very busy with a street festival very slowly winding down. We asked several locals what the fiesta was celebrating, and no one had any better idea than "Friday". There was a great deal of auto, foot, and horse traffic on the neighborhood streets. There were perhaps 200 cowboys, 2000+ people, 40 police, bandstands on the street, loud live and recorded music, street food and alcohol. Three of us walked through the festival for an hour after checking in, and did not feel unsafe, but it was loud...
On positive notes: The hotel is attractive, with lots of character and charm, but also older, a little tired, and there are not elevators. Our second floor rooms were fairly basic, but attractive and clean. The beds were comfortable and the A/C worked great. There is a free programmable safe in the room. Our rooms had balconies with comfy chairs overlooking the lovely, beautifully landscaped courtyard and pools; very relaxing with a cold refreshment after walking the festival. In the morning, the kids and grandkids thoroughly enjoyed the pool and the courtyard area before we all adjourned to the complementary breakfast in the adjoining restaurant just off the lobby Breakfast was very good, portions were more than sufficient, and the service was friendly. Have the casados, the national dish, which you will probably see on every menu in the country. Hotel staff were helpful and friendly, but not all spoke English any better than I speak Spanish. Our rental van was delivered to the hotel in the morning, and could be dropped off there, or at the airport, afterwards. Security is good. If you look closely, the hotel is in a bit of a compound surrounded by high block walls with razor wire on the back and sides. The front area has metal gates.

On the downside: The fiesta was loud, and there were horses every where...The hotel was quiet, but the fiesta could be heard by some of our party who left the balcony door open.... no problem with the doors closed and A/C on. If you look closely, the hotel is in a bit of a compound... Morning shower was very cool to cold, discouraging some from a morning shower. Our daughter said there was a beetle in the shower with her...There is no wi-fi, and the free internet computer for use in the lobby did not ever connect while we were there. The restaurant service was rather slow by US standards, which was disappointing on our first day in CR, but was perfectly predictable and expected by our second or third day in CR. Expect it, get used to it, get your head around it, change your expectations, there is a different pace to life there...

An important consideration: The lobby of the hotel is gated and closed from ~11 pm to ~ 7am. There is a security guard present to let guests in and out, but there was/is no desk clerk available. Uncertain whether the security guard speaks English. Seven of us arrived together, but we had three different departure times over 24 hours, one with a 7:15 am flight. Although we could have had the front desk call a taxi company for a 5 am pick-up the next morning, it would be problematic if the cab was not there.
Also, the short taxi ride from/to the airport was $20 per person. With these considerations in mind, for our last night in CR we stayed at the Hilton Garden Inn, which is more expensive, but fully staffed 24/7, 5 minutes from the airport, and has a free shuttle. For us, both hotels were good choices for different reasons and different days. I would them both.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GuinnesstheWheatie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 24, 2013

We stayed 2 nights at this place and it was great. Staff friendly and helpfull even if one time the lady at the frontdesk was not speaking english and my spanish is not so great. We tried to explain what we wanted and we understood each other. Breakfast is included and was taken at the restaurant near the lobby. Food was ok but not as good as we had in smaller hotels. Great pool, big room with king bed, frig, big shower with hot water and tv for some who want to watch some in their vacation, not for me!! Geat location with plenty of stores near by. Great gardens with a lot of trees.

Room Tip: Take a room upstairs for more privacy and a great balcony where you can sit and enjoy the garden
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Voyageuse4691
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Liberia hotels
6.5 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Liberia Airport
0.3 mi away
Best Western El Sitio Hotel & Casino
1.2 mi away
Las Espuelas Hotel
Las Espuelas Hotel
#3 of 13 in Liberia
189 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel El Bramadero
Hotel El Bramadero
#4 of 13 in Liberia
82 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel La Siesta
Hotel La Siesta
#10 of 13 in Liberia
31 reviews
3.7 mi away
Hotel Santa Ana
Hotel Santa Ana
#12 of 13 in Liberia
55 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Boyeros Hotel & Conference Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Boyeros Hotel & Conference Center

Address: Liberia 50101, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Guanacaste > Liberia
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 13 Hotels in Liberia
Price Range: $72 - $89 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Boyeros Hotel & Conference Center 3*
Number of rooms: 70
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Cheap Tickets and Hotwire so you can book your Boyeros Hotel & Conference Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Boyeros Hotel And Conference Center
Boyeros Hotel Liberia
Boyeros Hotel & Conference Center Costa Rica/Liberia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing