We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Giardini di Papagayo Resort”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Giardini di Papagayo Hotel
Ranked #13 of 16 Hotels in Liberia
Beamsville, Ontario
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Giardini di Papagayo Resort”
Reviewed April 9, 2007

We are a couple in our sixties and just got back from Liberia, Giardini de Papagayo Resort. (March 26th.-April 9th.
It is a small resort which we like, and it had many improvements in the last 6 months. Our room was nice with a view and a small balcony. (We paid for standard room but got one with balcony)
As everybody says, the people are wonderfully friendly and most speak some English. Our bartender Marvin, was great, he speaks good English and is very friendly. The drinks are made with fresh fruits, which was great, and the white wine was good too.
The food was fine, but not enough varieties in salads and deserts.
The fish was very good which was served with other meats everyday. There are many tours you can take, we took the ones from the hotel, Monteverde, Arenal, Paulo Verde, Canopy tour and Mega Combo tour, they were all very interesting and the lunches were very good on those tours.
The tourists at our resort were in all age brackets, more young people, I would say. I just wished that people would tip the waitresses and waiters a little more, we do tip at home but for some reason it's not done there.
We do plan to go to Costa Rica sometimes in the future, but probably in a different area. We don't repeat same places because there are so many places in the world to see.
We did enjoy Costa Rica very much and would recommend it to everyone.

Helpful?
2 Thank moonBeamsville
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

65 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    9
    18
    20
    11
    7
See reviews for
10
22
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Panama
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed March 7, 2007

Had a great time.Loved the resort.Service and room 4star.Food was good,but not a large selection. Randall was a great restuarant manager,Excellent customer service(Made me a special dish when I could not have seafood)Bartenders were great especially Milton.
NEGATIVES: Did'nt spray for sand fleas, no entertainment,burnt hotel garbage close to restaurant and lobby should have waited until after 10pm.There is not much to do at night after 530PM bar should be open later, did'nt always have snack foods.Since some of the villas are independly owned we had a problem with the owner showing our room without our permission as his villa was up for sale the hotel changed our room immediatly w/ a complimentary upgrade
Plus renta car was recommended by the hotel. Car rental was $50/day for 5 days which was paid, they also required a $900 deposit,which they submitted to Visa immediatly with no intent of returning it.We were told when the car was returned it would be ripped up but he did not have it w/him at the airport.To date deposit has still not been returned even after numerous calls to company and visa.SCAM!!

Stayed December 2006
Helpful?
7 Thank stevemcbuck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Hamphire USA
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed March 6, 2007

We arrived Saturday. On Sunday my wifes sneakers disapeared.
Monday AM we awoke to find we had been burglarized. Someone forced one of the sliders- not a difficult task. We lost a lot of stuff including a PASSPORT. We had to drive 5 hours to the US embassy in San Jose over terrible, dangerous roads. The managers at the hotel were of no help nor were the police. Lots of lip service but no action. The resort itself wasn't bad- beautiful beach, sunsets etc. but the robbery put a damper on the week. Same night another guest awoke at 4 AM to find a man going thru his luggage. The man escaped but nothing was stolen. This guy called security who showed up 2 1/2 hours later. Suggest using the lock box (which costs extra for a key) for valuables but we question how secure these are. Also put something such as a piece of 2x4 if you can find one to prevent sliding doors from being forced. A portable motion detector/ burglar alarm might also help you sleep.

Stayed March 2007
Helpful?
11 Thank Viddy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Liberia hotels

london
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed March 6, 2007

We were at this hotel in the dry season , so we didn't experience any of the lush surroundings we were expecting until we visited the rain forest. You have to go on excursions if you want aleviate any boredom. We had a bad experience when we rented a car from the hotel. We were told that insurance was covered in the price of the rental and were told to stow anything of value out of site behind the seats. We then took off for a trip down the coast to Playa Del Coco. When we got out of the car to go shopping we tucked our snorkelling equipment and my life vest also binoculars behind the seat as instructed. On returning to the vehicle (being harassed by a local for money along the way) we found all our equipment had been stolen. They had broken the lock on the drivers side to get in, and we think the gentleman that was bugging us was distracting us for a reason , because there are very few beggars in this region, which was a refreshing change from some islands we've been to. After reporting this problem to the hotel rep. and car rental gentleman we were informed that we had to pay for the broken lock as it wasn't covered by the insurance (evidently we didn't get the deluxe package, which we weren't aware of.) We also heard that some of the guests had their rooms broken into, so I dont know how good the security system is on the resort.
The staff are all friendly and were extremely appologetic but no attempt was made to recompensate for any losses. The language barrier may have had a little to do with lack of knowledge about the insurance. The locals do attempt to speak English but it helps if you take a Spanish / English phrase book with you. The food was basically the same every day in the buffet restaurant, just garnished and cooked a little differently each time. There was a little entertainment towards the end of our stay, but nothing organized on a regular basis. We got our exercise every day going up the hill to our room. We recommend to shuttle service for the non-energertic. Over all it was a pleasant stay if you're not looking for excitement, kids would be bored.

  • Liked — cleanliness
  • Disliked — size
  • Stayed February 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
7 Thank poppyLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chelmsford, Ontario
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed February 28, 2007

Just got back from a week's stay at the Giardini di Papagayo,CR..(Feb 19-26)..and although it took us a bit of getting used to at first ..(as we had gone the 4.5 and 5 stars route on our previous vacations elsewhere)..we found it to be quite suitable for what we wanted to do with ourselves, like get up in the morning,go eat..and spend the rest of the day loafing, swimming,sunning,more eating, drinking, sunning and swimming..etc., etc..you get the picture..:)

We booked last minute and as it was to be our first time in Costa Rica, we did some comparing between the Trip Advisor reviews of the El Nakuti and the Giardini resorts , (being the only two available by the last minute bookings at the time)..and chose the latter. Although we didn't walk over to the El Nakuti to see for ourselves, the one's who did (that we talked to) said the Giardini was the better of the two..and that the beach was nicer, but that's only opinion for you, right?

The three tours we went on were wonderful..Monteverde, Palo Verde, Liberia City...it Is a beautiful and scenic country on it's own.. although the realtors and developers seem to be working overtime to change things to suite their own ideas of "progress".

Anyway, if you want a smaller scale, simple place to go and just relax, get lots of sun,see lots of wildlife(especially on some of the tours available),and plain unwind..then I suggest the Giardini.

Next time we go, I would prefer to book a villa/suite because the standard rooms are quite small, really..with no patio/terrace..and next to no view, whereas the suites are on the oceanside and all.

A couple words of caution..when you leave the resort,Watch Your Stuff...some people we met had their snorkeling gear stolen from their rental vehicle even though the doors were locked and their gear was on the floor covered up...so make sure you park in a good spot.

secondly..Lock Your Doors..as in any country, maybe more
so in the third world ones..the criminal mind figures that if you can afford to go there, you must be quite well off indeed..The morning we were leaving, we'd heard that six rooms at the resort..(all with patio doors, apparently) had been broken into during the night and that people had stuff missing.

Of course I don't believe that Costa Rica has more than it's fair share of petty thieves than anywhere else in the world,including Canada.. but you need to keep track of things, wherever you go right?..Si..!...:)

So have fun and...Pura Vida..!

  • Liked — Smaller scale, meaning no lineups..lots of room to relax in
  • Disliked — Ho-hum attitude of girls working the front desk
  • Stayed February 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
6 Thank coold
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
markham
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed February 26, 2007

Just returned from a weeks stay at Giardini. Most of the other reviews cover our experience. My husband and I had the ocean suite while our girls had the oceanview room. As with other travellers, ours girls room initailly, above ours ,was only one double bed and not the room we booked, we quickly got them moved. Our suite was not spectacular (#47-4) but I saw other suites and they were much nicer, so if possible try for one in the 20's. Staff was wonderful and although their english is limited they do try and hey spanish is their native tongue so bring your spanish-english dictionary if you think it will be a problem!! We only have a limited spanish vocab picked up from other trips and had no problem finding someone to understand us.

This time of year is very hot so be prepared with lots of sunscreen (one day our car thermostat read 42c) and a hat or two. The beach and pool are lovely and quiet and a great place to read a book or magazine. No animation team as the other reviews have said but for some people that's a good thing and for us it was very peaceful. Mostly Canadians at the resort and because of it's size you are able to get to know people easily and the hotel staff also gets to know you. Bartenders are great and make the best drinks with fresh fruit and also do a great smoothie with just fruit, juice and ice!

We rented a car from Dollar who bring the car to the hotel if you rent for a week. For just over $300 US it was well worth it. Each afternoon we hopped in the jeep and headed to a different place. Liberia is an easy 20-30min drive and Playa Tamarindo an 1hr1/2 on some crazy roads but a great town to check out. The roads aren't bad at all for the most parts but even the bad ones are just another adventure (watch out for stray cows, horses, dogs!!!!). Also the jeep acted as a great addition to the shuttle when we felt like being lazy which was often!

I agree with what everyone has said about the sister property El Nakuti...we went for a drive and found ourselves there and stayed for a drink but that was it. You can have a meal there or hang out for the day but not too many people did.

The hotel is a good value for the money, we booked only a few weeks in advance and got a fair price.
Read the reviews, go with an open mind and enjoy all Costa Rica and the Giardini have to offer.

  • Liked — beach and pool
  • Disliked — food
  • Stayed February 2007, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
4 Thank hulagrl66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southern Ontario
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed February 16, 2007

My boyfriend and I booked last-minute and got a great price on this all-inclusive resort. All in all it was a great time. The food got rather repetative fast as lunch and dinner were almost identical. We have stayed at other all-inclusives before and this was by far the smallest buffet we've seen, but there are only 80 rooms here and maybe half were taken. Everything was edible, but there were only 6 hot plates, the first always had rice, the second always had veggies, usually broccoli and cauliflower and carrots, then 3 meats, then pasta. They also had buns and soup and salad and some fruit/dessert. Breakfast was nice as there was usually bacon/pancakes or french toast, an omelette chef, etc. They also offer snacks midday if you missed a meal or wanted something extra.
The room was nice and clean. We got the normal size room and it had no balcony and not an ocean view, but we were not in our rooms often enough to bother with the upgrade. The superior rooms had queen size beds and a small upper deck. The suites (which a couple we met got) had a full kitchen (no pots and pans though) a living area a king sized bed, a shower with tub and a backyard with private pool and a deck with chairs and table and overlooking the ocean. The suites were very nice. All of the rooms were in villas I think 5 different rooms per villa all set up on a hill. It was a very steep walk up/down but they offered a shuttle all day if you needed it. This is why we didn't stay in our rooms, they were far away from the main amenities.
There is NO entertainment at this resort so if you are looking for nightlife and don't want to leave the resort, this isn't for you. They did have free internet which was nice, and it is beachfront. The snorkelling was really nice right out front as there are some rocks, my boyfriend saw Baracuda, puffer fish, eels and a spotted eagleray.
The staff were very nice especially the bartenders. The bar is stocked and I think the only thing they don't have is rye. but it closes at 10ish.
We took the volcano tour and loved it, we had amazing views of the volcano, and we rented a car and went to Cocoa beach as well as Playa De Conchal (a seashell beach) definitely worth the drive.
All in all I do recommend this hotel for the price we paid and I want to go back to Costa Rica in the rainy season.
Oh yeah there are all kinds of howler monkies hanging around so keep your eyes peeled!

  • Liked — The location
  • Disliked — Food choice
  • Stayed February 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
4 Thank Janoro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Liberia hotels
0.0 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Liberia Airport
0.0 mi away
Las Espuelas Hotel
Las Espuelas Hotel
#3 of 16 in Liberia
3.5 of 5 bubbles 186 reviews
0.0 mi away
Best Western El Sitio Hotel & Casino
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Hotel Santa Ana
Hotel Santa Ana
#15 of 16 in Liberia
3.0 of 5 bubbles 53 reviews
0.0 mi away
Boyeros Hotel & Conference Center
0.0 mi away
Hotel Rincon del Llano
Hotel Rincon del Llano
#14 of 16 in Liberia
3.5 of 5 bubbles 76 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Giardini di Papagayo Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Giardini di Papagayo Hotel

Property: Giardini di Papagayo Hotel
Address: Playa Panama | Gulf of Papagayo, Liberia 26-1017, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Guanacaste > Liberia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 16 Hotels in Liberia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Giardini di Papagayo Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 80
Also Known As:
Giardini Di Papagayo Liberia
Giardini Di Papagayo Resort
Hotel Giardini Di Papagayo
Giardini Di Papagayo Costa Rica
Giardini Di Papagayo Hotel Costa Rica/Liberia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing