We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely view... super friendly staff!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Giardini di Papagayo Hotel
Ranked #13 of 16 Hotels in Liberia
toronto
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Lovely view... super friendly staff!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 10, 2008

extremely friendly staff. they don't say no to you regardless of what you ask for. we "thought" we don't have hot water and after a short phone call our room was upgraded from standard to the deluxe with ocean view and a king bed...

nothing to complain about really... it's a 3star hotel so adjust your expectations...

the food is good, the rooms are clean (the AC played games on us now and then), the 5 minute walk uphill or downhill is worth the view you get instead, free internet access (as well as free wireless) in the lobby, very nice and cozy pool, access to the beach (although we never used it), 15 minutes drive to Coco Beach

  • Liked — friendly staff/excellent view
  • Disliked — the AC sometimes didn't work properly
  • Stayed January 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
9 Thank the_guy_from_canada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

65 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    9
    18
    20
    11
    7
See reviews for
10
22
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 8, 2008

My friends and I, all in our mid to late 20s, stayed at this resort while in Costa Rica for the first week of 2008. Overall, the stay was excellent. First and foremost, the people are very very nice, from the
receptionists to the waiters, bartenders, and maid staff. Second, the hotel is beautiful. It is not a traditional hotel; it is made up of a bunch of villas (each with four rooms) on top of a hill. This gives it
a resort like experience, not to mention a fantastic view of the ocean, and if you don't enjoy walking up hill to your room, there is a
shuttle service available from 6 am to 10 pm everyday.

Now, I agree that the food was somewhat repetitive, however the quality was top notch, it was generally healthy, well prepared, and very satisfying. Breakfast is served from 6 am to 10 am, lunch from 11
am to 3 pm, snacks from 3 pm to 5:30 pm, and dinner from 6 pm to 10 pm. Try to show up early though, because usually by the end of each meal the food can be cold somewhat.

The rooms were very nice. There was an issue with our air conditioning
in one of the rooms, but the staff gladly changed the room for another
very quickly. The standard room had two queen beds, and the superior rooms had a king size bed. We didn't get a chance to see the suites, but they each have their own private swimming pool.

The swimming pool was very nice. The water temperature was excellent, and with the exception of some stray leaves, very clean. There was also ample lawn chairs available around the pool and closer to the ocean, contrairy to other reviews. They did look rather new though, so
perhaps it's a new addition. There is shaded area for you to sit by the pool, as well as ample space for sun tanners.

Overall, we throughly enjoyed our stay and would return again in a heartbeat.

PROS:
- great, caring, friendly staff
- beautiful view from the rooms, and the pool side
- clean, private beach very close by
- excellent swimming pool
- terrific food
- price! and absolute steal for all that you get!

CONS:
- the maid service sometimes forgot to give us new soap, so we had to get it from the front desk
- the shuttle service and bar close at 10 pm
- there are no activities at all at this hotel. Some may like this, but it would have been nice to have sometime going on at night after dinner.
- the music! for some reason, nothing latin!

On a final note, we booked 4 tours via the Central America Tours company rep that was at the hotel. A trip to Nicaragua, a canopy tour, a snorkling/sailing tour, and a white water rafting tour (our favourite). I highly recommend all of these tours, especially the last
one. Don't leave Costa Rica without doing some tours!!

PS Bring lots of bug spray! you'll need it!

  • Liked — The view, the scenary, the staff
  • Disliked — 10 pm shutdown of bar, shuttle bus, food services, lack of evening entertainment
  • Stayed January 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
17 Thank Canadian08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas
Level Contributor
67 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 124 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 2, 2008

My wife and I stayed here for 2 nights as part of a tour of Costa Rica. Overall the resort was quite disappointing although there were a couple of positive aspects to it..

Room – We had a ground floor room (504) which, in addition to the bedroom, had a kitchen and seating area. It was badly in need of some updating, especially the bathroom which was one the worst I’ve used at any hotel. I was astonished that they didn’t even provide us with a clean bathroom cup; instead we had to use an old water bottle that we had with us. The one somewhat positive item was the small private pool and beautiful view.
Food – Not good at all. Breakfast was okay with pancakes, fruit, yogurt and made to order eggs. Lunch and dinner were essentially the same bland foods over and over. I think that if we had stayed any longer than 2 days I would have gone crazy. Service was also very bad as there were rarely tables ready (even though there was ample staff and the resort wasn’t busy)
Activities – The resort shuts down at 10pm. I’m not a night owl but closing the bar at 10pm is too early even for me. Everything happening here is concentrated in the small area surrounding the decent pool. We were lucky enough to encounter the monkeys that inhabit the forest near the hotel, that was definitely a highlight.
Beach – The one positive. The water was very warm and clean. While one side is rocky the other is nice sand that continues to the far end of the bay.
Overall – The few positives (beach, nice hilltop views, beautiful sunsets) were not enough to make up for the negatives (rooms in need of updating & bad food)

  • Stayed December 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank David1009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Liberia hotels

New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 29, 2007

My husband and I stayed at Giardini di Papagayo Hotel for our honeymoon. What a disaster!!! The food was constantly recycled, from breakfast to lunch to dinner. There was butter floating freely in water and melting. Not a very good dining experience at all. Because the "restaurant" is outside, everyone was constantly being attacked by mosquitos, and every meal is buffet style.

We were also ripped off by our maid. We had a camera charger and battery taken from our room. We ended up switching rooms because there was mold all over the walls inside the room and all over the balcony, which we took plenty of video of (could not lean on balcony for fear of falling off, railing not bolted down) not to mention blood and other unknown fluids on the walls inside the room. My husband ended up becoming very ill after being forced to spend three nights in the room due to the mold in the ventilation - blowing out through the air conditioning - before we could finally be switched to another room. Also, every time we would take a shower, the bathroom flooded because there was no shower curtain.

The person who ended up with our old room also was ripped off by the maid. We approached management, there was no interest on their part and consequently nothing was ever done about the maid.

Our next room was a little better, although we overlooked massive construction that was going on right outside our room, that started at 6:00 a.m. every morning (so sleeping in was impossible) and stopped at dark.

They are very chincy with the towels and you will never see a washcloth in your room.

Don't plan on laying on the beach with a lawn chair, as there is only SIX beach chairs for the whole resort. There were plenty around the pool, but they were not allowed on the beach.

The only positives: the wait staff were wonderful, very accommodating and very friendly, and the view was spectacular.

We would never recommend this place to anyone.

  • Liked — The view
  • Disliked — the food
  • Stayed November 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank lovetotravel022
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingston, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 22, 2007

Hotel Giardini has a great location. The set-up is unusual in that the lobby, diningroom and swimming pools are located at the bottom of the hill while the guest rooms are located in various bungalows on the hill overlooking the bay. A shuttle bus runs back and forth connecting the the rooms with the central hub. The staff were wonderful; they were friendly and pleasant and went out of their way to provide good service and teach us Spanish. Our room was very basic, and we advise an upgrade if possible.
This is a great location from which to enjoy day tours We took three tours with Tour Your Way, a private company owned by Mainor Lara. We can recommend his tours with great enthusiasm. He went out of his way to accomodate us, provided great lunches, carried a supply of cold drinks in a cooler, and searched out wildlife to show us whenever possible. Stopping for photo ops was built into the tour. He added greatly to our knowledge of Costa Rica. Just search tours-your-way.com.

  • Liked — The pool and dining areas
  • Disliked — The very basic box of a room with two single beds
  • Stayed November 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
5 Thank eos2007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ninilchik, Alaska
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 17, 2007

Just stayed at the Giardini for 10 nights and found everything to be very clean. I'm not sure where this horrible staff was because everyone we meet was very helpful and always happy to please. We didn't have any problems with our reservations and our room (252) was very clean and new. The food was fine, sometimes the samething but it was always very flavorful. the bar tenders are great and the wait staff are wonderful. We were there to dive and I would higly reccomend Resort Divers. We've dove all over the world and they were the most profesional and very safty concious. there boats are top notch and very clean. Thank you to Pony and Pina for a very wonderful dive trip. Grace is very organized and everything was well put together for us. Will definatly return. Went to arenol and stayed at the Los logos WONDERFUL is all I can say. Loved Costa Rica and look forward to returning again. Bring bug dope you'll need it!! If you"re looking for a small quiet place to relax after a very busy day I would stay here again. If you're looking for a fancy 5 star go else where. Expect a few small problems but I wouln't let that damper your vacation, remember you get what you pay for this isn't a fancy place but clean, small and very friendly.

  • Liked — the view
  • Stayed November 2007, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
5 Thank farnorthdivers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burlington, Canada
Level Contributor
23 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 13, 2007

Great place to stay if you want to use as a base for day trips. Resort is very quiet, food and accommodation's are average. Marvin the bartender is terrific!

  • Liked — Great location for day trips
  • Disliked — Long steep climb to rooms
  • Stayed March 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
4 Thank mullen61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Liberia hotels
0.0 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Liberia Airport
0.0 mi away
Las Espuelas Hotel
Las Espuelas Hotel
#3 of 16 in Liberia
3.5 of 5 bubbles 184 reviews
0.0 mi away
BEST WESTERN El Sitio Hotel & Casino
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Hotel Santa Ana
Hotel Santa Ana
#15 of 16 in Liberia
3.0 of 5 bubbles 53 reviews
0.0 mi away
Boyeros Hotel & Conference Center
0.0 mi away
Hotel Rincon del Llano
Hotel Rincon del Llano
#14 of 16 in Liberia
3.5 of 5 bubbles 76 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Giardini di Papagayo Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Giardini di Papagayo Hotel

Property: Giardini di Papagayo Hotel
Address: Playa Panama | Gulf of Papagayo, Liberia 26-1017, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Guanacaste > Liberia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 16 Hotels in Liberia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Giardini di Papagayo Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 80
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your Giardini di Papagayo Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Giardini Di Papagayo Liberia
Giardini Di Papagayo Resort
Hotel Giardini Di Papagayo
Giardini Di Papagayo Costa Rica
Giardini Di Papagayo Hotel Costa Rica/Liberia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing