We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Only stay one night”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Best Western El Sitio Hotel & Casino
Ranked #6 of 13 Hotels in Liberia
GreenLeadersSilver level
Arizona
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Only stay one night”
Reviewed July 17, 2006

Best Western should be ashamed of themselves for putting their name to this hotel. You only want to stay at this place for one night maximum. We stayed there because we were headed to our real destination the following morning.
I've never seen beds so low to the ground covered with linens that met the definition of threadbare. I know it's a third world country and the room rate was $65 but PLEAAASE!!
When you can hear the people, the TV, etc. in the room next to you, it makes for an interesting stay.
The full breakfast the following morning was a joke. Pancakes that were cold, eggs that were difficult to recognize as scrambled and no breakfast meet of any kind. We ended up with fruit and coffee.
Also, note that the hotel and pretty much Costa Rica in general don't take traveler's checks so get to a bank and exchange them to colons or US dollars or better yet, bring US dollars.

Overall, the scariest hotel we've every stayed at. The kind of place where you prop a chair against the door as an extra security measure.

Helpful?
3 Thank kimber45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

314 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    49
    88
    74
    51
    52
See reviews for
79
100
36
47
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
los angeles
Level Contributor
45 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
Reviewed July 8, 2006

Stayed at the BW El Sitio Hotel for, thank goodness, only one night due to an early morning flight departure. It is hard to believe that this hotel could be considered a Best Western. The beds and bedding were old and unclean. The front desk staff was unfriendly and unhelpful. We took a swim in the pool, only to discover that it had resident frogs living in it (couldn't see them because the pool is not lit at night). I have stayed in hostels nicer than this hotel.

  • Stayed July 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank travelfreedom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Liberia hotels

Palo Alto, CA
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed May 13, 2006

The only good thing about the hotel is its proximity to the airport. I find it hard to believe this is the one of the best things close to the airport. The AC was spotty, sheets weren't clean, staff were rude including a 10-minute late wake-up call. They also advertised that they have internet but then wouldn't let us use it.

Stayed May 2006
Helpful?
1 Thank SBKnowles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
39 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed April 30, 2006

The front desk staff were rude. They softened only when I gave attitude back. The hotel didn't seem to be full, but for some reason they put me on the side of the hotel that had construction going on all night across the street. The room was dirty! I didn't want to sleep on the bed for fear of contracting some sort of skin disease - I eventually laid out some towels and removed the disgusting blanket. The shower leaked and was like chinese water torture. I considered complaining and asking for another room, but I was too tired from traveling all day and had to leave at 6:00 AM anyway.

The only advantages to staying at this hotel is that it's close to the airport and the a/c works well but a bit loudly.

Stayed April 2006
Helpful?
Thank krista
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ontario
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed March 17, 2006

Stopped over here on a road trip from the beaches to La Fortuna. Looked okay, nice pool, signed in and headed out to the town. Returned later and then started to notice a few things. No ice machine on the property. Pillow cases were filthy ... black smudges on ALL of them. Air conditioner was very loud, but I didn't worry about this since we usually just use the ceiling fan during the night. Ceiling fan didn't work.
I should have left the a/c on, the noise would have muffled the noise from the room next door. The adjoining doors had a huge gap between the door and the floor... could hear everything over there ... toilet flushing, shower going, bed rattling....
Finally got around to having a shower. No hot water, just a bit warmer than cool. Called the front desk, and they sent in a maintenance man. He stuck his hand under the tap and said that the water was hot. No, that's not hot water I said. It's what you get he said.
Morning and time to pay up and head out. We had one other couple in front of us checking out, and they were complaining about the bill. We joined the chorus as well, when we saw ours. The $75 all in was suddenly plus tax etc. If we paid with a travellers check there was a surcharge. If we paid with colones there was a surcharge. By the time we worked out the differences and paid and got our stuff into the car, there was a lineup of people complaining. The joke was circulating that this was the deception desk instead of the reception desk. Poor girls running the desk were taking all the flack for the company policies. Learned later that this is pretty standard with the Best Western chains in CR. Breakfast was included and served in an area that wasn't connected to the main restaurant. Scrambled eggs and hot dogs. A skimpy selection of fruit and some cold cereals. Coffee and juice and some toast. Better than nothing. The first table we sat down at was totally infested with ants. Second table we had to ourselves.
The pool was large and clean, water was cooler than average which made it very refreshing. Restaurant on site was darn good, beer was cheap and cold, food was inexpensive and tasty. Would have rated the hotel terrible if it wasn't for the restaurant.

  • Stayed March 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank quetico
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed March 17, 2006

Front desk was unfriendly and indifferent. But, who would want to live in Liberia.

AC was noisy, but kept the room very cool.

Beds were uncomfortable.

Bathroom was clean and had a good shower.

Restaurant staff was nice and the food was pretty good.

Full-breakfast in the morning was also very good.

Taxi to the airport was $15.

There's no reason to stay at this hotel for more than one nite. Nothing worth seeing in Liberia.

  • Stayed March 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, OR
Level Contributor
17 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
Reviewed December 20, 2005

You probably wouldn't want to stay here unless you were flying in or out of Liberia Airport, either early or late. Liberia is not a very nice place. I didn't find it dangerous, but its certainly no tourist destination.

For an airport hotel, the El Sitio does the job. Rooms have air conditioning and good security. However, the beds are terrible and everything about the place feels worn out and dirty. Onsite, there is an acceptable restaurant with a bar that's open until 10PM. The attached casino is kind of sketchy, but could be a fun diversion if you're into that sort of thing. Staff are friendly, though they don't speak English very well. Set your alarm clock -- they blew our wake-up call.

A taxi between the hotel and the airport takes 10 minutes and costs $10 (obviously the "North American special" rate). You can also easily get to and from the several rental car locations nearby -- the National shuttle was happy to pick us up from the hotel.

For now, the Best Western El Sitio is the best option for airport travellers in Liberia, but keep an eye out for a Holiday Inn Express that is currently under construction. It should be a lot nicer and is even closer to the airport and rental cars.

  • Stayed December 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank PDXDon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Liberia hotels
6.2 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Liberia Airport
1.3 mi away
Las Espuelas Hotel
Las Espuelas Hotel
#3 of 13 in Liberia
186 reviews
0.3 mi away
Boyeros Hotel & Conference Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel El Bramadero
Hotel El Bramadero
#4 of 13 in Liberia
79 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Rincon del Llano
Hotel Rincon del Llano
#11 of 13 in Liberia
76 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel La Siesta
Hotel La Siesta
#10 of 13 in Liberia
29 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western El Sitio Hotel & Casino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western El Sitio Hotel & Casino

Property: Best Western El Sitio Hotel & Casino
Address: | next to Plaza Santa Rosa, Liberia 13450, Costa Rica (Formerly BEST WESTERN El Sitio Hotel & Casino)
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Guanacaste > Liberia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 13 Hotels in Liberia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Western El Sitio Hotel & Casino 3*
Number of rooms: 52
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Best Western El Sitio Hotel & Casino offers 52 standard rooms, complete with 2 queen-size beds, air conditioning, cable tv, coffe maker, hot water showers, hair dryer, safe box and closet. Our hotel site is beautifully landscaped with jungle flora surrounding two shimmering pools... One for adults, one for children. We also have tennis courts, a gymnasium and play areas for kids. In addition, we have facilities for meetings and events with capacity for 300 guests.Located in Liberia, capital city of the Guanacaste region, Best Western El Sitio stands adjacent to the Panamerican Highway, just 30 minutes from the beautiful tropical beaches of the Pacific. Visitors have easy access to a myriad of activities including surfing, sailing, fishing and SCUBA... And close proximity (25 minutes by car) to Costa Rica s national parks with waterfalls, bike trails, capony tours and more ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western El Sitio Hotel & Casino reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western El Sitio Hotel And Casino
Best Western El Sitio Hotel Liberia
Best Western Liberia
Liberia Best Western
Best Western El Sitio Hotel & Casino Costa Rica/Liberia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing