We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“not twice”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Best Western El Sitio Hotel & Casino
Ranked #6 of 13 Hotels in Liberia
GreenLeadersSilver level
ontario
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“not twice”
Reviewed March 17, 2006

Stopped over here on a road trip from the beaches to La Fortuna. Looked okay, nice pool, signed in and headed out to the town. Returned later and then started to notice a few things. No ice machine on the property. Pillow cases were filthy ... black smudges on ALL of them. Air conditioner was very loud, but I didn't worry about this since we usually just use the ceiling fan during the night. Ceiling fan didn't work.
I should have left the a/c on, the noise would have muffled the noise from the room next door. The adjoining doors had a huge gap between the door and the floor... could hear everything over there ... toilet flushing, shower going, bed rattling....
Finally got around to having a shower. No hot water, just a bit warmer than cool. Called the front desk, and they sent in a maintenance man. He stuck his hand under the tap and said that the water was hot. No, that's not hot water I said. It's what you get he said.
Morning and time to pay up and head out. We had one other couple in front of us checking out, and they were complaining about the bill. We joined the chorus as well, when we saw ours. The $75 all in was suddenly plus tax etc. If we paid with a travellers check there was a surcharge. If we paid with colones there was a surcharge. By the time we worked out the differences and paid and got our stuff into the car, there was a lineup of people complaining. The joke was circulating that this was the deception desk instead of the reception desk. Poor girls running the desk were taking all the flack for the company policies. Learned later that this is pretty standard with the Best Western chains in CR. Breakfast was included and served in an area that wasn't connected to the main restaurant. Scrambled eggs and hot dogs. A skimpy selection of fruit and some cold cereals. Coffee and juice and some toast. Better than nothing. The first table we sat down at was totally infested with ants. Second table we had to ourselves.
The pool was large and clean, water was cooler than average which made it very refreshing. Restaurant on site was darn good, beer was cheap and cold, food was inexpensive and tasty. Would have rated the hotel terrible if it wasn't for the restaurant.

  • Stayed March 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank quetico
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

316 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    50
    89
    74
    51
    52
See reviews for
80
100
36
47
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed March 17, 2006

Front desk was unfriendly and indifferent. But, who would want to live in Liberia.

AC was noisy, but kept the room very cool.

Beds were uncomfortable.

Bathroom was clean and had a good shower.

Restaurant staff was nice and the food was pretty good.

Full-breakfast in the morning was also very good.

Taxi to the airport was $15.

There's no reason to stay at this hotel for more than one nite. Nothing worth seeing in Liberia.

  • Stayed March 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Liberia hotels

Portland, OR
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
Reviewed December 20, 2005

You probably wouldn't want to stay here unless you were flying in or out of Liberia Airport, either early or late. Liberia is not a very nice place. I didn't find it dangerous, but its certainly no tourist destination.

For an airport hotel, the El Sitio does the job. Rooms have air conditioning and good security. However, the beds are terrible and everything about the place feels worn out and dirty. Onsite, there is an acceptable restaurant with a bar that's open until 10PM. The attached casino is kind of sketchy, but could be a fun diversion if you're into that sort of thing. Staff are friendly, though they don't speak English very well. Set your alarm clock -- they blew our wake-up call.

A taxi between the hotel and the airport takes 10 minutes and costs $10 (obviously the "North American special" rate). You can also easily get to and from the several rental car locations nearby -- the National shuttle was happy to pick us up from the hotel.

For now, the Best Western El Sitio is the best option for airport travellers in Liberia, but keep an eye out for a Holiday Inn Express that is currently under construction. It should be a lot nicer and is even closer to the airport and rental cars.

  • Stayed December 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank PDXDon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed February 9, 2005

This is a really good ‘stop over’ hotel. It is about 7KM from the airport, so if you have a late arriving flight or an early departure, this is a good place to stay. If you can get a ground floor poolside room, you will have a nice walkout to a beautiful tropical garden. The rooms are large, and very clean. The staff was very good at making transportation arrangements. The restaurant was very good, and reasonably priced. There does not appear to be many attractions in the immediately environs, but the hotel can arrange day-trips if you are interested. My only ‘complaint’ is that the hotel does not have ice for the rooms. If you ask nicely, you can get ice at the restaurant, but you will have to find some type of container (rooms have no ice buckets, which make sense if you have no ice).
The hotel has a casino (open only in the evening), but it is very small and would not be confused with any in Las Vegas.

  • Stayed February 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
16 Thank GeorgeX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salt Lake City
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed August 31, 2004

This is supposed to be the nicest hotel in Liberia, but we weren't impressed. The pool was nice and the rooms were relatively clean. Otherwise, it was the quality of a motel 6. AC worked, but was loud. Beds were very uncomfortable. Towels were small and thin. Windows didn't close completely. We were supposed to stay 2 nights, but chose not to come back our second night, even though we had already paid for 2 nights. The second night, we stayed at the Hacienda Lodge Guachepelin near Rincon de La Vieja park. This was rustic, without AC but nicer. Only ask to have your room away from the cattle, or you will awake at 5:30 a.m. with the cattle.

Helpful?
19 Thank RustyVictor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Liberia hotels
6.2 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Liberia Airport
1.3 mi away
Las Espuelas Hotel
Las Espuelas Hotel
#3 of 13 in Liberia
188 reviews
0.3 mi away
Boyeros Hotel & Conference Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel El Bramadero
Hotel El Bramadero
#4 of 13 in Liberia
81 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Rincon del Llano
Hotel Rincon del Llano
#11 of 13 in Liberia
75 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel La Siesta
Hotel La Siesta
#10 of 13 in Liberia
29 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western El Sitio Hotel & Casino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western El Sitio Hotel & Casino

Property: Best Western El Sitio Hotel & Casino
Address: | next to Plaza Santa Rosa, Liberia 13450, Costa Rica (Formerly BEST WESTERN El Sitio Hotel & Casino)
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Guanacaste > Liberia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 13 Hotels in Liberia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Western El Sitio Hotel & Casino 3*
Number of rooms: 52
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Best Western El Sitio Hotel & Casino offers 52 standard rooms, complete with 2 queen-size beds, air conditioning, cable tv, coffe maker, hot water showers, hair dryer, safe box and closet. Our hotel site is beautifully landscaped with jungle flora surrounding two shimmering pools... One for adults, one for children. We also have tennis courts, a gymnasium and play areas for kids. In addition, we have facilities for meetings and events with capacity for 300 guests.Located in Liberia, capital city of the Guanacaste region, Best Western El Sitio stands adjacent to the Panamerican Highway, just 30 minutes from the beautiful tropical beaches of the Pacific. Visitors have easy access to a myriad of activities including surfing, sailing, fishing and SCUBA... And close proximity (25 minutes by car) to Costa Rica s national parks with waterfalls, bike trails, capony tours and more ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western El Sitio Hotel & Casino reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western El Sitio Hotel And Casino
Best Western El Sitio Hotel Liberia
Best Western Liberia
Liberia Best Western
Best Western El Sitio Hotel & Casino Costa Rica/Liberia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing