We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This hotel should have a higher rating”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Best Western El Sitio Hotel & Casino
Ranked #5 of 13 Hotels in Liberia
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed February 27, 2013

I rely on Trip Advisor a lot.
I'm not sure why this hotel is getting such a bad rap. I booked this hotel as my entry and exit point to/from our ultimate destination because it was close to the airport. I read all of the bad reviews and almost cancelled my reservation. I glad I didn't. It's close to the airport , along the same road actually. Very nice gardens and pools. OK, it's not a 5 star resort, but for the price that I paid, less than half of the Hilton Garden, It was an excellent value. Plus it was close to shopping areas. This hotel was exceptionally clean, I didn't see or experience any of the negative items that I read about. Staff was friendly and assisted us getting into Liberia for shopping, The Room came with a free breakfast which was good. The resturant food was good as well. The property was clean and well maintained.
Down Side:
No airport shuttle, but taxi service was readily available and cheap. Mattress' were a little firm , but that seems to be the standard in CR. Had some trouble with the key cards, Staff and maids were helpful in getting it resolved. They advertissed a casino, but it didn't appear to be open which really didn't matter to me anyway.

Room Tip: Get a room on the first floor wit a pool view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Lichtenwalner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (350)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

170 - 176 of 350 reviews

Reviewed February 21, 2013

I stayed for one night at the El Sitio Hotel in Liberia and it was a great experience. The staff were friendly, and the large room was very clean and and quiet. The bed was very comfortable and I had a very good sleep. The grounds are beautiful, and it's like staying in the middle of a park! The restaurant was very nice with a good menu, and the food was excellent. I enjoyed a very good buffet breakfast in the morning before I left for the airport. I would highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank william t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 14, 2013

Three of us stayed and shared a room at the beautifully landscaped BW El Sitio for nine days and were thoroughly satisfied. The staff, especially the front desk staff were most friendly, courteous and accommodating. We arrived early and that was no problem. After the first night, a simple question, more on this below, led to a change in room that was processed while we travelled to Parque Nacional Rincon de la Vieja.

The public areas and the room we occupied were very clean and extra towels and Kleenex tissues packets were provided without us requesting them.

The included full breakfast was very good and the restaurant staff very friendly. We also ate dinner there once and the quality of the food was excellent. We did not eat there more often because we wanted to savor different local dishes and locales.

As for the change in room mentioned above, to no fault of the hotel, across the street is an all-night disco/bar that plays its music selections to a decibel level that rivals a jet at take off. The bass drums, I'm sure can be heard for blocks. After the first night in a low-numbered room and unaware of the disco/bar's existence I went to the front desk and asked if there was a bar in the hotel. The young lady rolled her eyes and explained the situation and asked if a change of room would suit us. We changed rooms to a higher-numbered room and it made a big difference. So, when checking in, check for availability of a higher numbered room. The rumbling noise will be minimal.

We absolutely recommend this hotel without any reservations.

Room Tip: Ask for a high-numbered room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank John S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 11, 2013

We booked this hotel our last night due to its location on the edge of town and close to the airport. We had a very early flight.

The front desk staff upon arrival was chatting on the phone with a friend for about 20 minutes before deciding to help us. She told us the rate and we mentioned that was really high. She said that was the bottom line price and they only had a few rooms available. We should have left after all this but were tired from traveling around after 3 weeks and didn't want to drag our tired daughter around for who knows how long looking for another hotel. We mentioned we would like a quiet room since we needed to depart by 5am. We were given a room a couple doors down from the lobby which we didn't think anything of it since there was only supposedly a couple rooms left.
We arrived at our room and the maids were still cleaning it. We sat in the lobby for over an hour and then were allowed to check in. But to our surprised the room was still dirty. We went back to the front desk and notified them. Again we waited in the lobby. Returned to room to see that it was still dirty but a small improvement from before. Too tired to go back again for such rude customer service.
We geared up to spend time at the pool and were shocked how dirty the pool was so passed on that.
We ate dinner in town and came back to repack our packs for the flight out in the morning and to relax. Relaxing was the last thing you will do at this hotel. There is a nightclub located next door and runs all night and was still going in the morning. As each hour past they got louder and were still going strong at 5:15am when we were departing for the airport. We had the a/c on high and the tv on and it was still thumping in our room. We did speak to the front desk staff a few times and asked for a quieter room and if they could do something about it. We were greeted with more rude service and were told that it's been a problem and if it gets really bad they will call the police but that it wasn't that bad yet. Really? Not bad yet, I had to scream at him so he could hear me.
Then at check out, he didn't offer any discount on rate or any apologies. The surprising thing was that they hardly had any guests staying there.

A very disappointing end to a wonderful trip in Costa Rica!

Run as fast as you can from this hotel. There is a great hotel around the corner that we stayed in 3 weeks prior that was very clean, great service and quiet.

I'm sure some of you will read this and think we expected a 4 star hotel which is the complete opposite of how we travel. We stay in small places in non-touristy locations and are only expectations are great service and cleanliness.

Room Tip: Stay somewhere else!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Shannon M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 5, 2013

We flew out early the next day and just needed a hotel nearby the town and airport so we could savor our last few hours in Costa Rica. The shower was huge in our room and although it was quite windy outside, most of the noise was drowned out, which was nice. Everything was pretty standard, but definitely nicer than a hostel and breakfast was easy to grab in the morning before we had to take off.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GTOinCO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 27, 2012

Stayed there 3 nights . Very clean. Great pool. Nice breakfast. Helpful staff. Best deal for the money at $65 per night ( 3 people) it was fantastic. Location was also very good. 15 min walk to the main square . Nice supermarket just next door on big plaza. Curu nightclub/disco across the street.

Cheers Dimi.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jewelestate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 11, 2012

MEH..is the best way to describe this hotel.
If you are coming into liberia, for whatever reason, this is probably one of your best budget options. The pool are is probably the center point of the hotel, and the stronghold. The rooms are plain simple and nothing great. Some of the doors seem like paper thin, and have scuffs like people tried to knock them down. All in all, this hotel is ok, its nothing great. It's one of those "passerby" hotels, nothing you'd want to camp out in. There is only a handful of staff, so be sure to have patience if you need anything. The location is great, its located right beside a shopping center with a supermarket and a few restaurants. On the other side- BK and Pollo tropical.

Room Tip: Ask for a hotel near the pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Carlos O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Liberia hotels
6.2 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Liberia Airport
1.3 mi away
Las Espuelas Hotel
Las Espuelas Hotel
#3 of 13 in Liberia
195 reviews
0.3 mi away
Boyeros Hotel & Conference Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel El Bramadero
Hotel El Bramadero
#4 of 13 in Liberia
84 reviews
3.4 mi away
Hotel Santa Ana
Hotel Santa Ana
#12 of 13 in Liberia
57 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel La Siesta
Hotel La Siesta
#10 of 13 in Liberia
33 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western El Sitio Hotel & Casino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western El Sitio Hotel & Casino

Address: | next to Plaza Santa Rosa, Liberia 13450, Costa Rica (Formerly BEST WESTERN El Sitio Hotel & Casino)
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Guanacaste > Liberia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 13 Hotels in Liberia
Price Range: $62 - $99 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Western El Sitio Hotel & Casino 3*
Number of rooms: 52
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Best Western El Sitio Hotel & Casino offers 52 standard rooms, complete with 2 queen-size beds, air conditioning, cable tv, coffe maker, hot water showers, hair dryer, safe box and closet. Our hotel site is beautifully landscaped with jungle flora surrounding two shimmering pools... One for adults, one for children. We also have tennis courts, a gymnasium and play areas for kids. In addition, we have facilities for meetings and events with capacity for 300 guests.Located in Liberia, capital city of the Guanacaste region, Best Western El Sitio stands adjacent to the Panamerican Highway, just 30 minutes from the beautiful tropical beaches of the Pacific. Visitors have easy access to a myriad of activities including surfing, sailing, fishing and SCUBA... And close proximity (25 minutes by car) to Costa Rica s national parks with waterfalls, bike trails, capony tours and more ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline, Cancelon, getaroom.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Best Western El Sitio Hotel & Casino reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western El Sitio Hotel And Casino
Best Western El Sitio Hotel Liberia
Best Western Liberia
Liberia Best Western
Best Western El Sitio Hotel & Casino Costa Rica/Liberia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing