We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Great stay” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Casa de Papel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Liberia
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Casa de Papel
Ranked #7 of 16 Hotels in Liberia
Quebec City, Canada
Level Contributor
69 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Great stay”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 9, 2012

What a wonderful stay we had at Casa the Papel, the room was basic but the hotel itself has a great value for the money we paid, breakfest include. The commun area is big, old school stuffs from the 50'-80', a check board for playing, and a nice POOL for cooling you down a bit! On our arrival we wanted to do some laundry and they let us use their washing machine, it was very appreciate. Liberia is a nice city to walk around, not like the crowdy Cartago or San Jose! The breakest could be better, we were a bit deceived because they have a very well-equiped kitchen, I mean for costaricain owner, and the breakfest was straight egg, 2 toast with basic fruit. We were expecting something more exotic! In Overall: a great stay nonetheless!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Guyl101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

46 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    13
    20
    6
    5
    2
See reviews for
8
13
5
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Jose, Costa Rica
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 3, 2012

At the last minute, my son, his girlfriend and I decided to go to Liberia for the local Festival. There was only one chance... LA CASA DE PAPEL a small B&B in the Calle Real, a cultural and historic site 2 blocks away from the Central Park in Liberia, Guanacaste.

Since we called, Sirleny, the recptionist was very kind, she patiently explained to me that the only 2 rooms left were very simple, no AC, no TV and only one would have a private bathroom. despite the doubt, we took it!

This is something we will never regret because the place is very comfortable and even with no AC the roofs are so high that just a fan is enough to help distress from the heat. The living room is well furnished, the terrace is magnificent and the swimming pool is the cherry on top!

The next morning, a delightful breakfast was served: coffee or tea, bread, eggs and fruit, more than enough for the $30 we paid! we decided to name CASA DE PAPEL our home in Liberia. From now on, we will stay with Sirleny and Giovanni every time we visit Liberia. THANK YOU!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Gabriela080
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Pedro Sula, Honduras
Level Contributor
28 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 17, 2012

This is basically an old house, situated on a side street of Liberia. It is a nice place if you want to get a "town history and feeling" rooms are equipped with A/C, fans, TV , cable, Wifi.

I paid $70 for a big room that shares a bathroom with another room, this was not entioned to me prior to getting the baggage down from my car.

The air conditioner is a small 12k BTU unit for a 24m2 room with a really high roof. It took forever to cool down. TV was around 15 years old and small.

The lobby is nice, but considering the arid and hot Liberiia climate, you need a fan next to you.

The pool and jacuzzi are very convinient, nice garden area all around.

This is I guess, something very typical we have seen in Costa Rica, they charge a lot for something that did not take much investment.

The place has potential for a really nice boutique-antique pensione.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Goldberg1575
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver
Level Contributor
36 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 30, 2012

We spent a day in Liberia in May and stayed at the Casa de Papal. It was a great place to stay. Our room was comfortable and had everything that we needed. The staff's command of English was marginally better than our Spanish but we managed. The pool was lovely and the outdoor courtyard was exactly what we needed after a day of wandering through Liberia.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Gambol17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manuel Antonio
Level Contributor
27 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 2, 2012

Its a great little place to stay, our room #3 was great, had A/C, TV, hot water fan and hot water. The place has free FAST WiFi, nice pool with Jacuzzi, really nice lounge area where to read, check mails etc, very save parking, and breakfast was good too! I do agree with other posts here, maybe a little overpriced but, as we did, maybe after asking for a better deal you could be surpriced. Here is their contact info I hope in helps others as I couldnt find it: (506)2666-0626 E-mail posadadelacallereal@gmail.com

Additional notes:

If you are planning to visit Rincon de la Vieja and/or Santa Rosa this is a great option, not many places to stay neared to both parks, and the few there are very pricey. Casa de papel (AKA Posada de la calle real) is just 200m from the central park in Liberia, 600m from interamerican route. We made it in 1hr to Rincon and 40 min to Santa Rosa in a small automobile.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank looking4nature
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Level Contributor
30 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 12, 2012 via mobile

We stayed 2 nights. Huge, clean room, but overpriced for a shared bathroom (with one other room). Great location and breakfast. Staff not overly friendly, but satisfactory.

  • Stayed April 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank OzJenny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charleston, South Carolina
Level Contributor
18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 14, 2012

please read post there...tiny budget room with new bunk beds #7 my last stay, no like. all the same otherwise--lovely helpful native staff, solo espanol. wonderful place, self contained, secure, very good desayuna gratis. muy tranquilo, close to local attractions. will def stay there again.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank locoparasurf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Liberia hotels
1.2 mi away
Boyeros Hotel & Conference Center
0.1 mi away
Las Espuelas Hotel
Las Espuelas Hotel
#3 of 16 in Liberia
3.5 of 5 bubbles 160 reviews
6.9 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Liberia Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Hotel El Bramadero
Hotel El Bramadero
#5 of 16 in Liberia
3.5 of 5 bubbles 66 reviews
1.3 mi away
BEST WESTERN El Sitio Hotel & Casino
0.0 mi away
Hotel Rincon del Llano
Hotel Rincon del Llano
#11 of 16 in Liberia
3.5 of 5 bubbles 64 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa de Papel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa de Papel

Property: Casa de Papel
Address: Calle Real, Liberia, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Guanacaste > Liberia
Amenities:
Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 16 Hotels in Liberia
Also Known As:
Casa De Papel Costa Rica/Liberia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing