We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Really good food and service at fair prices”
Review of La Choza de Laurel

La Choza de Laurel
Ranked #21 of 82 Restaurants in Liberia
Cuisines: Costa Rican
Description: Trying to review their restaurant in Liberia.
Restaurant details
Description: Trying to review their restaurant in Liberia.
Chicago, IL
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Really good food and service at fair prices”
Reviewed February 11, 2013

If you land at the airport hungry, you're in luck! About one Km toward Liberia you'll find a fairly large, open air restaurant on the right hand side, just past the American car rental offices. The restaurant has many antique decorations and colorful blooming bushes. The minute you open the car door you smell the wood-fired grill and your mouth does not stop watering until you are enjoying your own plate.

I had a plate of typical Costa Rican food. In addition to juicy grilled chicken breast, it included white rice, salad, black beans, corn on the cob, a chopped salad of tropical fruits, a hard-boiled egg, zesty rice with tomatoes and onions, and fried plantains. All of this cost about $12 with tax and service. But, given that I paid $13 the other day for a bowl of soup and a Coke, I found this pretty reasonable. Being an obvious "Gringa," I rather expected that some of the dishonesty mentioned in other reviews might happen to me. It did not. I had a delicious meal and a nice chat with my server. I would happily recommend this restaurant to others.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Travelin'Pam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

113 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    40
    38
    21
    9
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Jose, Costa Rica
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“Sneaky dishonest waiters/cashiers/staff”
Reviewed January 31, 2013

They charged us for 4 banana splits when we had only ordered 1. Way too much of a difference to be an honest mistake.

They count on people not checking the bill as the place is in the middle of nowhere so after one eats it's time to hit the road.

Most people would probably not bother to go back as they will most likely be far away when they realize that they have been ripped off. Fortunately for us we were staying only a couple of minutes away and was able to go back. Make sure you check the bill itself not just the credit card voucher when paying. They are very very sneaky.

Too bad cause the food was not bad even though it was brought cold to the table. If you do decide to patronize this place make sure you order the "typical almuerzo campesino" which is practically the only thing in the menu that is not overpriced/tourist priced.

Check the $ amounts/quantities of everything you ordered so you do not become another victim!!!

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Ebayer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Costa Rica
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Dishonest people!”
Reviewed January 24, 2013

We've been to this restaurant several times and the food is good, but I'm giving it a bad rating because it's the second time they try to overcharge us by more than US $30. The first time it happened (a while ago) we obviously assumed it was a mistake, but after tonight we're pretty sure that they do it all the time and on purpose. Make sure to check your bill TWICE before you pay!!

Food itself was good but a little overpriced... In summary go here for the food if you don't mind paying tourist prices, but be VERY careful when it's time to pay. Double or even triple check the bill. Modus operandi, as we went to the cashier to pay, is they charge your card and, give you the voucher to sign, then gives you your copy of the voucher attached/stapled to the bill itself Our mistake was we only verified that the vouchers amount was correct, not the bill itself.

I would NOT patronize this place ever again. I do not believe in rewarding dishonestly. There are better options in the Liberia proper and at cheaper prices. Also, as an FYI, we have also gone to the original restaurant in La Fortuna, several times, and no problems there.

These seems to be an issue in the Guanaste/Liberia branch. There is also no management in place as we wanted to make as formal complaint, we were told to call the Fortuna branch as only the supervisor, the one who overcharged us in the first place, was in the Liberia branch Oh, BTW, service is slow, even when it's not busy. .

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank beckybee_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
United States
Level 6 Contributor
333 reviews
187 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 217 helpful votes
“It is recommended by the locals”
Reviewed January 8, 2013

This restaurant serves typical Costa Rican Food. This is an excellent for the experience, close to Liberia Airport (for last meal before you depart the country). Authentic, large amount of food, fairly priced, and friendly service.

Average lunch Dish $13, Porterhouse steak dish $21 (I do not recommend it, though).

My recommendation: If you have a long flight awaiting you from Liberia, stop by for lunch or dinner…. There is nothing to eat at the airport.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank TOURtheWORLDMexPal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Excellent and authentic tipical food!”
Reviewed December 24, 2012 via mobile

This place came recommended by our concierge..and it was great! Excellent tipical food...we got the choza plate and arroz con pollo..both that hit the spot! Very flavorful..meal cost us about $50 with a bottle of wine!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank NishaGC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Choza de Laurel also viewed

Liberia, Province of Guanacaste
Liberia, Province of Guanacaste
 
Liberia, Province of Guanacaste
Liberia, Province of Guanacaste
 
Liberia, Province of Guanacaste
Liberia, Province of Guanacaste
 

Been to La Choza de Laurel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing