We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Really nicely refurbished”
Review of Hotel Liberia

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Liberia
Ranked #1 of 16 Liberia B&B and Inns
Reviewed January 22, 2013

I was here 5 years ago and at that time it was clean and comfortable but very basic. Now its been given a tasteful facelift whilst remaining well priced and in a good central location. I stayed in a private room and I've seen worse rooms elsewhere in Central America for 2 or 3 times this price!!! Reception staff are helpful and speak English. Courtyard area is pleasant with drinks available and wi-fi throughout. Thoroughly recommended if you're passing through.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank acdiver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (318)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

180 - 186 of 318 reviews

Reviewed January 17, 2013

The hotel grounds are nice, the atmosphere relaxing, the rooms are clean, and the staff is friendly.

For $20 a night, what more could you ask for?

We booked two single rooms in the Casona building. Each room had 2 double beds, a ceiling fan, and a TV.

It was a good place to spend a night, before catching our flight home.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JustinaL370
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 17, 2013

This hotel is just a block from the central square and on a street with several places to eat and the majority of the historic houses in Liberia. Indeed, the hotel is in a historic structure as well. It's a good place to stay if you want to be in the middle of it all.

The rooms are clean and comfortable but very basic. We stayed for 2 nights in the old main house (La Casona). We did have our own bath but cold water only (did not mind since it was 90F+ outside!). The rooms in the main house open right into the courtyard restaurant so it could be a noise issue for some people (was fine for us). They did not change our towels- I probably should have asked given the basic nature of the place.

The staff is friendly and the breakfast (not included) is tasty. We would stay here again.

Big plus: they have a fenced-in parking lot for cars.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Larry917
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 1, 2013

I payed 20$ for a bedroom with 2 single beds ( december 2012), it was clean and the staff was friendly. Security is good and The nieghborhood seemed safe, with lots of dining options around the central plaza, and an internet cafe close by. They have a reasonable laundering service at 2$ per kilo. clothes came in a plastic bag, not folded well or anything, but what do you expect for 2$! All in all, i would recommend this hotel for its Great value and great location.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank James-Ian M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 29, 2012

We used Hotel Liberia when we arrived in Liberia en route to Nicaragua. It was a quaint hotel with a small eating area and a nice aesthetic when we walked in - the staff were friendly and helpful. Our room was a basic room, decent in size, located directly across from reception with a fan and TV. For the price and purpose, it very much suited our needs and was within walking distance of a couple of restaurants, groceries and banks making it convenient for us as to get what we needed before hitting the road.

We booked another night for our return through Liberia and ended up in a much smaller room with windows this time and a very small bathroom (the toilet was angled in order to fit into the minimal square footage). The icing on the cake though was the lack of screens on the windows and after a hot and restless sleep with mosquitos buzzing around all night, we awoke with dozens of mosquito bites that itched all the way home. If you get one of these rooms and can handle the warm air, close the windows or douse yourself in repellent prior to hitting the hay.

Room Tip: If you can pay a little more for the bigger rooms without windows - do it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SpecialK2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 25, 2012

We had a small group in need of a place to relax after a conference. It was clean, quiet, and Jorge went above and beyond to accommodate our requests. It was cool at night in the Casona so no need for air. Oh, and they serve the best cup of coffee in Liberia!

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lamorena916
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 15, 2012

I'm not sure why all the negative reviews I thought the space was pretty. The entry way has rocking chairs leading to the the outdoor eating area with a mosaic floor opening out to a garden.

Also the location can't be beat. It's right next to the main road by the large church great for people watching at night and exploring restaurants. Definitely go to the fruit place across the street. I had the best fruit salad of my life! The boy cut it with so much care, huge and tasted amazing, I had to eat it with my eyes closed for $2.

The staff is so sweet, polite and friendly. They helped me with my bag and gave me a first floor room, which was nice and clean. Two beds for $20. I'm attaching pictures, it's such a nice spot.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MichMount
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarketingHL L, Manager at Hotel Liberia, responded to this reviewResponded December 19, 2012

Dear friend,

Thank you for your sincere comments, we are continuosly working to make our guest feel like home during their stay in Hotel Liberia. We have received a lot of nice opinions personally or through websites as this one, and these are a great way to keep improving.

We truly hope you enjoyed your trip around Costa Rica, wish you Mery Christmas and a wonderfull new year!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Liberia hotels
1.3 mi away
Las Espuelas Hotel
Las Espuelas Hotel
#3 of 13 in Liberia
199 reviews
6.9 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Liberia Airport
4 mi away
Hotel Santa Ana
Hotel Santa Ana
#12 of 13 in Liberia
57 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hotel El Bramadero
Hotel El Bramadero
#4 of 13 in Liberia
84 reviews
0.6 mi away
Best Western El Sitio Hotel & Casino
0.4 mi away
Boyeros Hotel & Conference Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Liberia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Liberia

Address: Calle Real | 75 Mts Sur Del Parque Central, Liberia 50101, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Guanacaste > Liberia
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 16 B&Bs / Inns in Liberia
Price Range: $27 - $67 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Liberia 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We offer the oldest 'bed & breakfast " accommodation in Liberia city, capital Guanacaste province. Located on the main street (Calle Real), 75 meters South of Central Park and the main Catholic church, rowed in a line of old houses, hotels, restaurants and cultural elements characteristic of the history of this legendary beautiful city. The hotel has an old house with thick walls and high bahareque (centuries-old technique of building with mud and grass) and decorated mosaic floors, where there are 6 rooms of the Casona and the main dining room.The hotel offers close proximity to the bus station, taxis, supermarkets, banks and shops, and it is located in the heart of the city being the oldest street in Liberia. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Hotel Liberia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Liberia Costa Rica

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing