We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

““Great place! Great prices! Clean and safe!””
Review of Hotel Liberia

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Liberia
Ranked #1 of 16 Liberia B&B and Inns
Monteverde, Costa Rica
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
““Great place! Great prices! Clean and safe!””
Reviewed June 3, 2012

We stayed here for one night and check in was at 9:30 am which was wonderful. The young man at the front desk could not have done more for us. The rooms were clean. Would stay again.
We have pancakes with bananas and fresh fruit. Good breakfast.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HotelSloth5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

297 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    83
    118
    53
    21
    22
See reviews for
23
116
58
13
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Utrecht
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed May 7, 2012

We arrived at 4 in the afternoon at hotel liberia and everything looked good in the beginning. Nice common space. We booked a room for two persons which they called a dormitorio. Later that night when we went to bed we felt that the mattrasses were really thin and bad so we asked if we could switch to another dormitorio but the guy(not the owner) said that it was occupied. We checked anoher room for three persons and these mattrasses were much better. The guy asked the boss, who was to lazy to come himself, if we could switch to that room. But we had to pay 10 dollar extra. After a long time of arguing with the poor guy, we had to sleep in the same beds but with an extra matrass on top..the owner wouldn't speak to us and just ignored us when we talked to him. We spoke to other guest who also argued with the owner. The next morning the owner didnt want to talk to us. We have never seen something like this. The room itself was really small and hot. The location is very good. But we absolutely dont recommend his place. Too expensive and lousy service

  • Stayed May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Isabelle v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Liberia hotels

San Juan del Sur, Rivas, Nicaragua
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed April 17, 2012

Friendly and helpful staff. I left a surfboard here for 26 days with no worries. They cook a delicious breakfast at a good price. Quick internet and a nice plasma screen with full blown cable!!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Taylor J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Deventer, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
33 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed April 15, 2012

The minute you enter the hallway you know, or better saying you feel.
Good atmosphere, Jorge being a laid back, honest and responsible manager.
Stayed 3 nights, fantastic beds, great service, muy relajado, so highly recommended.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank moon98
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Managua, Nicaragua
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed April 7, 2012

This is a very clean and friendly hotel. We booked a private room. One thing that was a little bit annoying was the very slow fan at the ceiling, which didnt at all produce enough wind. We did get a fan the last night we were there, but for the price we paid and the extremely hot city, we could have expected an air conditioning.
Still, breakfast for $3 is very nice, staff is friendly and over all very nice. But for the real hotel-like-feel there are still some things missing.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Reiseampelmann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liberia, Costa Rica
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed March 27, 2012

This is a simple stay. The rooms are nice and clean. The staff is very helpful. Located in the heart of historic Liberia with tons of information regarding destinations, attractions, transportation etc. They have a good breakfast and an open patio space located in the center of the hotel where you can do use your laptop or talk to others or bring your outside food or beverage to relax and unwind. The hotel has lots of charm. Typical style Liberia style and still has the original floors. It's near other restaurants, cafes and bar.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JujuSandytoes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denmark
1 review
Reviewed March 1, 2012

We are very satisfied with our stay here at Libreria Hotel.
The staff was very smiley and friendly, the rooms were bright and clean and the frut/yoghurt/coconut-breakfast was the best we have had in central america.
We can recommend this place to anyone also there is for different budgets (stayed at a dorm with 3 beds for 12 dollars per night)

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Laura H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Liberia hotels
6.9 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Liberia Airport
0.6 mi away
Best Western El Sitio Hotel & Casino
1.2 mi away
Las Espuelas Hotel
Las Espuelas Hotel
#3 of 16 in Liberia
3.5 of 5 bubbles 186 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Boyeros Hotel & Conference Center
0.4 mi away
Hotel El Bramadero
Hotel El Bramadero
#4 of 16 in Liberia
3.5 of 5 bubbles 79 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Rincon del Llano
Hotel Rincon del Llano
#14 of 16 in Liberia
3.5 of 5 bubbles 76 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Liberia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Liberia

Property: Hotel Liberia
Address: Calle Real | 75 mts sur del parque central, Liberia 50101, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Guanacaste > Liberia
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 16 B&Bs / Inns in Liberia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Liberia 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We offer the oldest 'bed & breakfast " accommodation in Liberia city, capital Guanacaste province. Located on the main street (Calle Real), 75 meters South of Central Park and the main Catholic church, rowed in a line of old houses, hotels, restaurants and cultural elements characteristic of the history of this legendary beautiful city. The hotel has an old house with thick walls and high bahareque (centuries-old technique of building with mud and grass) and decorated mosaic floors, where there are 6 rooms of the Casona and the main dining room.The hotel offers close proximity to the bus station, taxis, supermarkets, banks and shops, and it is located in the heart of the city being the oldest street in Liberia. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Expedia, HostelWorld, Orbitz, Priceline, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Hotel Liberia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Liberia Costa Rica

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing