We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Cafe Liberia-Great service, good food”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Cafe Liberia

Cafe Liberia
Ranked #2 of 82 Restaurants in Liberia
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $5 - $14
Cuisines: Latin, Cafe, Central American, Costa Rican, Fusion
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Romantic, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Dining on a budget, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Brunch, Breakfast, Late Night, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Colorado Springs, Colorado
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Cafe Liberia-Great service, good food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 1, 2014

Our party of six adults and one toddler enjoyed lunch at the Café Liberia. The ceviche was outstanding - great texture and perfect lime flavor. The fajitas were sizzling hot, served with corn tortillas and plenty of onions and peppers. Our little one was served first and enjoyed chicken tenders and fries and lots of attention from our waitress. Terrific atmosphere as we dined in the court yard of this old establishment.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Linda P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

301 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    208
    71
    17
    3
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Green Bay, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“If you go to Liberia, you MUST go here.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 27, 2014

I have been to restaurants from Seattle to the Great Hall of the People in Beijing. This place is the most charming and quaint place in which I have ever dined. The restaurant is located in a 160 year old house, which was at one time used as a coffee trading house. It has original appearing wood trim and shutters, with an interesting ceiling painting in the main coffee lounge. On good days, you may eat in the original dining room which is open on one side to the garden patio. Furniture fits the look of the rest of the building.

Personal service? It is as though your sister is bringing you your food. Unbelievably charming. The chef gave us a personal tour and history of the place.

After all this, do you really care about the food? Well, I guess probably. The food had peaks and valleys. The tomato cheese appetizer was outstanding, the guacamole as good as you can get. Entrees, well, average. Advise against the rigatoni pesto. Won't kill you, won't thrill you. Get the lava cake for dessert. Your pancreas will work overtime, but well worth it.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank T M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PA
Level Contributor
360 reviews
246 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 136 helpful votes
“Beautiful building & good food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 11, 2014

What a wonderful old renovated building. The food is delicious and the owners really take pride in the building. Great ceviche, chicken fajitas and hamburgers. If staying in the Liberia area, it's definitely worth the trip.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Toadhollowtravellers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
former NYr
Level Contributor
87 reviews
66 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Great place for a relaxing glass of wine”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 10, 2014

We accidentally stumbled into this place because of the buildings rustic facade. The court yard proved to be interesting, offering small areas of quiet and privacy. The worn furniture added a cozy, authentic feel to the experience. We enjoyed a bit of wine and conversation. Had we seen the pictures on Trip Advisor earlier, we would have ordered some of the delicious looking dishes.
Definitely worth the trip.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RudyWformerNYr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, Ohio
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“March '12”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 2, 2014

Had a great lunch at Cafe Liberia. Great atmosphere and would probably eat there weekly if I lived in Costa Rica! Was fortunate to hear music from Rada and her pianist rehearsing in one of the back rooms.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank annieobirder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cafe Liberia also viewed

Liberia, Province of Guanacaste
Liberia, Province of Guanacaste
 
Liberia, Province of Guanacaste
Liberia, Province of Guanacaste
 

Been to Cafe Liberia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing