We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Elegant, delicious and handsome.”
Review of Cafe Liberia

Cafe Liberia
Ranked #2 of 82 Restaurants in Liberia
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $5 - $14
Cuisines: Fusion
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Dinner, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Dinner, Reservations
New York
Level Contributor
51 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Elegant, delicious and handsome.”
Reviewed December 5, 2013

We sauntered down Calle Real and happened on this wonderful restaurant. The ceviche and lava cake were delicious, and the service (and the conversation with the French owner/chef) excellent.
The various rooms have great character, and it seems that the place is enjoyed as much by Costa Ricans as by visitors.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank NervousNerd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

311 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    217
    71
    18
    3
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
48 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Great place, great food”
Reviewed November 30, 2013 via mobile

I absolutely love that place: relaxed setting, nice decoration, extremely friendly staff and extremely good food. Ceviche is highly recommended, all of us loved it!

Helpful?
Thank kausmuc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Lovely Find in the City”
Reviewed November 24, 2013

I was traveling thought Liberia with my girlfriends, staying at Casa de Papel a few doors down. We were wiped out from the day, but needed to nourish the body (and grab a glass of vino!). We walked down from the hotel a block or so and found the lovely Cafe Liberia. With no expectations, it turned out to be a delicious meal we still talk about to this day. The cafe has wonderful character and a welcoming staff (and wine). :)

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JenniferLingvall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liberia, Costa Rica
1 review
“Great”
Reviewed November 19, 2013 via mobile

I was really impressed by this beautiful peaceful cafe and loved their speciality with matti matti! Delicious, surprising and healthy.

Helpful?
Thank Yolien
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Revelstoke, Canada
Level Contributor
17 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“A truly memorable taste experience in a welcoming and historical surrounding!”
Reviewed November 18, 2013 via mobile

El Cafe Liberia - fantastic cafe on Calle Real.
This 150 year old home is owned by the chef Sebastien Devenelle who made us incredible Ceviche and Fajitas and finishing it off with delicious home made lava cake and ice cream, beautifully presented! He also showed us around this impressive house with its beautiful painted ceiling, original wood shutters and doors and interior courtyard. He also told us about the history of the home and showed us his grandfather's antique fridge which he shipped from France!
Our waitress Ligia Fernandez was so warm and welcoming and explained the menu for us with her very good English! She told us about the area and made some great suggestions of where to go and what to see!! Ligia was so nice and keen to talk with us!
They both made the evening very special for us!

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank Terry B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cafe Liberia also viewed

Liberia, Province of Guanacaste
Liberia, Province of Guanacaste
 
Liberia, Province of Guanacaste
Liberia, Province of Guanacaste
 

Been to Cafe Liberia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing