We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Convenient and comfortable”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hilton Garden Inn Liberia Airport
Ranked #2 of 13 Hotels in Liberia
Certificate of Excellence
East Coast
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Convenient and comfortable”
Reviewed March 27, 2013 via mobile

Our family arrived in Liberia at 10pm after several hours of travel and chose to stay the night at the HGI because of its proximity to the airport.
The hotel shuttle was waiting for us outside the airport and although there were several families all waiting to go to the HGI, the shuttle driver was able to quickly organize and get us all to where we wanted.
The hotel is clean, staff is attentive, decor is like any other HGI anywhere in the USA. Rooms were standard and comfortable and just what we needed.
We enjoyed the buffet breakfast the next morning which again was pretty standard and a bit over priced. But it was good.
Although we didn't use the pool, it was available for guests as well as a foosball table which kept the kids entertained.
All in all, the hotel serves its purpose of being the perfect stopover for travelers who are beginning or ending their stay in Costa Rica.

Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank monsoongal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,517 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    670
    590
    177
    53
    27
See reviews for
501
538
97
189
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (174)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Minnesota, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 25, 2013

We stayed at the Hilton in Libera due to leaving early in the morning. After check-in, we found our room. The carpet leading to the room was disgusting. It was dirty and dated. Looked like it hadn't been washed...ever. After dropping our bags we went to the bar/restaurant. After waiting for the hostess to notice us we were encouraged to eat the buffet. Apparently we didn't look excited about that and were told we could have one buffet for free. We agreed to do that. The food at the buffet consisted of bland fish, dried potatoes, dried chicken, macaroni and cheese, tomato soup. Also a small salad bar. Very small. The food was so bland and cold/hard it was to impossible to eat. I stayed with the soup. After attempting to eat, we were looking to pay our bill. No waitress to be found. We walked up to the stand with the cash register and told a waiter we were looking to pay our bill. Our waitress was at the cash register. The male waiter got her attention and let her know we were waiting. Right behind her. She looked at us, turned her back and thumbed through her receipts. We thought she was looking for ours. That was not the case. After thumbing through her receipts she grabbed a beer from the bartender and delivered it to a table. I was angry. Went to the front desk and asked if we could get a manager as we needed to pay our bill in the restaurant and didn't have time for the waitress to fit us into her schedule. My husband did manage to get her attention, pay and leave. We then went to print our boarding passes for the next day. While doing that the manager of the restaurant came in. We explained why we were unhappy. Her response? Did the waitress know you were waiting to pay your bill. We were standing RIGHT BEHIND HER. What did she think we wanted? Even if she didn't know what we wanted, she should have acknowledged us and found out what we wanted. I could not believe the manager was that inept. This is a hotel to avoid. We paid $170.00 for one night. Seriously could have gotten the same or better service at a Super 8.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kim G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miguel_Eugene, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Liberia Airport, responded to this review, March 26, 2013
Dear Guest,

We appreciate your comments. We understand that you were disappointed with our restaurant service and that we came short of delivering what you expected from us.
Please receive our truly apologies and kindly ask you to give us another opportunity and stay with us again.

Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, New York, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed March 25, 2013

We were just looking for some place clean to spend the night after a late flight - but were so pleased with this place.
Clean, comfortable, good staff - almost all fluent in English, nice pool and pretty good food.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BeverFox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hector, New York, United States
Level Contributor
22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed March 25, 2013

I needed to catch a ride to Libria with friends that were leaving a day earlier than me. I choose to stay @ the Hilton. It was perfect fr my last day in CR. If I couldn't be at the beach at least I got to hang around the pool all day. Staff were attentive and drink prices were reasonable.

Room Tip: Even across from the airport wasn't a problem.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Barbara A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
United States
Level Contributor
135 reviews
107 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 200 helpful votes
Reviewed March 22, 2013

The HGI in Liberia is a cookie-cutter American hotel, with essentially the same rooms, colors, furniture, etc. as any other new HGI around the world. They even charge US big city prices! Once you walk in the hotel, you won't know where you are unless you look out the window.

Even though you're debatably staying at the Applebees of the Costa Rica hotel scene, the HGI in Liberia is still quite new and the decor and furnishings are nice and relaxing. The rooms are big and clean, with complementary Britt coffee, microwaves, and refrigerators. And, for whatever reason, the HGI appears to be the only hotel in the area with a free shuttle to the airport. So, unless you want to pay $20+ for a potentially unreliable cab ride to the airport at 4am in the morning, it's the only hassle-free choice for an early-morning or late-night flight.

Some other miscellaneous comments:

* There is no food within walking distance, and the hotel restaurant is quite expensive compared to other options in the area.

* A cab ride to Liberia from the hotel is about US$40 round trip, so if you want to eat cheap and don't have a car, you're kind of stuck. Plan accordingly.

* Everything in the airport is outrageously expensive, so don't expect to go to the airport for food or shopping unless you have money to burn.

* Some area restaurants will pick you up, so that's another option.

* There is a Solid car rental counter within the hotel. We didn't use them.

* Don't expect any complementary upgrades for having HHonors status. We were given the option to pay $40+ for an upgrade instead -- no thanks.

All in all, a decent but unmemorable stay, anchored by a well-decorated cookie-cutter room and indifferent staff. Hopefully some local hotels will start offering an airport shuttle in the future.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TheInternationalLine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boulder, Colorado
Level Contributor
38 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed March 20, 2013

Great for flying in and out of Costa Rica. When you arrive off the plane there should be a guy holding a sign that says "hilton garden". He will take you to the hotel from the airport. They actually could do a better job of communicating this to guest though. I had no idea until someone else at the airport told me. THe location is perfect for this. THe hotel is nice and clean and the transportation is easy. We actually were headed to liberia to catch a bus to nosara and the staff showed us to the bus stop across the street which carved off almost and hour of bus travel for us. Be sure and ask about that. Good and consistent for what you need if you want a place to park before or after your flight.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nancy t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carolina S, Director of Sales at Hilton Garden Inn Liberia Airport, responded to this review, March 26, 2013
Dear Guest,

We are very happy to read the comments about your recent stay and glad that you found the location and amenities of our hotel to your satisfaction. We appreciate your comments regarding the shuttle service and we will use them to provide a better experience for our guests. We hope to see you return soon....safe travels!

Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laguna Beach, California
Level Contributor
21 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed March 15, 2013

We went to Liberia for the rodeo/fiestas and stayed here for the night. The beds were insanely comfortable with adjustable settings. I've never had that at a hotel before. I'd also left my passport and they made sure to find me to make sure I knew they had it. They held it for me for 2 weeks until I could make it back to get it. Service and rooms were everything I'd expect from a hotel but even better. Very pleased!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BrendanWenzel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Liberia
6.2 mi away
Best Western El Sitio Hotel & Casino
6.8 mi away
Las Espuelas Hotel
Las Espuelas Hotel
#3 of 13 in Liberia
186 reviews
9.4 mi away
Andaz Peninsula Papagayo Resort
Andaz Peninsula Papagayo Resort
#1 of 13 in Gulf of Papagayo
1,515 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.5 mi away
Boyeros Hotel & Conference Center
8.1 mi away
El Mangroove, Autograph Collection
19.2 mi away
Bahia del Sol Beach Front Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Garden Inn Liberia Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Garden Inn Liberia Airport

Property: Hilton Garden Inn Liberia Airport
Address: Ruta 21 Frente al Aeropuerto Inter | Daniel Oduber, Liberia, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Guanacaste > Liberia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 13 Hotels in Liberia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hilton Garden Inn Liberia Airport 3.5*
Number of rooms: 169
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hilton Garden Inn Liberia Airport is the best choice to stay in Liberia, being in front of the airport and offering a free shuttle and free Wi-Fi, you’ll always stay connected to your family and friends for them to know about your vacation details. Hotel highlights: - Convenient location: 10 km to downtown Liberia and only 20 km to the beautiful beaches of Guanacaste.- Connectivity: free Wi-Fi in the entire hotel.- Comfort: Garden Sleep System™ beds with adjustable mattresses.- Chill out: outdoor swimming pool. - Celebrated food: outstanding dining options at the hotel restaurant. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Priceline, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Hilton Garden Inn Liberia Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Garden Inn Liberia Airport Hotel Liberia
Hilton Garden Inn Liberia Airport Costa Rica

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing