We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A hotel I will return”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Ecoplaya Beach Resort
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in La Cruz
Reviewed August 17, 2012

Great place, Great hotel. I spent 3 days in the hotel and I really enjoyed my stay there. The staff was very friendly and helpful. The room was comfortable and clean. The locations were amazing, especially Jobo beach. I hardly recommend the hotel for people who love meditation and relaxing time. I will return to Ecoplaya Hotel

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Montravel2504
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (176)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

56 - 62 of 176 reviews

Reviewed August 4, 2012

This is certainly the N°1 worst hotel in Costa Rica !
Our room was dirty and smelly, the pool is awfully dirty, the restaurant and bar are dirty and the food extremely expensive for what it is because it's bad (definitely don't take the spaghetti bolognesa) and even the plate of the day is a shame. The beach has nothing interesting. the bumpy road to reach the hotel is tough and absolutely not worth it. Internet connection doesn't work !
the worst : there was no light working in our room, so I asked for it to be fixed but "the person in charge of the light is sick at home" !!!
We also spotted the maid sitting on the bed of a customer's room watching television !!
No seriously this place is worse than a very bad joke, can't understand how it can be still open ! it's a mystery !

DON'T GO THERE !

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank StenRett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 12, 2012

You know what they say about potential; it's great and all, but without follow up performance, it's almost worse than not having any.

First, the good. Ecoplaya is a perfect place for someone who wants to get away from it all and does not mind going to some work to get there. Situated at the end of 13 km of washboard road, it is not an easy place to get to. That's not a criticism, as it's pretty much the norm in Costa Rica; roads don't last long here. The rooms are large and adequately appointed, with a cook top, some utensils fridge and microwave. The furniture is teak and quite nice. The pool is large and clean and as there were only 8 other guests when we were there, getting a lounge chair was no problem. The beach is a short walk from the resort, though it's more like a lake beach than anything else. Still, if waves are not your thing and solitude is, it should be perfect.

And now...the bad. The resort reminds one of a decrepit movie star or professional athlete; evidence of former glory is apparent, but taken with the current condition of decline it's just sort of depressing. The grounds are not well tended at all, though the grass and weeds are trimmed somewhat in the areas frequented by visitors. I mentioned that the kitchen has some utensils and that is accurate. It had some, but not enough to really cook with. Unfortunately, we had to have the maintenance man out three different times because the fridge quit working, the drain in the bathroom was clogged resulting in a room relocation and the exhaust fan for the cook top in the new room room never worked at all and according to the repair man was impossible to fix without ordering the parts. They offered another room, but as the idea was to go on vacation, not move to a new room every day, we declined.

The water went out two or three different times, and seemed to be a problem with the pump; they worked on it the whole time we were there. The last and most troubling part of the stay has to do with security. The rooms do have small safes, but they are not the electronic type, rather they use keys. We took a side trip to Nicaragua with Humberto one day (highly recommend that, BTW) and while we were gone, 300.00 USD went missing from the safe. We did not discover this until after we went to our next hotel in Arenal, but when we did we immediately contacted the hotel via email. After 2 days with no response, we finally called and talked to Luis, the manager, and explained the situation and though he was polite, it really bothers me that he did not apologize or show any concern whatsoever. Rather, he told us to call back at 2 pm and talk to the receptionist. As a person who is in a management position, this is as troubling to me as it is unprofessional.

The short version? It's an okay place that could be so much more. All of the pieces are there, but what is missing is the will to put in the time and effort to realize its potential.

Room Tip: Check to make sure the stove, fridge and other electric devices work. Only 2 of the 4 burners on our...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank glsisk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 19, 2012

We arrived for a 5 day stay and would have loved it but for a few Inadequacies. You don't want to leave as you are 3/4 hr. down a bumpy jarring washboard road. Who wants to go over that if you don't have to. We decided we had to because of the poor service in the restaurant. When we arrived we asked about laundry service. No, but perhaps you could find someone inLa cruz. We tried and found no-one. Poor service and the smell as you drove past their sewage plant. And you have to every time you go out.

  • Stayed: January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank PIronside
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 18, 2011

the best thing: there were only 2 or 3 other groups staying so it was like a private resort. But that also meant half the menu wasn't available. The dinner food is pretty typical of costa rica, bland and minimal. on the other hand, the included breakfast was one of the best we had during our trip. The beach is ok, the sand is a little large grained for my tastes but it's secluded so no locals or anything. There is no wifi in the rooms you have to go to the lobby which sucked. Also the pools are cold as ice. Big rooms though...

Room Tip: there is only 1 ecoplaya resort near la cruz, none of the roadside signs or gps use the Best Western...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank places2gowithnoone2c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 7, 2011

Spent two weeks here. About 45 minutes from nearest real town with bank and grocery. Grounds are lovely. If you don't have a car - don't worry. Taxi to nearby great beaches very reasonable. Only one restaurant at the hotel, but the food is good. Recommend getting your own groceries for breakfast/lunch, and then dinner at the hotel. Be sure to have plenty of deet spray - mosquitos are very active at dusk and after dark. Tour trips offered to variety of places, and Humberto the guide is very accomodating of group needs. We did a 2 day trip to Nicaragua, two days to Arenal, day trip to Paulo Verde area (boat ride on river with crocodiles, birds and monkeys aplenty). Also did a snorkel trip that was wonderful. The restaurant will cook whatever fish/lobster you catch and bring back for dinner - for a fee of course. Over the staff is wonderful, rooms clean and comfortable, and Very Quiet. Loved it.

Room Tip: We enjoyed our room further from pool and restaurant. Recommend top floor as view of bay from balco...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank LoveToTravel32389
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 16, 2011

We spent 2 days at the hotel and decided to stay at the beaches as most as we could. The food is terrible, the rooms are dirty and the facilities are the worst.

Its a shame, because there are gorrgeous beaches around. This is suppose to be a 4 stars hotel, hahaha, it is 1star top.

Room Tip: do not pick up this hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JUAN CARLOS L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near La Cruz
2 mi away
Blue Dream Hotel
Blue Dream Hotel
#1 of 4 in La Cruz
111 reviews
10.8 mi away
Parque Maritimo el Coco
Parque Maritimo el Coco
#1 of 1 in Playa El Coco
124 reviews
17.4 mi away
Surf Ranch Hotel & Resort
Surf Ranch Hotel & Resort
#23 of 27 in San Juan del Sur
302 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
19 mi away
Hotel & Resort Palermo
Hotel & Resort Palermo
#11 of 27 in San Juan del Sur
328 reviews
1.1 mi away
Dreams Las Mareas Costa Rica
10.5 mi away
Finca Canas Castilla
Finca Canas Castilla
#1 of 4 in La Cruz
130 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ecoplaya Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ecoplaya Beach Resort

Address: | Bahia Salinas, La Cruz, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Guanacaste > La Cruz
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in La Cruz
Price Range: $132 - $243 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Ecoplaya Beach Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 44
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Beach Front Resort ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets and Cancelon so you can book your Ecoplaya Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ecoplaya Beach Hotel La Cruz
Ecoplaya Beach Resort Costa Rica/La Cruz, Guanacaste

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing