We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (938)
Filter reviews
938 results
Traveler rating
843
83
10
2
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
843
83
10
2
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews zip lining the river swim up bar hot springs white water tubing thermal pools mountain biking pura vida main building howler monkeys volcanic mud our honeymoon on site liberia airport a lot of fun dry forest remote location
Filter
Updating list...
9 - 14 of 938 reviews
Reviewed November 5, 2018

This was an exceptional experience. It truly was more than just a resort. For 3 days we were treated like family. We were welcomed by a wonderful staff in an open-air reception area, overlooking the pools, the mountains, and the trails, and of course, with drinks in hand. Our bungalow was something special, with a setting that made you feel as if you were part of nature. We had guided hikes every morning to different points of interest. The guides were so knowledgable, constantly on the look-out for all types of vegetation, insects and animals (can't miss the monkeys). We zip-lined over waterfalls, tubed through white water, enjoyed the numerous hot spring pools and the most relaxing massage. By the end of the day, we were having drinks (ask for a Rio Perdido or Charro) at the swim-up bar in the warm pools. And that was just the first day! Truly, what made the experience so unforgetable was the way the staff and adventure crew treated us. They made each adventure entertaining. They removed any issue of doubt (i had a lot), nerves or safety when it came to zip-lining or tubing. They made us feel as if we were their only guests. Its a perfect get-away, whether for newlyweds or 50 year old girlfriends!

Room tip: The Center Bungalow
Date of stay: October 2018
  • Trip type: Traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Resort07068810003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gabriel S, Founder at Rio Perdido, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Hello there!

Well, we're pretty sure that we know who is writing this review and we want to say that it was a great pleasure for all of us to host "the girls"! You may have been among the more active guests in RP history. Kudos!

Regarding the word "resort"... well, we kind of avoid it... we consider this project to be the "anti-resort". No pool-side zumba at Rio Perdido!

Also, we're thrilled that you were able to experience nature... as a part of it. That's one of the main ideas. And of course, safety is a top priority and our guests always feel that, well before any tour actually starts.

Thank you so much for posting such a great review.

We hope to have you back here soon!

Cheers,

Gabriel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 2, 2018 via mobile

Holy schnikes Batman this place is bananas.

To begin with the service is exceptional, world class, three Michelin star level. Any request made can be accommodated, with a smile and pura vida spirit. If what you’re looking for is secluded luxurious relaxation mixed in with some awe inspiring nature with a touch of adventure, this is your spot. If however you want to explore Costa Rica and see the culture this is not your spot.

The exception:
The aforementioned service was phenomenal. Stephanie at the front desk took wonderful care of us. Food and drink are great as well, however there is only one restaurant (pro-tip be sure to ask for the typical menu as well,). Rene serving chili guaros down by the pools was a blast.
The rooms, yowza, we were in one of the new center bungalows. These modern, spacious little houses are best described as if The Dark Knight had an Airbnb in the mountains of Costa Rica. Full wall of windows looking out to the woods, double outdoor showers, copper industrial sink and hardware. Left us wanting to hire the architect.
Canopy tour, Christian and Marvin were hilarious and instilled a feeling of safety while my wife and I swung hundreds of feet over sharp scraggly rocks.
The pools, the natural spring pools on the rio perdido are incredible. In the US this would be a national park, they are that amazing.

To be aware of;
You’re off the beaten path and will be insulated in this huge property. You will walk a lot. You will probably not leave the property, unless you want to visit the 30 minute away volcano. The restaurant and bar is not cheap, and this is your only option for food.

Overall I look forward to returning to this amazing resort.

Pura vida

Date of stay: October 2018
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
2  Thank Isaac S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gabriel S, Founder at Rio Perdido, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Dear Isaac,

Firstly, we commend you on what may be the most unique opening phrase of any RP review. More importantly, I admit on behalf of all of us here that your second phrase is beyond flattering.

We are thrilled that you grasped the concept behind the Center Bungalow architecture (look up PARQ Costa Rica, they are a very talented boutique firm, based out of San Jose), as it took us more than 2 years to conceptualize and design a room that would allow nature to be the protagonist without having to sacrifice comfort... nor the cool little features that set this space apart from anything out there today.

You mentioned that a property with such characteristics would be a National Park in the US. I have traveled through about 40 states, usually making stops at parks, from small, little-known jewels, to popular destinations like Grand Canyon NP and Yosemite. Indeed, I have seen no other thermal canyons in private land. Yet, I have experienced many very poorly operated national treasures in the US. So, we feel very lucky to be able to administer RP privately, with love and consciousness. We pledge to keep things this way, as long as we maintain control...

As you mention, it is important for readers to consider that we are not in the middle of a touristic destination, though we are a mere 45 minutes from Liberia, 1hr from the airport, 15min from San Bernardo (there is a little bar there that serves up local fare) and 30 minutes from Bagaces or Guayabo, where there are plenty of restaurants... though we think that no one around will offer food that is more delicious or prepared with more fresh, healthy ingredients. We dedicate time and energy to assuring that our menu prices are fair and well below what high-end coastal properties charge. If a guest considers that prices are not fair, we always ask that this be expressed to our management, as we take guest feedback very seriously and we have changed prices many times, based on guest recommendations.

As for CR culture: I have heard this comment before. I am not sure what travellers consider to be CR culture. For us, it is about nature in its pristine state, it is about people that have not gone through the cookie-cutter tourism machine (we hire ultra locally and often train staff from scratch), it is about local recipes prepared with fresh and native ingredients, it is about unique and amazing fauna... Many visitors think that CR culture is about tropical music that is usually not Costa Rican (salsa, merengue, reggaeton) or about architecture that is Spanish-Colonial or Caribbean...

Isaac: we very much look forward to hosting you again. Please let us know prior to your next visit, as we always offer extra perks to our returning guests.

Have a wonderful week!

Gabriel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 1, 2018 via mobile

My husband and I came here to celebrate our one year wedding anniversary, and we couldn’t have picked a better place. The staff is outstanding. Stephanie was amazing. Once she heard we were celebrating our anniversary, she went out of her way to make our stay special. The trails have breathtaking views and the thermal pools make the vacation very unique. Highly recommended. Magical place.

Date of stay: November 2018
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
1  Thank Randi D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gabriel S, Founder at Rio Perdido, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Hi Randi,

We thank you for posting such positive words.

Indeed, Steph is wonderful. All of our team members have been selected primarily due to their innate warm spirits and attention to detail. Furthermore, we are all continuously learning... training every single day to optimize each guest's experience.

We hope to be able to greet you here once again in the future.

Cheers!

Gabriel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 23, 2018

Not to miss out this place when visiting Costa Rica! The team working there was very warm and friendly, they did everything to make you feel at home.

Hope i can return there soon, loved it! Especially in October when it is not too crowded...

Room tip: Room 29 is supposed to be the best!!
Date of stay: October 2018
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Marius H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gabriel S, Founder at Rio Perdido, responded to this reviewResponded October 30, 2018

Hello Marius!

Thanks for your brief, yet wonderfully positive review.

It's funny because I meet many travelers that are wary of traveling to CR during October because of the neglectfully imprecise information that is disseminated by the standard smartphone weather app (weather channel / weather.com). Indeed, October is a great time to visit CR, especially Guanacaste, because you will almost always get beautiful warm, sunny mornings and the afternoon showers, which usually last between 30min and 2hrs, and will cool things off a bit, to all of our guest's delight. At Rio Perdido, we often see people come to dinner with 2 layers, which is uncommon in this province.

Again, thanks for your recommendation. We look forward to having you back. Remember to let us know, as returning guests always get EXTRA-special treats.

PURA VIDA

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 17, 2018 via mobile

No complains at all. We had such a wonderful time. Weather was perfect, rain is not an inconvenient in this proprety, as you can relax under the water in their hotsprings, if it is sunny, you can swim in the cold water pool.

Delicious food, I couldn't stop eating the whole weekend, and the staff, they are simply the best.

If you come here, make sure you participate in a couple of tours, they are fun and Amazing.

I sincerely can say: I had a blast.

Date of stay: October 2018
Trip type: Traveled with friends
1  Thank Alx F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gabriel S, Founder at Rio Perdido, responded to this reviewResponded October 30, 2018

Dear Alex,

Indeed, people often ask me about the weather. Firstly, the default smartphone weather app is usually the weather channel / weather.com app, which is terribly inaccurate, always projecting unfavorable conditions. Secondly, in September and October, which are rainy months throughout most of Central America, we usually only get short afternoon showers.

Rio Perdido is actually located in Costa Rica's driest area. We typically get amazing sunshine every day... and for at least 8 months out of the year, rain is very scarce. This is part of the reason why the vegetation at RP is so unique and special. Perhaps ironically, in this amazing ecosystem you are much more likely to spot wildlife than in the much more common rainforests of Central America.

We're so glad that you enjoyed the food. It has been a challenge to develop options that would cater to the very diverse preferences of our guests. We will never stop evolving and optimizing the RP gastronomy. This is the fuel that keeps our guests functioning... happily and in full health.

Thanks for posting your review.
Have a wonderful week!

Gabriel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews