We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Ailanto Mountain Reserve
Nearby Hotels
Rio Perdido(Bagaces)
$278
$247
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$59
$57
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$43
Expedia.com
View Deal
$81
$70
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$60
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$69
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$60
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Paraiso Tropical(La Fortuna de San Carlos)
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Bar/Lounge
Reviews (11)
Filter reviews
11 results
Traveler rating
3
2
0
2
4
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
3
2
0
2
4
See what travelers are saying:
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
6 - 11 of 11 reviews
Reviewed May 19, 2012

My girlfriend and I rented a car from Manuel Antonio and programed it for the wrong Fortuna. A luck event I must say. This is an up and coming in Costa Rica area not spoiled by tourism yet. We stumbled onto the Ailanto Wellness Resort and Spa and after meeting with Hugo and seeing the natural hot pools, decided to camp out. We brought our own tent but Hugo also has Native American teepees on the grounds.

We enjoyed trying out the pools in the camground and also hiking to the pools farther in the woods. Hugo has several acres and it is a quiet and private place to go. During our morning dip at the hot pools, we were visited by about 30 monkeys (that came to eat in the trees surrounding the area). A truly magical visit! We're grateful to have programed the GPS wrong!

A final note about the surrounding area: Talk to Hugo; he gives the best advice. He recemmended a local bakery for breakfast, and Elvis's restaurant (with the best casados we had the entire trip!). We tried the local ice cream (cas and coco flavors) and it was served in a bag. Unlike the rest of the touristy areas in Costa Rica, most people in town don't speak english but everyone was super friendly, warm and welcoming and helpful to make communication possible.

Room Tip: Talk to Hugo. He has the best recommendations!
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
3  Thank Penny B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
drinlawaz, Owner at Ailanto Mountain Reserve, responded to this reviewResponded May 23, 2012

Thank you for such a nice review, we try very hard to please all of our guests, but we know that our location is so pristine and so beautiful that the only thing that we can do is to be helpful in anyway possible.

Most of the people that come to us leave feeling the way that you do and of course all are invited back to spend more time and enjoy more of Ailanto Mountain Reserve.

Hope to see you back soon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 8, 2012

I went to Costa Rica and took a bus from Panama boarder to Ailanto it was a very interesting ride full of wonderful sights. I decided to go to ailanto in search of investment property I was greeted at the bus stop in For tuna de Begaces and provided with a ride to the property, although the project is in the infancy stages of construction I still found the site to be a wonderful place to go and become one with nature. This location has a beautiful volcanic back drop with acres and acres of natural beauty, I would say that its best to rent a jeep so you have the flexibility to travel around the country as there are many different sites and climates in Costa Rica. If your looking for a commercialized fast paced atmosphere then Ailanto is NOT for you, however if your looking for an escape from the hustle,fast paced life and just really need time for yourself then Ailanto is perfect. I really enjoyed my stay and the staff was great and very helpful.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank joesitzlar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 19, 2012

If you are planning a trip of a lifetime and want to enjoy yourself do not go to AILANTO resort simply for the fact it does not exist! It is a campground claiming to be a resort/wellness center. The owner has driven away so many managers, workers and guests due to the fact he lies about everything. All websites are misleading claiming to have many amenities such as restaurant, gift shop, hot pools, money exchange, laundry service,clinic, basically most everything listed is NOT there. There are pools that vary from lukewarm to cold. If they are full (not always) most likely they will have bugs,spiders leaves and/or algae in them. It does have an indian type village with concrete teepees, adobes, small concrete squares and a gazebo. You can also pitch a tent for a small nominal fee and add a piece of foam as a bed for another fee. You may or may not be charged for breakfast if given the choice, opt for breakfast as there is not a restaurent or store close by. If you reserve a massage the cost depends on who he can get at the time, it may be a tico, Shawman, nurse, or just about anyone with hands. What you are charged for your cabina there are two depends on how much money he thinks you have.There is no tour desk but there are nearby attractions such as horseback riding, waterfalls and thermo pools. You will need your own transportation or if available a ride for which you will be charged far too much for gas. In closing I booked a cabina (one room with a bathroom) for a month and was charged double the price of what was listed on the internet in addition to the over charge, my room is listed as available even though it isn't. During my stay every employee quit therefore no one cleaned my room, towels were not replaced, no breakfast told was included yet I was still charged. When confronted about the lack of service Hugo said he was not a peon and had paid people to take care of me. He fired the couple he paid because they requested to be paid. He was charging guests different amounts for so called rituals. I was charged double for several different rituals, barbecues, rides from airpot and transportation to atttractions. While my stay several different people arrived suplposedly for employment such as a nurse for the clinic which doesn't exist! Managers for hotels not yet built even a student working for room and board. When ever I did pay for a tour at least one of the people staying there for free were included without paying anything! In closing I left due to the conditions and the way I was treated with two weeks paid for with no refund. The owner denied me the use of his phone, a ride help of any kind in a way I felt trapped. He called the police and they escorted me to a bus stop in Fortuna. This place called Ailanto resort or campground is misrepresenting to say the least. I would advise it to be avoided if you want a pleasant vacation experience! a disatisfied guest.

Room Tip: Unfortunatly I would strongly urge this location be avoided. But if I had to reccomend the best room it would be the Malueka house it has two bedrooms, bathroom no hot water in shower, no refrigeator and it might or might not have a microwave. You will find many different charges for everything that is here that not being much!
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
10  Thank angelbarbie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
drinlawaz, Owner at Ailanto Mountain Reserve, responded to this reviewResponded May 10, 2012

The lady who wrote this review was a second time guest at our location, she was staying with us for 30 days, we charged her a reduced rate of $40 a night for a completely equipped Bungalow She returned because she thought that our place was a paradise. A Gem in Costa Rica's Crown, she told other guests

We loaned her a cell phone and a Data Card so that she can use the Internet, gave her a Room safe so that she could lock her valuables. NO COST

We had a horse on the property and a saddle, one of our staff rounded upt the horse and she used it for many days until the Owner of the Horse reclaimed it. NO COST

When she wanted to tour the area, we allow her the use of our vehicle and charged her for the gas and nothing for the driver or the car, in other words we bent over backwards to please her.

We cooked for her and rarely charged her for the meals, when she wanted to partcipate with the other guests in BBQs and other activities we did charge her for some but not all.

We asked her not to smoke in the Bungalow but she did not heed, finally she become very unstable and begun to scream and hit the staff and other guests and verbally attacked me.

I walked away to avoid confrontation, but she continued with her obsecenities and claims that I was a PERVERTED OLD MAN, etc etc.

She was spreading malicious rumors, about me, and I quite frankly don't know why, I rarely spoke to the woman.

She started opening the Company's receipts and screaming that she was being overcharged and that going through the Internet that she found that we had cheaper rates, that we were charging her. We have other rates for the CAMPGROUNDS which are small Huts and also seasonal rates, the last time that she paid a higher rate than what we were charging her.

Of course she told us that she was going to write ths review.

Finally it got so bad that we were forced to call the Police to have her removed from the premises. Police Report is available in Fortuna de Bagaces, Costa Rica.

She stole the phone, data card and all the ketys, we reported that to the Police. Report available at the OIJ in Liberia, Costa Rica.

A review by a person such as this one is NOT credible and her ROOM TIP, should be removed from our listing as it is untruthful and written by someone with an ax to grind.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 28, 2015
Google Translation

Room Tip: Hotel Greco in Bagaces ist 30 min entfernt und wenigstens sauber
  • Stayed: August 2015, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 28, 2013
Google Translation

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews