We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful Rainforest” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Arenal Hanging Bridges

Arenal Hanging Bridges
Book In Advance
More Info
$115.00*
and up
Class II-III Rafting and Hanging Bridges from La Fortuna
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Useful Information: Activities for young children, Food available for purchase, Wheelchair access, Bathroom facilities, Activities for older children
Hinsdale, Illinois
Level Contributor
439 reviews
164 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 143 helpful votes
“Beautiful Rainforest”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 7, 2014

We took at guided tour with Diego, through our hotel, The Lost Iguana at 8 am, before it was too hot or busy (completely shaded). He was very knowledgable and taught us so much about the various birds, animals and flora. We took our time (just over two hours) and really took in the the beautiful scenery. When we were leaving we saw many tour buses and cars. The flow of people an loud voices would have ruined it, so go early and enjoy the real sounds of nature.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank kenapastore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,386 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    758
    459
    139
    20
    10
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
185 reviews
59 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Beautiful”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 2, 2014

We walked the bridges without a guide because we had done so many guided tours that week, we just wanted some time to explore by ourselves. We had a blast and found so many neat little critters!

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank Katykate4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
34 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Walking with a guide in the canopy of primary rain forest; wonderful.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 30, 2014

A knowledgeable, enthusiastic guide is a must because he will point out creatures and interesting plants with stories about all! The 15 bridges are fun, the walk is tough so be prepared. If you have difficulty walking, this 2 hour trip will test you.

The guides will take a small group so you will not get much individual attention and they have to keep the group moving at a steady but slow pace. We saw blue-limbed poison dart frogs, an eyelash viper and spider monkeys.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank dstempf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington Heights, Illinois
Level Contributor
59 reviews
19 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Beautiful view - good workout!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 30, 2014 via mobile

Had a great time w family walking the hanging bridges. It's a big hike but something very unique and fun. Wish we would have seen more animals -- monkeys etc. Bring water and wear good shoes.

Helpful?
2 Thank Awarmstrong12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great Hike, Wear Good Shoes”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 29, 2014

We went on a very hot, sunny day in March and glad to have as much water as we brought. Most of the hike is in the shade and there are waste baskets along the way but no bathrooms The bridges were a lot of fun and the first activity we did in La Fortuna / Arenal area. It was a great introduction to the rainforest. We went without a guide and although we didn't see any wildlife, it was more enjoyable to go at our own pace. The path is safe and we were wearing thin-soled sneakers. It would have been a lot more comfortable to do this hike in sturdier shoes.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank BennettVarga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Arenal Hanging Bridges also viewed

La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park
La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park
 
Arenal Volcano National Park, Province of Alajuela
La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park
 

Been to Arenal Hanging Bridges? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing