We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“a nice hike !”

Arenal Hanging Bridges
Book In Advance
More Info
$66.00*
and up
Arenal Hanging Bridges Hiking Tour
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Useful Information: Activities for young children, Bathroom facilities, Wheelchair access, Activities for older children, Food available for purchase
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
93 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“a nice hike !”
Reviewed February 10, 2014

the rainforest was just beautiful and it was peaceful to walk through the woods and the forest is beautiful from all the 8 bridges.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Minchu01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,412 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    773
    463
    144
    21
    11
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Pinehurst, North Carolina
Level Contributor
122 reviews
19 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“However........”
Reviewed February 9, 2014

Just came back from this awesome hike & wanted to share tips for you to learn from what could have been better choices for us. GO EARLY, if you do your own walk/self tour. I mean 7:30 early. B/c its the time just after the bird tours, and before the tours that blow in. And, they blow in!! Totally messed with my mo-jo, as we had to keep saying,,,,excuse me.....to pass these groups of 20+, just so I could even hope to see a bird / monkey/ mole., etc. ...talking, talking, talking from the groups! So, to. re-emphasize.....before I have a drink....if you are willing to b with people with huge cameras., taking pictures of fungi for a long time., then join the tour. If you want a solitary tour., go with Birders, who won't. talk., or before 9 am. AMEN!...DRINKING......

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank max55Pinehurst
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Owings Mills, Maryland
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Beautiful, Great Views”
Reviewed February 9, 2014

Took this tour in the morning, our tour guise talked a little too much and it took us almost three hours to get through but it was beautiful with some high hanging bridges. You only get a view of the volcano from one bridge but it was very nice overall. Some steep climbing and good shoes with good grips are needed. The path, although made of cement blocks, is not even or easy to maneuver without looking down. Didn't see as much wildlife as I would have liked. As with every place in the area, it is best to go early or late to see more wildlife in action. Did see a few beautiful birds, a couple of howler monkeys and an eyelash pit viper (snake) but I was hoping for much more. I recommend the early morning bird watching hike there to see more. Recommend a guided tour to really see things.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank Dorothy F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Welwyn Garden City, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
307 reviews
72 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 152 helpful votes
“A must do in Costa Rica”
Reviewed February 8, 2014 via mobile

We struck gold by getting Froy again as our guide and, better still, we were the only ones who had booked the 6am tour.
We went along the trail on our own in total peace and quiet at one with the birds and other wildlife.
Because we went early we saw Toucans, both sitting and flying ( apparently later they tend to be deeper in the forest), a proliferation of birds that Froy was able to photograph got me through his scope, howler and white faced monkeys and a baby venomous snake with a diamond head that came out orangey brown in the photograph, but looked a dirty, well camouflaged brown to the naked eye.
The bridges are worth visiting fora completely different perspective on the rainforest. Personally I found the Cano Negro visit better, but, if you have time do both (preferably with Froy)
When we returned from the trail around 9am the car park was heaving and there were groups everywhere. It is a pain getting up before 5am on holiday, but in this case it is definitely worth it

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank HSeeingtheworld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Collins, Colorado
Level Contributor
148 reviews
45 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Great Experience”
Reviewed February 5, 2014

Great trails through the rainforest with bridges that cross over canopies and deep valleys. We saw Howler Monkeys, Eyelash Pit Viper, Guan and numerous other birds. We thought it was well worth the $24 entrance fee.Hamburgers at the restaurant were ok. We also roamed through the nearby butterfly garden, the grounds were well maintained and we saw Chachalaca in the trees.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank lovetotravelgreeley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Arenal Hanging Bridges also viewed

La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park
La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park
 
Arenal Volcano National Park, Province of Alajuela
La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park
 

Been to Arenal Hanging Bridges? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing