We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: 7:30 AM - 4:00 PM
Save
Book In Advance
  
Ways to Experience Arenal Hanging Bridges
from $68.00
More Info
from $69.00
More Info
from $60.00
More Info
Reviews (1,589)
Filter reviews
1,328 results
Traveler rating
761
418
120
20
9
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
761
418
120
20
9
Show reviews that mention
All reviews hanging bridges howler monkeys leaf cutter ants guided tour costa rica poison dart own pace private guide eyelash vipers nice walk mile hike self guided afraid of heights beautiful park flora and fauna easy walk great hike
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 10 of 1,328 reviews
Reviewed 3 days ago

The Arenal Hanging Bridges is a worthwhile visit when going to Costa Rica. Actually, any adventure in the area is worth the time. The bridges are suspended and can be a little off-putting if you aren't steady on your feet but it is wonderful because you are walking in first growth jungle. The paths do have places to hold on to but it is uphill and downhill not much of the path is level. It is a fun visit and you can see lots of birds, monkeys, lizards, snakes, and butterflies. We did see all of them. Make sure to go with a naturalist or a tour so you get to see everything. It is easy to miss without someone pointing things out to you.

Thank Nancy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 1 week ago

Im surprised that this is listed as only #14 of things to do in the volcano area. This would be at or near the top of my list.

Incredible views and sky high bridges that allow you to get a real sense of the jungle but with very nice walking paths.

Our guide was EXCELLENT and well versed in all the local flora and fauna. He had an incredible scope with him that allowed us to get up close and personal with a viper, from a safe distance.

We saw a family of howler monkeys traveling through the jungle and some incredible trees.

Really an amazing experience and it was all during really poor weather. I would go back again just to experience it under better weather conditions.

Thank Steves_u
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

We took the guided tour and it was well worth every penny. Anderson our guide had a great command of English and helped us to see many animals we would have missed on our own. Loved this experience!

Thank barniedo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Absolutely amazing and beautiful. If you love hiking and the outdoors you will love this tour. Beautiful sights!

Thank goodenplenty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 7, 2018 via mobile

One tour you must place on your list to do while in Costa Rica, is the Hanging Bridges Tour. It is a set of several suspended bridges within the Rain Forrest. The tour was operated byJacamar Naturalist Tours. They picked us up at our resort in clean well maintained vehicles. The wonderful air conditioned vehicles were a pleasant relief for the humidity. It was a short 20 minute ride from the resort to the tour location. Our bilingual guide (Alan) was a true professional. We had people from different countries on our tour, and he kept everyone engaged with conversation and information. He provided descriptions to the various wildlife and plants. He was very knowledgeable. The two mile hike through the Forrest and across the bridges took about three hours. It was a fairly easy hike, with slight inclines every now and then. Water is provided, and I suggest you take it. You’ll need to kept yourself hydrated because the humidity will cause you to sweat. There are tons of places to get great pictures of the volcano, especially if it’s a clear day. We truly enjoyed this tour, and if you like hiking you’ll enjoy also.

Thank daremejclc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 23, 2018

we took the more relaxed walk instead of the hike and it was quite nice. The walk itself was not to difficult but be careful on the bridges when someone else is walking because they do bounce some, they are kind of exciting and fun though. lots of things to see if you are quiet and stay close to the guides, they do know where things are. we saw a sloth and got a great view of a tarantula in her hole, the guide actually got a good video of it with a tourists camera that we all shared.

Thank 19Allen61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 16, 2018 via mobile

Like most of the locations in Costa Rica the wild life is not consistent. If you go with the guides they know where to look. Is a very nice hike with beautiful sites. Bring some good shoes or boots. Be ready for some light strenuous hiking. Have been there numerous times and love it.

Thank Nuttnbut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 14, 2018

If the brochure had said this was a nice hike in the rain forest only I probably would have been fine. We went specifically to see the wildlife and with the exception of about a dozen birds nothing was to be seen. I understand that you can no guarantee seeing sloths or monkeys, but do not put that as a prominent spot on your promotion. The hike was nice and not bad at all but would have been better if some of the animals advertised would have been there.

Thank Derek P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 5, 2018

This hike was not difficult and can be done at your own pace. In fact, when you take your time you see more wildlife. Keeping your conversations to a minimum will help to not scare the wildlife away. Please bring your camera because you don't want to miss awesome views from the bridges. Trails were secure and well groomed. Make sure you wear light weight clothing, a hat, comfortable walking shoes/sneakers and bug spray. Do not miss this one!

1  Thank Joanna O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 5, 2018

A little scary as these are high bridges, but you can move quickly across them if you choose to miss the awesome views. We had monkeys traveling above us on our trip, it was raining on & off, but we are in the rain forest:)

Thank joestotzer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews