We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A True Gem”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Mystica Lodge & Retreats
Certificate of Excellence
Harrison, New Jersey
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“A True Gem”
Reviewed September 24, 2012

What a nice place, it is close to the lake and far enough away from the gringo traps that the lake is famous for... We live in CR, we know that it is low season and we were the only people staying that night... Despite that fact, the place was spotless, the grounds were perfect and kitchen fully stocked... We were treated by our hosts Anna and her husband like we were part of the family... We had business in the area and could only stay one night but, we will be back for sure... A intimate true tropical hideaway....A+ on all levels... We hear the owners are away for low season, if you are reading this, rest assured you place is in good hands... Hats off to you for your efforts...

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Coldwatercreek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

150 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    98
    35
    11
    4
    2
See reviews for
29
56
9
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Servern, MD
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 10, 2012

We stay at the mystica from Aug 15th until 18th. We couldn't ask for two nicer host. Peter and Anna were the best. We got there and they give us an upgrade to one of the sweet guest house. It was so nice. The view down to the lake was amazing. We got settled and had lunch at the restaurant and the food was excellant. (Italian) pizza made in a brick oven, so cool. Our breakfast was as tastie as the dinners. We eat all our meals there as we weren't going to drive at night. We are glad we did because the food was wonderful. We have a few little things we didn't plan on happing. One was a person tried to broke in at 3 a.m. in the morning on our first night. It's LOL now but wasn't then. We were the only ones there that night....so we aren't sure what happen. After about 10 mins we heard a motorcycle drive off. Soooooo!!! Who know. Then we were tring to go back to sleep and my boyfriend heard a noise and I was off to sleep again and he woke me to tell me that there was something in the room. We had little flash lights so he takes his and shines it over in the kitchen area and there is a BAT and not one you hit a baseball with. We both scream and it flys at us...we are under the covers now. It flys back over near the kitchen and Kevin takes a T shirt and covers it and opens the door and out it goes. OH I almost forgot the big cockroach that came out of the toilet paper roll as I pick it up to use it!!!! Well our first night was about over by then. LOL Second night was better. Our third night was another adventure, cockroach, and a sorphine(not sure I know how to spell it) we didn't sleep well that night either. We thought with the Mystica being the most closed it place we stay that we wouldn't have the bugs and things. All in all we had a nice time there and not sure we go back to it but it was so nice to meet Peter and Anna. Thanks for the jelly too!

Room Tip: Bring bug spray! Room was nice!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Robin L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver B.C.
Level 5 Contributor
86 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
Reviewed August 15, 2012

We stayed two families in the house. It was well equipped and beautifully finished. The jaccuzzi wasn't working, that was kind of a bummer. There are orange and lime trees in the back, oragnes are green and edible. Very cool bar at Volcano Brewery 5k down the street.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Adam_Laura
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
santa rosa,ca
Level 6 Contributor
231 reviews
75 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 180 helpful votes
Reviewed June 3, 2012

Driving toward la fortuna we experienced a massive road closure about 1/2 way around the lake on 142. We had to turn around thinking we would go back to the town of Tilaran and find a hotel. Re think it in the morning. It started to rain and I caught a sign for Mystica Lodge and ambled in to check it out. Boy, am I glad I did! The place is nothing short of spectacular. Beautiful grounds with well appointed cabina rooms. Orthopedic beds, good lighting (a rarity in CR) wonderful bathrooms w great showers, a delicious, ample and included breakfast at their fine Italian themed restaurant. Beautiful views of lake arenal from our room. There is a natural waterfall fed swimming pool a tree house meditation and yoga room, beautiful grounds and a staff that was 100% responsive to all our needs. La Fortuna? Fuggetaboudit were staying here. It troubles me a bit that Mystica is listed under specialty lodging instead of under lake arenal hotels where it would be far more visible. I spoke w the owners who are going to contact TA to have this rectified. This place is a gem. The road closure was a perfect example of the wind from a door closing causes another door to open. I feel very relaxed here and fortunate that we found this magnificent hotel-restaurant-retreat. The restaaurant incidentally is really really great but that deserves another seperate review which I will knock off tomorrow!

Room Tip: thery are all good and the owners are currently building a jungle cabin on the property as well
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank alan k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canada
Level 6 Contributor
121 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed April 22, 2012

Mystica is set on a beautiful piece of property overlooking the lake. The restaurant which serves mainly Italian food/wine was rustically pretty and also had a lovely view of the lake. Our pasta dinners were very good as was our breakfast. The owners were very attentive and charming. The rooms were colourful, immaculate and spartan. There is no TV, WiFi,hairdryers or the other amenities you find in most hotel rooms. The beds were comfortable and despite the wind and rain it was very quiet. There was internet available in the main lodge. Overall the ambience is relaxing, peaceful and mystical!

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MegCanada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tamarindo, Costa Rica
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 18, 2012

My husband came for a 2 night stay at Mystica as a getaway from our busy working life in Tamarindo. My friend had recommended that we take a look after she came here for dinner and had loved the relaxed energy.
I had not expected such a wonderful little piece of paradise. My husband and I enjoyed our stay so much we plan to go back for another getaway.
The staff are very welcoming, the restaurant serves good quality delicious food all day. We lay in hammocks by the trickling stream, swam in the natural pool, walked to the giant Ceiba tree. There is Reiki and body massage in a treehouse, yoga at the deck in the heart of the jungle.
The rooms have a wonderful view of Lake Arenal with balcony seating to relax and read.
We are very happy to have found this magical place and will be back for sure.
From here you can explore around Lake Arenal with all of it's attractions, stay here as a base to go off and enjoy the surrounding wonders.
Family and couple friendly, clean, welcoming, accomodating, great food, everything you need in one spot. A time to fully relax, to enjoy the natural energy and feel the love that is put into everything they do. Thank You Mystica

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LydiaBeechArt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
Level 6 Contributor
119 reviews
119 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
Reviewed March 22, 2012

We left the windy Tenorio region in the afternoon and arrived to the rainy Arenal region just before sunset. We didn't have any reservation for a place to stay so at a certain point we decided to just pick the first spot that looked good. Luckily it wound up being Mystica, which is owned by an Italian ex-pat. Luckily it was also just off the main road. Went in and asked if there were any rooms available and thank goodness they had only a couple left. We were taken to the room, told about all the amenities and everything that was/was not included in the price.

We got the Butterfly room, which had a queen size bed and bunkbeds with very comfy linens and pillows. The room was large enough to have a build out that was sort of a closet which was large enough to store some clothes and luggage. There was also a desk with lamp and chair. The room was nicely decorated and painted as well as the bathroom. The nice touch to the bathroom was the use of organic natural handmade soap from a local village. The shower was big with curtains but be careful cause too much water and it splashes out to the floor. Now just like in other hotels we stayed at in the Guanacaste area, none of the windows had glass, they were almost all simply screened off. I say almost because the one that wasn't (in the bathroom) was were the bugs came in. It wasn't an invasion, but there were certainly a few different types of bugs. We just simply closed the window and left the ones who weren't in our way alone.

The grounds of the hotel are wonderful and full of opportunities to explore. First and foremost is the restaurant/bar/lounge/wifi spot. Dinner wasn't included in the price, but we weren't going to venture to the nearest town in the rain. Suffice it to say that after we tried their food, I don't think any of us regretted the decision to stay. We had a scrumptious meal of squash soup, pasta, and handmade pizza....all natural and organic. It was still quite windy at night and since there was no TV in the room, we decided to just hang out at the lounge and use the wifi. The lounge area was nice, quiet, and comfortable. So much so, stayed for a couple of hours but only felt like a half hour. The next morning the rain had subsided some, but not the wind. So took a walk around the grounds to explore and came across a rock lined pool with small waterfall (restrooms/changing rooms are there too) and a few steps away was the massage room, which was up a tree and more of a treehouse. Further down the hill on the path towards the rear of the property is the roofed, but no-walls yoga 'sanctuary' in a great setting next to a small creek. Even further down the path and sort of off the beaten path is the way to the Ceiba tree. Follow the arrows and be careful. When you come to the creek you will have to cross over to continue on to the tree. Keep following the arrows. When you come to an open field take a look to your left, you'll get a great view of the lake. It may seem like the end of the path but if you just follow the dirt patch you will come up to more arrows again. Keep going until you go down the hill and come face to face with one very large tree.

Sometimes the great places are the ones you discover on your own. Now having found this place we will definitely book here if we get a chance to come back to Costa Rica.

Room Tip: Any room seems to be a good room so seems like you can't go wrong. Make sure to explre the groun...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Beenaround73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Arenal Volcano National Park
11.1 mi away
Rio Celeste Hideaway Hotel
Rio Celeste Hideaway Hotel
#1 of 1 in Tenorio Volcano National Park
785 reviews
20.4 mi away
Volcano Lodge & Springs
Volcano Lodge & Springs
#15 of 57 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
2,850 reviews
12.1 mi away
Celeste Mountain Lodge
Celeste Mountain Lodge
#1 of 5 in Bijagua de Upala
647 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
22.0 mi away
Hotel Lomas del Volcan
Hotel Lomas del Volcan
#9 of 57 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
1,486 reviews
2.1 mi away
Lake Arenal Hotel & Microbrewery
15.1 mi away
Rio Perdido
Rio Perdido
#1 of 1 in Bagaces
733 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mystica Lodge & Retreats? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mystica Lodge & Retreats

Property: Mystica Lodge & Retreats
Address: | 300 mts north of Tierras Morenas Cross Road, Arenal Volcano National Park 50801, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Arenal Volcano National Park
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 79 Specialty Lodging in Arenal Volcano National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Mystica Lodge & Retreats 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mystica Hotel is a tropical paradise with an excellent Italian restaurant, wonderful yoga and meditation classes in a forest sanctuary, a detoxifying infrared sauna, a dipping pool with a waterfall, and tree-top therapies such as massage and Reiki. Mystica is conveniently close to all of the great adventures and water sports that Lake Arenal offers: windsurfing, kayaking and fishing, excursions to Arenal Volcano including canopy tour and hot springs (40 km/25 miles from the hotel) and Tenorio National Park with its world famous Rio Celeste waterfall hike (35 km/22 miles from the hotel). Mystica Hotel is especially designed for travelers who want to relax and/or be in contact with nature. The lodge sits atop a rolling green hill and is surrounded by lush gardens. The rooms don't have TV, WiFi, or phones to support the complete relaxation of our guests, but there is free WiFi in the reception and restaurant area. Mystica's motto, inspiring all who visit, is: 'Live the Magic!' ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity and Hotwire so you can book your Mystica Lodge & Retreats reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mystica Restaurant Lodge And Retreats
Mystica Restaurant Lodge & Retreats Hotel Arenal Volcano National Park
Mystica Lodge & Retreats Costa Rica/Arenal Volcano National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing