We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
16 people are viewing this hotel
Expedia.com
$593
View Deal
Reserve now, pay at stay
Booking.com
$593
View Deal
Trip.com
$1,407
$587
View Deal
SAVE $820
Hotels.com$593
eDreams$593
StayForLong$1,407
View all 13 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (3,006)
Filter reviews
3,006 results
Traveler rating
2,493
370
92
33
18
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
2,493
370
92
33
18
Show reviews that mention
All reviews club rio horseback riding day pass sushi bar hot springs the river game room las ventanas animal sanctuary monkey slide arenal volcano rock climbing costa rica sister property lee banks ping pong main building
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
182 - 187 of 3,006 reviews
Reviewed May 26, 2019 via mobile

From start to finish this tubing adventure was a dream! I was a little nervous at first but our guides made us feel completely at ease and while the path was exhilarating I felt extremely safe the entire time! My kids (6 and 8) had the time of their life and wanted to do it “again and again” and my husband and I have cherished memories of the smiles and laughs of our boys. Definitely get the video option! We’ll treasure it forever! Thank you so much!

Date of stay: May 2019
Trip type: Traveled with family
Thank Jenn R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JohnPicart, Manager at The Springs Resort and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded June 20, 2019

Dear Jenn,

Thank you for your 5 star review! We think Tubing is awesome and my personal favorite. And yes, we think the video is a great souvenir!

Thank you again, Pura Vida!

John Picart
john@thespringscostarica.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 24, 2019 via mobile

Great service. Clean and a lot of hot springs in the property. Beautiful views. The property also provide inside and outside tours. Food was delish! Everyone makes you feel like you’re home. Pura vida!

Date of stay: May 2019
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Thank 241cinthyap
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JohnPicart, Manager at The Springs Resort and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded June 20, 2019

Dear Cinthya!

Feliz Cumpleaños!! Thank you for spending such a special occasion with us and making us a part of it. We appreciate your positive comments and hope to have you back soon!

Thank you again!

John Picart
john@thespringscostarica.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 23, 2019 via mobile

One of the most beautiful places I have ever been! The service and views were awesome! The hotel staff were top notch and very personable. They genuinely cared about each detail of our visit. The springs, so many different ones to try! We did them all, and they didn’t disappoint. This is a luxury resort and we loved all it had to offer. Well worth the extra money!

Date of stay: June 2018
Trip type: Traveled with family
1  Thank Cdaviddaniels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JohnPicart, Manager at The Springs Resort and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded June 20, 2019

Dear David,

Thank you for your positive review of The Springs. We are happy to hear you enjoyed tour stay and appreciate your recommendation.

Thank you again!

John Picart
john@thespringscostarica.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 18, 2019

We spent three days here, and could have spent many, many more quite happily. The grounds were great. The on-site hot springs were great. Club Rio and all the activities was perfect for our kiddo (and us). The food was great.

But the thing that made it really great was the staff, and their obvious desire to ensure that we were having a good time. From the host who greeted us to the front desk staff to the kitchen staff to the wait staff to the room staff to the activity guides to the transportation staff to the landscaping staff, all were hands-down friendly and helpful! I left on an organized bird walk around daylight one morning, and the rain moved in and caught us a few hundred yards from the hotel. We slipped over to a shed where some of the landscape staff were gathering for the day to escape the rain with my expensive camera - despite my limited Spanish (and thanks the guide's translation), I had a great visit sitting up under the shed with those folks watching the birds as they began their work day.

The staff at Club Rio was especially great with our daughter, whether it was visiting the rescue animals, tubing the river, or going on a night hike.

The restaurant staff was very, very helpful and friendly as well. When they saw my camera, they went out of their way to ensure that I saw the birds and sloths that were near where we were eating.

My kiddo couldn't wait for evening to see what kind of origami towel creature would appear in our room.

Date of stay: December 2018
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank itisjustus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JohnPicart, Manager at The Springs Resort and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded May 21, 2019

Dear Itisjustus,

Thank you for your positive review of our property. We really appreciate your comments.

We think our staff is the most important part of our guests' experience, they surely make our property stand out. we are happy to hear you enjoyed your time with us and hope to have you back soon!

Thank you again!

John Picart
john@thespringscostarica.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 14, 2019

We bought the 2-day pass here for $65 pp and it saved our entire vacation! We were visiting Arenal during the worst storms of the rainy season, so bad that our hotel cottage near La Fortuna actually flooded with an inch of rain!
We were grateful to enjoy The Springs amenities, which has more than 20 hot springs and pools throughout the property at temperatures ranging from 90-100 or so. Very enjoyable and comfortable, even in the worst downpour.
Day guests get to use the locker room, which is very nice with plenty of showers, bathrooms, lockers, etc. to change in. We enjoyed all of the restaurants as well, especially the swim up pool bar. The drinks cost an average of $10 each, so plan accordingly.
If you are staying at another resort and want to come here, call a private taxi. Our hotel wanted us to go to Tabacon, maybe because they had a partnership with them. I'm sure Tabacon is nice, but we wanted a better deal, especially because we had two days of pouring rain and hot springs were the best option under the circumstances. We paid the same price for two full days at the Springs as we would have for one day at Tabacon.
One thing to note. If you come for the day, save or take pictures of your receipts. They charged us one lump sum for all of our purchases in the end. Just something to think about, but all of the transactions were correct. It just confused us when we got our bank statement. Also, they have a huge adventure center down along the river, but it was raining too hard - with lightning and thunder - to enjoy it during this visit. Next time!

Date of stay: July 2018
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank Veronica A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JohnPicart, Manager at The Springs Resort and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded May 21, 2019

Dear guest!

Thank you for your 5 star review of The Springs. I think we all agree that rain + hot springs is the perfect combination. Im sorry to hear you were not able to visit our Club Rio Outdoor Center! It is such an important part of our property with so many things to do! However we are happy to be the highlight of your trip and hope to someday welcome you back!

Thank you again!
John Picart
john@thespringscostarica.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews