We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Springs Resort and Spa
Nearby Hotels
Arenal Kioro Suites & Spa(La Fortuna de San Carlos)
$316
$224
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Tabacon Thermal Resort & Spa(La Fortuna de San Carlos)
$299
Bookit.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$213
$201
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Lost Iguana Resort & Spa(Arenal Volcano National Park)
$185
$117
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Arenal Lodge(La Fortuna de San Carlos)
$113
$96
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Volcano Lodge & Springs(La Fortuna de San Carlos)
$177
$92
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Nayara Resort Spa & Gardens(La Fortuna de San Carlos)
$468
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Los Lagos Hotel Spa & Resort(La Fortuna de San Carlos)
$103
$86
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Hotel Rancho Cerro Azul(La Fortuna de San Carlos)
$72
$66
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Heliconias Nature Lodge(Arenal Volcano National Park)
$144
$102
Hotwire.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (2,566)
Filter reviews
2,566 results
Traveler rating
2,119
324
83
25
15
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
2,119
324
83
25
15
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsclub riohorseback ridingday passsushi barhot springsthe riveranimal sanctuarylas ventanasmonkey slidespring poolsrock climbingarenal volcanocosta ricalee bankssister propertyzip liningvarying temperatures
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
2,255 - 2,260 of 2,566 reviews
Reviewed January 6, 2010

My boyfriend and I spent the first leg of our 10 day trip at the Springs. We stayed for 3 nights in one of the Vista Villas. The rooms were gorgeous and we had a great view of the volcano, as well as our own hot tub on the back porch which was amazing. We ordered room service the first night because we were exhausted from travel and the food was pretty good. We ate at las Ventanas the second night which was also good. There were lots of hot springs to relax in with great bar choices as well. It never felt too crowded either. There's a shop on site for any sudnries you may need as well. The concierge helped us book a couple of activites as soon as we arrived and was very helpful. We booked white water rafting on the Toro River and Cano Negro, both of which were well worth it and tons of fun. The manager also greeted us and was really nice when we talked with him later in the visit. The resort is a few kilometers off the main road but we rented a car so it wasn't much of an issue. We ate at Don Ruffino's the last night night- food was good, lots of tourists were there. We also went to see the jungle cats on property by horseback- very cool. All in all, the property is beautiful and the service was great. Arenal is a great area to visit and we'd definitely return to the Springs.

  • Stayed: December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pineapple14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 5, 2010

The rooms were gorgeous, and very clean. The woodwork was amazing. We stayed in the Alta Vista Suite, and the view was just like the website! Laying in bed, and seeing the volcano was priceless. The balcony hammocks were pretty cool too. The water pressure was excellent, and shower always steamy hot! The toiletry products were average, but I don’t usually rely on them anyway. There are 18 Hot Spring Pools on site. There was always a private corner for each couple/group. We preferred the lower springs pools, and they seemed a bit more secluded. The waterslide was also a nice touch. We were told the resort was nearly full, but you couldn’t tell. It always felt relaxing, and quiet. It seemed there was always staff to meet your needs, whether it be at the bar, restaurant, maid, bellman, etc.

We ate at The Windows Restaurant. The prices were very reasonable, and slightly lower than we’d pay in a bigger city. The quality was very good, and wine list better than expected. The drinks at the various bars were always done well, and refreshing after some time in the Hot Springs. We ate breakfast at The Waterfalls Restaurant, and again it was very reasonably priced and a large selection. I had Sushi at the Sushi Bar, and was very happy with the Arenal Spicy Tuna Roll. Yum!

They had a huge fitness center and weight room. There was always fresh water, fruits, and nuts supplied in those rooms. There was a business center with internet, but the morning we went to check our flights....the internet was down. They had someone coming to fix it later that day.

We were nervous about renting a car, but glad we made the decision to have one. We had a smaller SUV and made a few trips each day into the city of La Fortuna. The roads were slightly better than we’d expected (based on other’s reviews). It took about 15 mins from The Springs to the town. (a very easy trip for local meals, shopping, etc.)

We’d go back to The Springs in a heartbeat! It was without a doubt….more bang for your buck than many of the overpriced resorts we’ve been to in Hawaii and the Caribbean. Costa Rica is our new favorite place!

  • Stayed: December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kutty1101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 4, 2010

We were there a couple of nights. We regretted having to leave for tours of the area. It is absolutely one of the most beautiful places I have ever stayed in. The staff were very gracious. We were greeted by the owner upon arrival., presented with a lovely fruit cocktail, given a tour of the place by one of the friendly staff. The grounds are beautifully manicured with flowers and tropical plants galore. There were over 12 pools on the grounds, many of them thermal pools and with scenic waterfalls and slides. The food was also very good, although expensive.

  • Stayed: December 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank travelmaniacFlorida
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 2, 2010

On the advice of our B&B owner we purchased a two day pass to the Springs - the pass was $40 per person, for two days.

The hot, artificial pools are done in a style designed to look like a stream running through a forest. The pools vary in temperature, with the warmest being at the lowest end. There is a waterslide for kids to use and some pools tucked away that were quite peaceful. Lazing about in the warmer springs was quite relaxing (although some of the paint in some pools is coming off). There was a nice view of the volcano from some of the pools, although much of the feeling about the place was quite 'created' - or "Very Disney" as another guest described it as! It has obviously been built to try and appeal to wealthy American tourists and although very nice, it was a little sterile. It lacked the feeling that you were actually visiting Costa Rica.

The showers/bathrooms were very nice, although one shower I used did not drain very well and I was left standing in a sudsy puddle.

We didn't stay in the rooms, although from what we saw they did look lovely - especially the private villas.

We dined at the buffet one evening - for only $25 this wasn't bad value. The food was fresh and offered a good selection of hot and cold. Dessert servings were quite small and did not offer as much variety as the entree and mains.

For what was essentially just a trip to a pool, it was over priced. We would recommend a visit to the Springs, although the cost was a little ridiculous.

  • Stayed: December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BostonWagga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 29, 2009

We stayed at this resort for 2 days during the off season (September) for our honeymoon. We wish we had more time. There is plenty of space and a variety of very clean, well-maintained pools. There are pools with a spectacular view of the volcano and others incorporated in the forest. We like the fact that the resort kept the jungle canopy overhead in some spots. We found out the owner is American and the level of service and cleanliness is similar to 4 to 5 star resorts in the US. If you stay in the hotel, be prepared for an incredibly massive marble bathroom, spectacular volcano views (not cloudy when we were there) and toucans on the trees out your window. The restuarants were the only disappointment, but we were there in the off-season, so I hate to be too critical. The road in is an adventure, but gives it a Costa Rican feel. It's well worth the seclusion.

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tophseymour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews