We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (2,717)
Filter reviews
2,717 results
Traveler rating
2,249
342
84
27
15
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
2,249
342
84
27
15
Show reviews that mention
All reviews club rio horseback riding day pass sushi bar hot springs the river animal sanctuary las ventanas monkey slide spring pools rock climbing arenal volcano costa rica sister property zip lining varying temperatures family suite
Filter
Updating list...
1,376 - 1,381 of 2,717 reviews
Reviewed April 6, 2014

We stayed 2 nights at The Springs. The views from our rooms, (had to change rooms) were breath taking. We went in all 18 hot springs! the Club Rio adventures were great too. We tubed on the river. Kids LOVED that. The food was amazing at each restaurant. Gluten free options were limited though. But, the wait staff did all they could to help us figure out what to order for our daughter. Would highly recommend staying at The Springs Resort and Spa

Date of stay: April 2014
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Judy W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 3, 2014

We spent 4 nights at the Springs with our 2 children (3 and 9) and another family. We loved this resort. I was a little worried about having a 3 year old there - but many of the pools were shallow enough for him and the babysitters that the hotel arranged (so we could participate in Club Rio activities that he wasn't old enough for) were fantastic!
Service - everyone was phenomenal - front desk, concierge, club rio staff, waiters, game room, spa - etc. Everyone was so nice, helpful and service oriented.
Rooms - comfortable, spectacular views, extremely spacious. The views of the volcano were amazing!
Food - we loved every meal - especially the sushi bar for dinner
Pools/springs - wonderful - the kids LOVED the monkey slide
Spa - spectacular
Gym - great
Kids game room and pool table - fantastic
Babysitting - wonderful!
Club Rio - we did horseback riding and inner tubing and had a wonderful time.
The only downside is that the hotel seems to offer day passes to cruise ships, etc. to come and use the pools. It isn't a big deal - but it just seemed very strange and value oriented for such an expensive hotel.

Date of stay: March 2014
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank TandCmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 3, 2014

This was my second day trip to this resort in three years. The up close and unobstructed view of Arenal Volcano is breath taking. We were fortunate to visit on a day when the volcano revealed completely it's itself. This resort is 100% gorgeous and mystical. This resort has multiple hot springs, mineral pools, and swimming areas that will take hours to explore. The landscaping and natural view is luscious. The atmosphere is peaceful. If you are in Costa Rica, I highly recommend a day trip to this resort. It does have overnight accommodations, and the hotel is also beautiful.

Room tip: This day trip is a four hour drive from Guanacasta, and the roads wind in and out of the mountain side. If you suffer car sickness you will want to take Dramamine ahead of time.
Date of stay: March 2014
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank vswartz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 2, 2014

We didn't stay in the hotel but we had the hot springs and dinner as part of our day tour of arenal. I could see a family or couple staying here for a week and have something to do everyday though, it's a stunning place. Beautiful view of volcanoe, 18 varying temperatured hot spring pools and three restaurants. My only regret is not taking advantage of being able to come back for free the next day to see the wild cat and animal place onsite.

Date of stay: March 2014
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Angela D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 30, 2014

This is an amazing place, totally beautiful and great values, now the prices to stay there are really high so in case you want to enjoy the installations you can also take the option of one day pass .We did the hoarse back ridding and the tubing it was so much fun and really save. The guides were amazing specially Rolando. I will say this place is a must if you want to chill with an amazing view but if its out of your budget for staying there the one day pass is a pretty good option will do it again for sure!

Room tip: If your budget is not huge go for a day pass!
Date of stay: March 2014
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Alejandra Q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews