We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Springs Resort and Spa
Nearby Hotels
$213
$201
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Lost Iguana Resort & Spa(Arenal Volcano National Park)
$174
$117
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Casa Luna Hotel & Spa(La Fortuna de San Carlos)
$101
$85
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Baldi Hot Springs Hotel Resort & Spa(La Fortuna de San Carlos)
$146
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Volcano Lodge & Springs(La Fortuna de San Carlos)
$167
$92
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Hotel El Silencio del Campo(La Fortuna de San Carlos)
$156
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Arenal Paraiso Hotel Resort & Spa(La Fortuna de San Carlos)
$137
$110
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Nayara Resort Spa & Gardens(La Fortuna de San Carlos)
$468
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Los Lagos Hotel Spa & Resort(La Fortuna de San Carlos)
$103
$86
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Heliconias Nature Lodge(Arenal Volcano National Park)
$144
$92
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (2,566)
Filter reviews
2,566 results
Traveler rating
2,119
324
83
25
15
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
2,119
324
83
25
15
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsclub riohorseback ridingday passsushi barhot springsthe riveranimal sanctuarylas ventanasmonkey slidespring poolsrock climbingarenal volcanocosta ricalee bankssister propertyzip liningvarying temperatures
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
1,301 - 1,306 of 2,566 reviews
Reviewed February 23, 2014

Our room was set up for a family with a loft that had three beds. The room had a beautiful deck with lush flowers growing along the railing and a picture perfect view of the Arenal volcano. The hot spring pools were very relaxing and the water slide was fun for the kids. The staff was very attentive and took great care in providing a great experience for their guests. Our kids bonded with Renzo, their favorite waiter. Buffet breakfast was very good and Club Rio was a nice addition with rock wall climbing and tubing.

Room Tip: room 202 is great for family of 5 or 6
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank parkerw2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 23, 2014

We arrived at The Springs after staying in Playa Conchal for 3 nights. We had made the 5 hour drive with our two children - 6 & 5 After arriving at The Springs - its like we arrived in Paradise! We were greeted by a friendly staff and given a tour of the amazing property. Our room was not ready but we had a great lunch at Tres Casades. Even though we had one of the standard rooms - our room was AMAZING! The kids enjoyed their cots - the patio was amazing with a great view of the volcano and tons of animals! We all enjoyed the mineral springs and the kids loved the Monkey Slide in Perdido Springs. It was like being in the of a jungle! You could hop from pool to pool and never see another person! We loved the sushi restaurant Ginger and ate their twice. The kids game room was right next door - so the kids would eat and we got a little bit of peace! We enjoyed the resort so much - we ended up extending for one more day! We had THE MOST AMAZING ROOM - with an upstairs loft for the kids. While we were there we enjoyed the mineral springs, took a Safari Float trip and saw tons of monkeys - a sloth and some frogs - we booked the hike down La Fortuna Falls but the kids were just too tired after the Safari Float - maybe next time! All in all - best family vacation EVER - can't wait to get back to Costa Rica!

Room Tip: All of the rooms have an an awesome volcano view! If you are traveling with two kids or more- the loft rooms work great because you have your space and they have their space! Book EARLY - there are only 47 rooms!
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank TravelBug1971
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 23, 2014

We stayed 6 nights at The Springs in the honeymoon room. It was fantastic to have our personal hot tub.

The on-site restaurants were reasonably priced and their staff were phenomenal. They were personable and their English was good enough that there were never any issues. We enjoyed getting to know Renso, Mikhail, Adrian and Luis. They each went above and beyond the desired service.

One helpful thing the owner of The Springs has done is to have an American couple, Jay and Jamie, to help with any issues that arise.

There are enough things to do and great site seeing in the area. Worth the long travel time!

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Sherry R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 22, 2014

We stayed here for 3 nights starting Super Bowl weekend, can't say enough good things about this place. Amazing views of the volcano from the rooms and other parts of the hotel. We all enjoyed the warm springs on the hotel grounds, the kids had a great time at Club Rio. We went horseback riding on the grounds, and then arranged through the concierge to go zip lining at Sky Trek, which was awesome (seven zip lines, four of which are over canyons above the canopy, the longest of which is 1/2 a mile). Then we came back and watched the Seahawks win the Super Bowl, the hotel had a party with the game on a big screen TV, 2 for 1 drinks, and free food, couldn't ask for anything more. I definitely recommend this hotel, service is excellent, breakfast was very good. We had one dinner there, which was decent, we had a better meal for the value in La Fortuna, recommend doing that at least once while you are there. The place is pricey, there is no way around it, but they go above and beyond here, so we felt it was worth it.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank reid332017
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 20, 2014

Costa Rica, in general is amazing, but this resort is something truly special. Though we were staying at Nayara, we paid for the hot springs pass at The Springs, and spent 2 of our 4 days here. Though I can't comment on the rooms, the grounds and service at this resort are top notch. Every single person we encountered, from the bartenders in the pool, to the Club Rio staff, to the front desk was exceptionally friendly and service-oriented. We traveled during rainy season (August), so it was not at all crowded, but the resort is so massive, and have to be at least 25 different hot spring pools, so its hard to imagine the resort being packed as some reviews have mentioned.

The namesake hot springs at this resort are truly unique, spread throughout the rainforest (make sure to take the shuttle down to the river - though it's a bit of a hike, the set of springs built into the mountainside at Club Rio were definitely a highlight of the trip.) Also enjoyed the chance to go river tubing and to feed a Toucan.

Food at the riverside restaurant by Club Rio was excellent for lunch, drinks at the pool bar were great, and pricing was below or in line with any 4-5 star resort worldwide from what we saw.

Met the owner of the resort while we were at Club Rio - seemed a very friendly guy, hands on, and visible across the property, looking for feedback on how to keep improving his resort.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank NYTraveler2071
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews