We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Springs Resort and Spa
Nearby Hotels
Volcano Lodge & Springs(La Fortuna de San Carlos)
$256
$137
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Arenal Kioro Suites & Spa(La Fortuna de San Carlos)
$224
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Tabacon Thermal Resort & Spa(La Fortuna de San Carlos)
$450
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$213
$201
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Mountain Paradise(La Fortuna de San Carlos)
$100
$78
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Arenal Springs Resort and Spa(La Fortuna de San Carlos)
$230
$138
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Arenal Manoa Hotel(La Fortuna de San Carlos)
$297
$129
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Arenal Lodge(La Fortuna de San Carlos)
$113
$96
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Hotel Rancho Cerro Azul(La Fortuna de San Carlos)
$72
$66
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Lomas del Volcan(La Fortuna de San Carlos)
$144
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (2,566)
Filter reviews
2,566 results
Traveler rating
2,119
324
83
25
15
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
2,119
324
83
25
15
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsclub riohorseback ridingday passsushi barhot springsthe riveranimal sanctuarylas ventanasmonkey slidespring poolsrock climbingarenal volcanocosta ricalee bankssister propertyzip liningvarying temperatures
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
1,557 - 1,562 of 2,566 reviews
Reviewed May 17, 2013

TheSprings is an incredible Experience.I highly recommend it for couples,families,groups.The Resort caters to anyone and everyone's desires.There are activities for all levels of interest or you can simply enjoy the peace and quiet of the Resort itself.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BruceG452
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 17, 2013

From the moment you arrive to the moment you depart it is pure excellence. We only stayed one night and had the honeymoon sweet.
The room: The honeymoon sweet was beautiful. From the ceiling, bedsheets, robes to the beautiful spa like bathroom. As you walked out to the patio it felt as though you were in the middle of a jungle. The sounds and views throughout the day were amazing. The hot tub in the room/patio wasn't as warm as I would have liked it to be and some of the weird particles in it got on your clothes but it was still great.
We had breakfast on our patio and the morning was a view to capture. Even with clouds the views are gorgeous. They usually move quickly and give you a sense of being in jungle.
In the afternoon we visited the springs and had lunch/ drinks in the swim up bar. Beautiful.
We didn't get a chance to do much else, which goes to show how great JUST the room experience and the resort in itself are.
Also, we did have a beautiful dinner in ventanas restaurant. The food was good but it was quiet as we were basically the only ones in there.

Room Tip: It is secluded. We drove and used a rented car and gps, it is the full 3 hour drive and with sprinkle/rain it could be longer. There are people in the roads so drive in the day and drive cautiously.
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Andrea E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 17, 2013

We booked this place as a day trip with lunch. Make sure that you check since we were told by The Springs resort that if you book a day trip u may return the next day for a free day. So our tour included transportation and lunch. The drive from La Fortuna is long so the price of $70-75/pp for the day tour seemed reasonable. I think the taxi round trip would be around $40. Anyway, the 1st thing we did upon arrival is take the shuttle that runs every 30 min down to the river. That is where they have a animal tour and the rock wall and the horses. You can soak in the hot springs down there too and hike along the river and hike along the horse trail. The hot springs there were very private, we were there all alone :). So we saw lots of cool birds in the wild here: kingfisher, motmot, kites, etc. Really nice!! BEWARE, the shuttle stops running at 3:30 pm or at 4 IF someone booked the animal tour at 4 pm. So we nearly got stranded down there and missed the shuttle. And trust me, u do not want to hike uphill 4 km back to the resort. Anyway we spent the whole morning there then went to lunch at the resort. It was included: we got a very fresh and yummy salad, an amazing fish with a green sauce and mango chutney and mash potat for me and a steak for the husband. He did not like his steak. I LOVED my fish. It was perfect. Then we got a lovely dessert that we both loved and we both enjoyed the ice tea and water provided. Then we spent the rest of the time in the hot springs near the resort and playing on the one slide we did find. They provide mats to slide on and that was FUN! We were kids again. So "toured" 8:15-5:30pm and were pleased. We would have spent more time near the river with the birds but the shuttle...:( I wish I had known about the free day but it sounds like you would have to pay for the transportation and food still so that would still put 2 people out about $80-100 on the free day unless u had a car u were driving.

Room Tip: We only did a day trip
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Cchamelion
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 15, 2013

This hotel was the highlight of our trip. Every other hotel paled in comparison. The staff was fantastic, the food was amazing, and the hotel rooms were exquisite! The cat tour at Club Rio was great as well. I wish we would have had more time to spend at this hotel.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MariahS281
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 15, 2013

This is a huge resort property that has several amenities for even those just spending a day there. When we first arrived, the concierge sat us down and gave us an overview of the property…what dining options they had, where the pools and hot springs were, and where to meet the bus down to the Club Rio portion of the resort. We began our day down at the pool bar, which was nicely heat to around 88 degrees, and has amazing views of the Arenal Volcano. There are several pools in the main area (Las Lagunas) of the resort heated to various temperatures, so it’s a good idea to wander around to find a pool that suits your mood. We didn’t wander too far from the pool bar at first. There are a few hotter pools just a few yards away. These pools were more “natural” and weren’t filtered like the pool bar, so there was plenty of minerals floating through the cloudy water. Since we visited during the off season, most of the water features, such as waterfalls, of some of the pools were turned off. It didn’t detract too much since we were just lounging. I concern with some of these hotter pools in the main area is that they are very very shallow. You had to sit down if you wanted to submerge your upper body and there wasn’t an easy way to climb to the higher and hotter pools.

Locker rentals are $5 for the day and towels are $20, so I recommend bringing your own towels. The pool bathrooms and changing rooms are spacious and warm so you’re not freezing as you step out of the pool to go change.

The Perdido Springs (natural hot springs) were located a short walk down hill. Pay attention to the signs or you’ll quickly get off track. Again since it’s the off season, the natural hot springs were deserted at 10AM. There are several amazing waterfalls and pools of various temperatures that you can lounge in. There is a tiki hut bar near the bathroom facilities at the end of the natural hot springs you can take advantage of, if they’re open. They open sometime after 11AM. The last pool in the natural hot springs area also has a waterslide you can go down. Make sure you use one of the slide mats that are located at the bottom pool, otherwise you’ll damage your bathing suit. I tried going down the slide without a mat, and the results were underwhelming so grab a mat to slide down.

Club Rio is the onsite adventure activities that also has the wildlife reserve. Activities that require additional cost are kayaking, tubing, mountain biking, horseback riding, and a rock wall. The wildlife reserve is free. Club Rio has a restaurant that you can grab a quick bite before participating in one of your selected adventures. You can also hike/walk around the area and enjoy the river and natural waterfalls close to the restaurant. They have several lounge chairs that you can sit and relax and several changing rooms and bathrooms for your use. The wildlife reserve is a must! It’s promoted as a cat preserve, but they have several more animals to see. We first stopped in the toucan area where they are more than eager to land on you. Make sure you remove any shiny objects that they can easily get to. The toucan I held kept trying to take my watch. The wildlife preserve also has monkeys and they are currently building a section for sloths. But the highlight is the cat preserve. Several cats were rescued and placed in this reserve.

There are several dining options on the property. Be aware that if you want to go to Las Ventanas, it’s fine dining establishment that requires slacks and a button-up shirt. If you purchase a day package, lunch or dinner is included at Tres Cascadas. Lunch is typically a buffet and dinner is a pre-fixed meal. I recommend doing dinner. We sat at a table on the balcony that overlooked the volcano. Amazing view especially with a lightning storm on the other side of the volcano that gave us a great dinner show.

They also have a game room/area you can take advantage of. The main gaming room with video games and big screen tvs requires you to be a guest of the hotel to use, but the pool table and darts are open to anyone.

Very beautiful property with a lot of amenities. Good place to stay if you prefer a more pampered experience.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank nnaidas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews